Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 29, 2007
I am recomming this book to my customers who are considering rainwater collection. The book contains detailed explanation of collecting rainwater as well as conveyance and storage. The only downside, from my perspective, is that the purification section is deficient. Rainwater today can contain mercury and pesticides in addition to particulate it collects as it falls. I felt this aspect of the discussion was misleading in its brevity. But if you are looking for a book that provides an array of examples for collection and storage of rainwater, this book is an excellent resource to use in planning your system.
11 comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2009
I was hoping to learn the details of setting up a rain water harvesting system with not only this book but what I have learned by scanning the internet. This book was of little help. It turns out I knew more from sites I found on the internet (with better photos) than the information gleaned from this book.

The images in this book are of little to no help. They are all black & white (not a bad thing) and printed small and rather poorly. The points of view illustrated in most of the images beg the question - why show this? The lighting of the interior views is poor, also subtracting from their usefulness. The diagrams are very basic and some are printed far too small to be useful. Only the complete neophyte will find use from this information.

I would recommend finding this book at your library first before dropping the money on this one. I only wish my library had the book so I could have saved the money.
11 comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2008
Of the books I have read on the subject, including those by Brad Lancaster, this is the most comprehensive, with abundant diagrams and photographs. Levario covers both residential and commercial applications, so there may be material that is not pertinent to the average homeowner, and some of the applications described may be beyond the reach of said homeowner, but if you're only going to buy one book on the subject, make it this one.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2012
This book shows rainwater collection/storage systems on various scales, from home-built, to massive commercial projects; but details are sketchy at all levels. Adds a little, but not much, to Brad Lancaster's "Rainwater Harvesting" vol 1 & 2, and Nate Downey's "Harvest the Rain." Borrow from library, then decide if it's worth spending money on.

Illustrations could be vastly improved if properly labelled and explained; many (borrowed from original sources, and reduced in size) contain type that is far too small to read.

With attentive editing, this could have been a far better, more concise book. Who but an HVAC engineer needs page after page of tables and formulas for calculating compressor-type air conditioner sizing!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2012
This book is very thorough concerning the subject matter. My only negative comment is that the pictures could have been a little bit better quality. It is very enjoyable to read and I have learned a great deal about the subject and will continue to use it as a guide when building my own system.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
I bought this book to gain general and detailed knowledge of rainwater harvesting, and I was not disappointed. The diagrams and photos are very clear and descriptive. For example, in the second chapter, the diagram of the rainwater harvesting process on page 15, and Details 2.1 and 2.2 on pages 16 and 17 show everything you need to know, microscopically or macroscopically. And the rest of the text and illustrations are just as superb and articulate. The book is well worth the money! It covers everything completely. The RainPC-ST filter has replaced the old RainPC filter shown in the book, but most of the other detailed components and things you can buy for your own system are still current. Just buy it, you'll see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
This book really talks about design, with generous explanations, plans and practical schemes. Rich content by obvious hands on specialist.
I wish for the next printing that the author includes more detailed design of the installations so as to guide and check plumbers and other installation specialists.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2013
Very dense with information about different kinds of water usage and very reasonable plans for how that can be accomplished. Also provides an intelligent discourse on a global view of water usage, how lifestyles are created around it and the environmental implications of mismanagement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
This is a good book, and it could be useful on the residential side. It is quite thorough, however, in regards to commercial applications. I haven't finished it yet, but I'm not sure that it gives the specific set up instructions that I am seeking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
useful information and it is a thinking mans book as opposed to a commercial off the shelf how to do it.
Most people when they think catchment don't realize that local codes require permits for the commercial tanks. If it looks like "commercial" the air police will find it and check your status. Used to be easy but now they burden you with "codes". This book is useful for those folks who can think through what they need, what they want, and what they can do. FORM FIT AND FUNCTION is the way progress is made. Seems simple but requires a lot of innovation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse