Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Desperate Housewives - Season Two
Well, the second season of "Desperate Housewives" has finally come to an end. Season two for the most part was a pretty good one, though not quite as good as season one. While the writing and acting was still first-rate, there were a few things about season two that didn't work.

The good things about the second season of this terrific ABC series were many of...
Published on May 22, 2006 by Joseph Haggard Jr.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Desperate Housewives 2nd season
I bought this for a friend of mine along with the housewives 1st season. She watched the first season, didn't watch the 2nd season yet, but I watched it on tv. Not as good as season 1, it was lacking. So far, season 3 seem to be a big hit, they went back to the 1st season style
Published on January 9, 2007 by George E. Duffy Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Desperate Housewives - Season Two, May 22, 2006
Well, the second season of "Desperate Housewives" has finally come to an end. Season two for the most part was a pretty good one, though not quite as good as season one. While the writing and acting was still first-rate, there were a few things about season two that didn't work.

The good things about the second season of this terrific ABC series were many of the same things that made this show's first season so good: great acting by its stars. The actress I thought who came off best in season two was Eva Longoria, who plays the beautiful and sexy Gabrielle. Of the show's four leading ladies, Longoria gave by far the funniest performances throughout the season (her catfight scene with that nun midway through the season was uproarious). Marcia Cross gave the show's most powerful performances as Bree, the housewive who's an obsessive perfectionist. Felicity Huffman (Lynette) and Teri Hatcher (Susan) were both terrific as usual. And Nicolette Sheridan was delicious as Edie, the Wisteria Lane tramp. Main storylines that played out through season two include: Gaby and Carlos trying to have a baby in every possible way; Lynette going back to work; Bree battling not only alcoholism but also her brat son Andrew; Susan breaking up with Mike, then finding a potential romantic interest with a doctor; and Edie finding romance with Susan's ex-husband Karl.

But there were a few setbacks. The one asset that didn't really work on the second season of "Desperate Housewives" was the big mystery storyline involving Wisteria Lane's newest members: the Applewhites (introduced at the end of season one). This storyline wasn't even close to matching the greatness of the big mystery storyline of season one (the suicide of Mary Alice Young), and it wasted the talents of Alfre Woodard, who portrayed Betty Applewhite. It seemed that the writers couldn't make up their minds at where to go with this story, and in the process Woodard wasn't given much to do in the role. That's a shame, because Woodard is a great actress and deserved better here. This storyline was thankfully finished off in the season two finale, and it appears that Woodard will not be back for season three. One good thing came out of this storyline: a surprise twist that I didn't see coming.

Another thing I didn't see coming was the shocking ending to the season finale, which has turned out to be the big cliffhanger that will lead into season three. It will be interesting to see what ends up happening when "Desperate Housewives" comes back on the air for season three.

Critics loved season one; but hated season two. Same thing with the Emmy voters. After receiving 15 Emmy nominations for its freshman season, "Desperate Housewives" only got 7 nods for season two. Plenty of omissions this time: no nomination for Best Comedy Series, and no nominations for its leading ladies (Marcia Cross was unfairly snubbed). The only major nomination it got was for Alfre Woodard as Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series, which (in my opinion) makes no sense at all. The only reason why Woodard is nominated is because Emmy voters love her. She is a past winner for some very good work that's she's done (the HBO movie Miss Evers' Boys and a guest appearence in the pilot to NBC's L.A. Law) and she's received other nominations for her other various roles. But to receive a nomination for a role in which we saw her not given a whole lot to do just proves at how boneheaded the Emmy voters can be sometimes (which is quite often). How Woodard can get a nomination for a wasted performance and Cross fails to get nominated for doing the strongest acting on the show in season two is a mystery that I don't think anyone on Wisteria Lane would be able to figure out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but thank god it's over!, June 13, 2006
Don't judge this review by its title! I am a devout Housewives fan and have gotten other friends hooked on it, too. Looking back at Season 2, by time the finale had ended, we all knew much more about our favorite Housewife's personality. For example, who knew Gabrielle had such a soft inside? Eva Longoria and Marcia Cross shone as their characters developed more and I fell even deeper in love with Bree, a psychological complex of love, disappointment, perfectionism, and unresolved childhood issues. The actresses' skills were all pushed to the limit and I admire their ability to surpass my my expectations always.

On the other hand the storylines were a bit silly at times, mostly due to a weak season mystery: Susan's attempted marriage to the gay guy, and how Xiao-Mei was a hidden slave, not to mention the Applewhite hiatus that we experienced towards the end of the show, the Applewhites are the season mystery for heaven's sakes! The Applewhites were also a little too isolated from the neighborhood, I mean we know that Betty is secretive but she doesn't communicate with Gabrielle or Lynette throughout the season! Season 1 was practically bullet-proof, so let's see that come back.

Complaints aside, I did enjoy Season 2, it's the one that got me hooked in the first place, I watched Season 1 on DVD after watching the Season 2 premiere. Don't be put off by the storyline goofs, I omitted the enjoyable parts of Season 2, which outweigh the goofs, so as not to spoil it for you.

The finale seems very promising, so I hope Season 3 continues the great work but factors in a more riveting mystery. Buy this set, and enjoy the top-notch acting (better than Season 1), the amazing Brenda Strong's narration, top-notch production, and in many cases, issues that hit home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to catch up on missed episodes, September 4, 2006
If it seems like the second season of Desperate Housewives just ended, that's because it did just a few months ago. If you want to catch up on season two before season 3 premieres here is your chance.

The first episode of the second season wraps up the storylines from seasons one's cliffhanger. Susan breaks free from Zach who had been holding her hostage. Before the episode ends Mike confesses to Susan that he believes Zach is his son. Gabriel's husband Carlos is still in jail and Gabriel is pregnant hoping to prove the paternity of her unborn child to Carlo's--and still hoping he forgives her for the affair. Lynette has decided to re-enter the work world and by no means are things easy for her. New neighbors have moved in. Alfre Woodard is introduced as Betty Applewhite. She lives on Wisteria Lane with her son but she has secrets. The strongest storyline of the first episode is Bree dealing with the death of her husband Rex. Rex really is dead and Bree has to deal with her mother-in-law who is determined to have her voice heard as far as the funeral arrangements go.

Season two was not without drama. Susan had to deal with her ex-husband dating Edie, Lynette was faced with infidelity, Gabriel would face a crisis regarding her pregnancy, and Bree would find herself a murder suspect--among many other things.

Fans of the show were divided about their feelings about the second season. As a reviewer, I certainly didn't like the Betty Applewhite storyline, it wasn't very believable or well written.

Desperate Housewives Season Two features 24 episodes on 5 discs. The sixth disc featured with the set includes a plethora of bonus features strictly for the super Desperate Housewives fan.

Bonus features include:

Unaired storylines

Desperate Role Models-Iconic TV housewives share their wit and wisdom

Marc & Mom-Interview with series creator Marc Cherry and his mother

Directing Desperate Housewives-An episode from concept to creation

Deleted Scenes

Much more

This reviewer didn't even pop in the bonus disc, because as I stated before, this is for the fan who really wants to know more. For me, it was about catching up on the season two episodes I missed. The color booklet included with the set is very detailed and includes a good episode synopsis which makes choosing which episode to watch a breeze. This is a really great set, beautifully designed and a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I totally agree, October 3, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Season two is, as it is written on the cover, very juicy. For me, season two is better than the first one. There are some many twists, unexpected events and of course it's very funny and entertaining. All actors and actresses did a fantastic job, especially Marcia Cross. I like the development from Bree. In the first season she was "only" the perfect housewife and she dealt with her problem in her way. Because of all the bad events she's going trough in season two she seems more "humain", she also has a weak and sensitive side and she is struggling with her life. Lynette, Edie and Susan are still the same, but terrific of course. I also liked Gabby better in this season than in the first one. What Carlos and she are showing us is fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hysteria at Wisteria, part two, November 11, 2006
Rumour had it that the second season was weaker than the first. Don't believe the hype : there's more dark secrets, reversals of fortune, crazy laughs and heart-breaking situations in these 24 episodes of a series that took the TV world by surprise. Crazy cameos (Ryan O'Neal, Maria Conchita Alonzo), new neighbors, and Bree going down at high speed : TV series has never been that good since... "6 Feet Under", maybe ?

All hail to the creator, (Mark) Cherry on top !

Olivier Cachin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desperate Housewives Season 2 DVD Extra Juicy Edition is filled with juicy extras!, May 4, 2006
By 
Porfie Medina "Porfie Jr. Medina" (Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Desperate Housewives is one of the best TV shows (along with Lost and Greys Anatomy) to come out in a long time. In a world where silly reality TV seems to have taken over, it is refreshing to see a quality show out there like Desperate Housewives. Desperate Housewives is one of the few shows that hooks you in, gets you addicted, and takes you on this emotional journey with the characters. With a great balance of comedy and suspense this show just makes you want to see whats going to happen next. I give Disney a lot of credit for putting so much in to there DVD sets. Desperate Housewives The Complete Second Season will come out in late August of 2006 and it will include all 24 episodes and will presented in widescreen format along with a 5.1 Surround Sound.

Below are the Bonus Features according to the press release from Buena Vista/Disney.

*Exclusive Unaired Storyline: This complete storyline, exclusive to the DVD, was shot for broadcasr but never aired. It features Susan Mayer (Teri Hatcher).

*Anatomy Of A Show - Directors Diary: An episode director shows all the steps it takes to get the job done.

*Iconic Housewives: Hear insights and wisdom from TV's most iconic housewives. Plus, the Wisteria Lane Housewives reveal their favorite women and memories from housewife past.

*Mark & Mom: Creator/Executive Producer Marc Cherry is interviewed with (his inspiration for the show his) mom.

*Deleted Scenes

*Audio Commentaries

*And Much More!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sink your teeth right into this., June 1, 2006
By 
ADRIENNE MILLER (Murfreesboro, TN.) - See all my reviews
Yes, my favorite show Desperate Housewives - The Complete Second Season will be released later this summer. I loved the second season more than the first, better storylines, and the characters found their nitch. Marcia Cross deserves an Emmy come this fall, her character Bree had some year, her husband died due to that creepy and love to hate pharmacist, she started to date him, he ended up killing himself, didn't call the ambulance to help him, she battled with the bottle, her son Andrew sued her, and then he slept with her AA sponsor (her son is gay), Bree left her son in the middle of nowhere after that, and then her daughter Danielle tried to run off with a killer. Boy that's some juicy drama. Well if I haven't confused you enough, the DVD collection has deleted scenes and other features to heat up your summer. Don't miss out on this fabulous show, order your copy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite season of the show thus far., July 31, 2008
By 
Housewives Connoisseur (Coolville, Ohio 45723) - See all my reviews
I shall begin this review by declaring my love for this show. It's my favorite show on the air right now by far, and I think it's one of the greatest television shows ever created. The acting is superb, the storylines intriguing, hilarious and often touching, and there is a strong bond bond between these (now six) very different women that I think everyone can relate to. While I have absolutely loved every season, season two has definitely remained my favorite. That's why it comes as a shock to me that so many critics and even fans bashed this season. I mean, what isn't there to love? All four principle characters' storylines are advanced. Susan's turbulent love life continues as she struggles to maintain her relationship with Mike and also finds romance with a handsome young doctor. In this season we also see Susan try to foster a relationship with her long-lost father and deal with her ex-husband. Lynette goes from being a stay-at-home mom to a working woman, and this storyline is ridiculously entertaining- from Lynette's malicious colleague Nina (I personally found this character to be an irresistable villian) to her immature and incompetent boss Ed. Also in this season, Tom joins Lynette's firm and we see the two struggle to keep their marriage in check while working together. Lynette's struggle to maintain her personal life and career is also a very realistic storyline that I think a lot of people can relate to. Gaby suffers a miscarriage, and after Carlos is released from prison the two go to desperate lengths to have a child. Along the way, Gabrielle must thwart an attempt from a meddlesome nun to ruin her marriage. Perhaps the most interesting storyline of the season belonged to Bree. After Rex's death, we see Bree try to move on by dating George, the pharmacist. After discovering George's sordid secrets, her son Andrew becomes more of a terror than ever and tries to make Bree's life even more miserable. All of this leads to Bree becoming an alcoholic, and by the end of the season, she has resorted to drastic measures to get her life back in order. New on the lane are mysterious neighbors Betty and Matthew Applewhite, who are hiding a dark secret in their basement. As the season progesses, we discover the truth behind this mystery. One of the most scathing critiques of season two regards the Applewhites' storyline. Many said it wasn't captivating and that Betty Applewhite never really integrated into the show. I disagree with both of these claims. Alfre Woodard's Betty Applewhite remains one of my favorite characters during the show's tenure. Not only was the season two mystery captivating; there is an unbelievable shock in the finale. And that's not the only shock in store for viewers; the season has many surprises that all come to fruition in the finale. This finale, which features memorable scenes of each wife's arrival to the lane is my favorite finale of the four seasons (although season four's finale was also pretty incredible, I must say). Not only does season two look back, it also gives us a twist for each major character (in my opinion, the most shocking moment of the entire series thus far occurs with Mike in the final moments of the finale) and leaves you desperate to see how each of the storylines will play out in the third season. So there you have it. Some have said this season was boring. I personally found each and every one of the above storylines captivating and entertaining. As with every season of Desperate Housewives, the acting is superb and the chemistry between the leads undeniable. This leads to another critique of season two that I believe is illegitimate. Many have said that the wives are too isolated from each other in this season. While their scenes together may not be as numerous as other seasons, these scenes are so enjoyable that it doesn't feel like a loss at all. Last but not least, the show's brilliant mix of comedy and drama remains as strong in this season as it did in its classic first season. If you are considering watching this season for the first time, please don't listen to critics. Watch the episodes and judge for yourself. I bet you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great and deadly!!!!!, April 4, 2008
Desperate housewives season 2 was as good, if not better than the original. I must admit that while I was a fan of the the first season it never truly captivated me in anyway. This season did. I think the reason for that was due to a stronger story and range of characters.
I loved Bree in this season, which is not what i found in the first season. Her breavement and conflicts with her son and her internal struggles make her a more rounded out and flawed character. Until she finally cracks (which lets face it, we knew was gonna happen soon.)
Also the character of Gabby was given more to do in this season. As opposed to her just sleeping with her gardener and trying to hide it from her increasly annoying husband.
Lynett's story was also better in this season. I just could not relate to her in the first season. the choices she makes and the situations she puts herself in. And i have kids so i know what being a parent is but still! In this season however she seemed more interesting. Though however I wish she would stop having her silly little fights with her husband and get her own life.
Susan...Susan has always been hard for me to like. In the first season I thought she was OK at first, but after a while down right annoying. In this season she improves a little though she is still just as insane and is still rivalling Carrie Bradshaw!
Another pleasure of this season was the story involving the Applewhites. I found it ten times more interesting than the previous, though the actual mystery could be gathered pretty quickly in this season a few episodes in, unlike the the first season's which kept you guessing right till the last episode. I also loved the Betty character, but i wish she had more screen time and more background. i was horrifed when there were whole episodes going by and she didnt even feature!!!
Wats that all about?
I wish she hadnt exited the show at the end of the season but hopefully she will make a reappearance in a future season.
I also loved the fact that Mary-Alice barely featured in this season
(apart from her poisoned honey narration). She truly was the most boring and unengaging character on the show.
An annoyance of mine of this season was the fact that Edie, the Samantha Jones of the show (though no where near as cool and clever) was still feeling like a secondary character. Barely in an episode, going some without even making an appearance. They should bring her forward and give her more to do apart from her tedious battles with Susan which she always loses. Another factor that brought this season down was the fact that the main mystery, though revealed to the audience quite early on was only touched upon and noticed by the main charcters nearly half way through the season! Making the mystery itself seem dull and prolonged by the end of the season due to the fact that we the viewers already know or have guessed the stuff they are discovering in the second leg of the season. Whereas the first season, we the viewers were taken on a journey with the characters and were discovering things with them. And the final thing that annoyed me about this season was the loss of some great characters. The Applewhites, Felicia Tilman, Justin and George Williams.
But apart from my few dislikes of this season, like i said. this season i felt was better than the First. Heres hoping the Third maintains this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really like it !!!, November 10, 2006
By 
Indiana Quintero (Hato Rey, PR Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this series since the begging, it's my guilty pleasure. I'm always wondering what the desperate characters are going to do next. I do recomend buying this box set and to watch Disk Number 6, with all the insight and deleted scenes, you are going to love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.