Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


139 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best recipe formulation book I have seen
First, let me say what this book is not. It is not a recipe book, or a book which describes the techniques for brewing beer. In other words, it is not for beginners.
After following recipes for a number of batches of beer, it was time to learn how to create my own recipes. The purpose of this book is to do just that; come up with your own recipes. The first...
Published on June 26, 2002 by Robert M. Halperin

versus
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor ebook
The print version of the book is excellent. Unfortunately, when preparing the ebook, the publishers apparently used optical character recognition software, and didn't proofread the final copy.

Many of the equations needed to determine the amounts needed in the recipes make no sense. This makes the strongest points of the book worthless. Until the equation...
Published on November 6, 2010 by R. Danley


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

139 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best recipe formulation book I have seen, June 26, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
First, let me say what this book is not. It is not a recipe book, or a book which describes the techniques for brewing beer. In other words, it is not for beginners.
After following recipes for a number of batches of beer, it was time to learn how to create my own recipes. The purpose of this book is to do just that; come up with your own recipes. The first part of the book tells the reader how to compute the grain bill, the hop bill and how to hit original gravity. It also contains information on beer color, yeast and water. I used this section to make the computations for my first original recipe. This, in turn, gave me the incentive to buy a brewing software package which I now use in conjunction with the second part of the book.
The second part describes beer styles and what ingredients go into each style described. There is a chart for each style which gives information on ingredients used in beers which made it to the second round of the NHC. I found some of the charts in this part somewhat confusing and there are a few references in the text to wrong charts. However, as a result of this book, I have started to formulate my own recipes with a lot of success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I consult this book before every batch, August 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
The first section of Ray's book covers the fundamentals of all grain brewing. I seldom refer to it.
However, the second section not only profiles many of the classic beer styles, it analyzes the recipes and techniques used in producing competition winning entries for the styles. While one can argue that strict style guidelines and competitions based on style guidelines are counterproductive in the craft beer industry, it is very interesting to see how accomplished brewers are formulating their recipes. Many of the formulation compilations are surprising. If anything, they show that you CAN deviate from strict recipe guidelines and produce a quality beer.
I have two shelves full of brewing books. This is the one I would hang onto if I was allowed only one brewing reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential resource, September 25, 2000
By 
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
For anyone who has brewed at least one batch, this is a must-have book. You will learn more from reading this book, than from brewing a hundred more batches. Read Papazin, then graduate to this. You will learn to hit target gravities, target IBU's, and how to balance them against each other. Styles are broken down into easily (for the most part) reproducible processes and techniques, allowing you to formulate your own recipe within the style, not copy someone else's. I never brew a batch without reading up on the particular style in this book first. Best book out there on beer. Bar none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor ebook, November 6, 2010
By 
R. Danley (Champaign, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The print version of the book is excellent. Unfortunately, when preparing the ebook, the publishers apparently used optical character recognition software, and didn't proofread the final copy.

Many of the equations needed to determine the amounts needed in the recipes make no sense. This makes the strongest points of the book worthless. Until the equation errors are corrected, I would recommend saving your money for the print copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The #1 beer brewing book, January 3, 2002
By 
Dennis M. Doherty (Mystic, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
The title of this book is the truth. It IS a book about Designing Great Beer: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles. If I were allowed only one book about brewing beer, this would be it.
With this book and a little work on my brewing system to figure out certain variables (efficiency, how much water is lost etc...), I was able to create an Excel Spreadsheet that walks me through the process of designing my own beer and it works. I plug in the size of the batch I want, original gravity, bittering, and a few other things and it tells me how much mash water and sparge water I need to start. Then when things don't come out perfect, an additional spread sheet helps me calculate how much malt extract, sugar, honey or even water to add to get the gravity to where I want it. This is all from what I learned from part one of this book. If you are an all grain brewer and you don't have this book, you are not brewing to the best of your ability.
If you like to enter contests, you know that the judges don't care if the beer is good. They want beer that is good and true to style. The second part of this book is such a comprehensive guide to style I can almost guarantee it will help you improve your scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference Book, May 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
When I first got this book I didn't like it much. Why would I need all of this "data" when my BeerSmith program does all of the calculations for me? But as you perfect your style and technique--you find that you want to know "why" as much as "how". This book is GREAT for that. It is almost compulsively detailed and falls somewhere between a casual brewers how-to book and a full blown textbook of beer. Especially cool are the comparisons of the evolution of different styles; the grain bill comparisons for contest winning examples of styles; and the various graphs and charts which illustrate many of the intricacies of bringing beer within your BJCP guidelines.

I would say that this book is nearly indispensible for the intermediate homebrewer. Once you have figured out how to keep your equipment clean and the basics of brewing, this book is the next logical step. It does not replace a good brewing software program (like ProMash or BeerSmith) but it does let you know what is going on "behind the scenes" in those programs (how is it calculating my lovibond? how is it getting an ABV? why is that a style paramater?).

Get. This. Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but might be getting outdated now, June 29, 2009
By 
Wolfy (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
A very useful and informative book, packed with lots of great in-depth detail, covering a wide range of information from historic beer-brewing facts and analysis through to modern home-brewing techniques and tips.

However, a substantial portion of the information provided focuses on 'NHC Second-Round Beer' and what (home) brewers used (or did not use) in their entries into the second-round of the NHC Competition. So much so that at times it almost seems like a statistical analysis of the competition entries. Given that the data is about 10 years old now and is focused on only a small sample, I do wonder how relevant that portion of information is now and what may have changed since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for those who have brewed at least one beer., November 3, 1999
By 
Bill Allen (Killeen, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
This book is excellent in concept, format and layout. This is a great book for anyone who has brewed a beer or two and wants to venture out. It has been extremely valuable in my efforts to clone commercial beers. This is because it clearly explains the differences in the different beer styles and brewing techniques including great chapters on grain, water, color and fermentation. The book is complete and easy to understand. I would say this is THE book to get after you've finished any basic book such as "The New Complete Joy of Homebrewing".
The author gives all the formulas (and tables for those who don't like math) that assist the brewer in designing his/her next best beer ever. This book is a must. The only thing I would like to have seen would have been an accompanying disk with an MS Excel workbook with all the formulas laid on it. That way I wouldn't have had to do it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Bible of Beer, December 27, 2002
By 
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
I have a shelve full of brewing books, some in Russian, some in English, some in German. This book is absolutely excellent in concept, format and layout. Ray Daniels not only knows a great deal about beer, he knows how to compose and design a great book.
The first section of Ray's book covers the fundamentals of all grain brewing in recipe design and formulation. The second part reviews the most popular beer styles, and throws in a good chunk of history and excerpts from old books and texts, which adds some flavor to this great hobby.
Best book out there on beer, a true bible. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent book with some flaws, March 5, 2012
By 
Brian A. Jacobs (Tallahassee, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles (Paperback)
All-in-all, I recommend this book, but be prepared to use additional resources for designing recipes.

HOPS--The hop chapter is the best in the book. You can tell that the author is an authentic hop head. He gave a wealth of information about how to get the hop flavors and characters you are looking for, and how to pick just the right hops for the situation. Five stars for this section.

MALT--This part has some good information, but not enough. In contrast to the extensive details about getting all the right flavors from hops, the malt section is terribly sparse. The information is there to pick malts that will produce caramel flavors, or toasted flavor, and so on, but actual usage rates are left as an exercise to the reader. That was disappointing, but it's still a good reference.

YEAST--This chapter is hamstrung by the fact that the author couldn't list commercially available yeasts by name. The websites of the major yeast distributors is a still a must-use resource.

WATER--The chapter is terrible. There is so much more to beer water chemistry than pH, and this chapter addresses only pH. Worse, it recommends a single ideal pH for all beers, and that level is inappropriate to some styles.

RECIPES--The recipe section is a bit bizarre. The selection of beer styles included seems to be shotgun. Some obscure styles are included, which is nice, but some very major styles (like Oktoberfest and Belgians) are excluded. The recipes are also dated. They come from homebrew competitions from about 15 years ago, when malt options available to homebrewers were more restricted than today. Many styles suggest crystal malt when more authentic malts are readily available today.

All in all, the book is a very valuable resource that taught me a lot about how to design a beer and get the results that I expect, but it is not a bible on recipe design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles
$24.95 $16.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.