Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 16, 2005
This book is very helpful if you want to learn advanced ASP programming techniques. After I bought a basic ASP programming book with discount through couponsky.com, I also bought this book. I found this book teach reader a lot of ASP programming tricks. It is very useful if you want to learn some advanced ASP techniques. I recommend this book to people who already has some basic ASP knowledge.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2004
I am sorry. In my opinion this book is a waste of paper. I have
tried to find some answers to simple questions
about ASP in this book. Things concerning little
things one might forget and you want to look up.
After a few times using the book in this way it's clear this book tells us little useful things. Even free (digital/psd) manuals on ASP are a lot more useful. After
buying this book from amazon it went quite quickly to a dump shop, sorry...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2002
Scott Mitchell is an excellent author. I love his articeles on 4GuysFromRolla.com. I am freelance internet consultant and have used most of the examples in this book in one form or another.
Highly recommended for up and coming "Advanced" ASP developers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2002
This VERY young author has done something seasoned technical writers twice his age have not often done: written an extremely useful, information and well thought out book, with plenty of implementable examples, and all in a book of less than 350 pages. It so often seems that these kinds of books suffer from "mission creep", and hence bloat into the 1500-page monsters we so often see. Because he was able to keep the scope of his task clearly in mind, he also provides a thorough "Further Reading" section at the end of each chapter, where he provides links to a number of on-line articles. (Yes, you could find these yourself, but how great that a professional in the field has taken the time to find them seek them out for you -- and I was glad all that extra stuff wasn't in the book itself.)
The one complaint I have is that the source code for this book, which you can download from the O'Reilly site, is a chaotic, inextricable mess of files with arbitrary names that are impossible to link to any specific examples in the book (I wouldn't mind that the file names are arbitrary, if he told you in the book which file a given example was associated with -- but no luck there). Really inexcusable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2002
I have around 20 titles in my personal library which focus directly or indirectly on ASP. This is simply the best. It isn't an introduction to the language -- there are several good ones for that -- it is more about using sound program design methodology to accomplish some of the more complex tasks facing ASP programmers, such as content management systems, reusable forms, and eCommerce.
If you have any programming experience in other languages and are moving to ASP, get this book. If you are just learning what an Active Server Page is, then it is not for you, but if you plan to do anything more than fairly simple pages in ASP, get it, even if you don't think you're ready for advanced stuff.
Scott gives good examples, clear explanations, and lays out methodology that will help you no matter what your level of experience. It's one of the best bargains out there in technical books.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2002
This book is basically about ASP programming techniques.
Most ASP books out there teach you the basics of ASP, or
working with something specific in ASP. Once you know how
to program ASP, this book will teach you how to be a GOOD
ASP programmer. Read the Wrox books on ASP, then once you
can write code, read this book.
I found the chapter on Windows Script Components particularly
helpful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2001
This is by far the best, if not the only book I've seen published on advanced ASP programming methodologies. It's very well written with plenty of examples; however, it does assume the level of a seasoned professional with a solid understanding of the web paradigm and object-oriented programming principles even though VBScript the language itself in it's current state is more or less a pseudo implementation embracing only encapsulation and excluding all traces of inheritance and polymorphism. In a nutshell it focuses on practical techniques and approaches to common web development tasks while teaching programmers how to minimize errors by maximizing reusability through the leveraging of code far beyond the scope of includes and utility functions and, in my opinion is definitely a major step in the VB.Net direction. Personally, I have a very strong object-oriented programming background in Powerbuilder, C++ and Jave and found the examples in this book more suggestive than anything else but still very useful. It inspired me to write an ASP class library which promotes the assembly of fully featured, database enabled applications in mere minutes. If you are new to web development or unfamiilar with object-orientation you may want to consider a beginner to intermediate level text before making an attempt at this one. Overall, a pleasure to own and well worth the cost.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2001
This is a terrific little book. Don't expect to learn ASP from the ground up: Mitchell jumps right into the code, without wasting hundreds of pages on basics the way so many other ASP books do. Once you're familiar with the ASP world, this book is a great guide to solid coding standards. Think project design: setting up error handling, form validation, #INCLUDEs, and so on. I had already learned most of it the hard way, but it was still a pleasure to see all those things laid out so clearly.
Then Mitchell takes you on a detailed excursion into his reusable database administration pages. Clear exposition of design goals, modular design with classes, walking through unit testing: It was like a thorough, well-written code review. I had some minor quibbles with the code (mostly regarding embedding HTML tags in places I wouldn't have done). And certain aspects of the design aren't practical on large systems. But it still stands as an excellent little project and documentation example.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2001
This book is certainly not for someone just beginning to learn how to design ASP for the web. It may be more useful as a reference, but even then I somewhat question it. Usually the O'Reilly books are quite good but this seems to be the exception to the rule.
When a book about ASP design starts off on page 3 with a section entitled "What's Wrong with ASP Design?" you know you are in trouble! The next 2 sections titled "Why Hasn't ASP Design Advanced?" and "What Can Be Done to Improve ASP Design?" (which is 12 pages in length!!) don't give you that warm, fuzzy feeling either! If the book is designed to scare you off of ASP design it may succeed!
It seems to skip the basics and dives right into many somewhat obscure things. Altogether, this is most definitely NOT a book for someone starting out in ASP!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2001
I have read lot of book about ASP this book is the best book for argoment about Class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.