Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin's lunar adventures mark Herge's finest hour.
Along with its sequel, Explorers on the Moon, Destination Moon is the most fully realised of Tintin's adventures. Published over a decade before the lunar landing of 1969, Herge's vision of space travel is a convincing one. Brilliantly illustrated with Herge's unique cinematic style and featuring some excellent villains, as well as hilarious antics from the Thompson...
Published on October 16, 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Childlike magic
I first saw this book as a child, and it ignited a strong interest in science and exploration. It looks as good today!
Published on June 25, 2008 by Mad Doctor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin's lunar adventures mark Herge's finest hour., October 16, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Along with its sequel, Explorers on the Moon, Destination Moon is the most fully realised of Tintin's adventures. Published over a decade before the lunar landing of 1969, Herge's vision of space travel is a convincing one. Brilliantly illustrated with Herge's unique cinematic style and featuring some excellent villains, as well as hilarious antics from the Thompson Twins, Destination Moon is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for children!, June 27, 1998
By A Customer
Although this book is geared toward children, it can be enjoyed by adults too. Destination Moon was the first book I read by Herge, and I immediately went on to read the others. The storylines are wonderful - you really get caught up in them! And the pictures are great! That is one thing I really enjoyed about this book - the pictures! You also have to pay attention to Snowy's antics! What a character! This book is a must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is Tintin, what can I say?!!, September 1, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Herge is the greatest comic drawer in the world. Tintin's adventures are good for both children and adults, maybe even better for adults that children. I am just sorry that Americans don't know these books better, I wish Tintin and Asterix were popular in America the same as they are in Europe and other parts of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great snakes, Snowy, we're going to the moon!, February 14, 2010
Cuthbert Calculus disappears; no, he has not been kidnapped as you might have thought (this is a Tintin book, after all, and Calculus is easy prey to kidnappers - see The Seven Crystal Balls and The Calculus Affair), he has gone off to Syldavia to help the scientists there build a rocket to explore the moon. The notion that the scientific genius can invite his friends to join him on a space crew, and they will all function in scientific roles, is of course preposterous, but it makes for a fun story. To spice up a relatively dull tale of scientific development there is a bit of mystery: who's the spy? What are Thomson and Thompson doing in Greek national costumes if they're not in Greece? And what use is it to take Snowy to the moon anyway?

Lots of great physical comedy, like when Haddock inadvertently tears apart the chair that Baxter is sitting in, or Snowy's, or the detectives' arresting a skeleton. Calculus with his hearing aid, or pulling his hair out when his radio-controlled rocket gets taken over, is pretty hilarious too. Of course, the classic is when Haddock tells Calculus he's "acting the goat" - Calculus erupts with a furious temper tantrum, showing a withering sarcasm and superhuman strength, all the while chiding Haddock for his clumsiness. Just as funny is Haddock's scared, wide-eyed reaction to his friend's fury - he's totally tongue-tied; nothing like our favourite characters acting out of character. There's also the detectives using reverse psychology on Haddock when it seems like he wants out of the mission (Tintin often uses the same method, usually with the help of a bottle of whiskey as in Tintin in Tibet, but it's interesting to see the detectives be clever in spite of themselves). Of course, the ever-present amnesia episode is interesting enough, but ultimately nothing can delay the inevitable: the moon must be launched into space. So it is, leading to the inevitable part 2: "Explorers on the Moon"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning, November 15, 2005
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
The first Tintin book I ever owned, and along with the second part (Explorers on the moon) is still the one I love the best. A witty, clever tale with suprise twists and turns, great characters and all those fantastic drawings of the spacecraft itself. These two books played a huge part in starting my love affair with SF, and I'd even say they influenced my decision to write novels of my own (now happily published)

If you want to see how a true master does it, buy this book. Just make sure you pick up Explorers on the Moon at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tin tin book, June 5, 2012
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
got this for my son for xmas to finish off his set. he really enjoys reading it. and im glad he likes it too. its in comic book form so its easy reading. great thing to buy if your wanting to encourage reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tintin books, April 16, 2011
By 
Elizabeth B. Warner (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
We have been reading the TinTin books to my grandson since he was three (he is now five). He loves them. I do believe we have almost all of them. Amazon's prices on new paperbacks are better than Powell's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To the Moon, 16 Years Early...., March 6, 2009
Belgian artist Herge wrote "Destination Moon" as an adventure for his cartoon hero, the young journalist Tintin, in 1953, sixteen years before Apollo 11 accomplished the real feat. Given that manned space flight itself was still just a concept, "Destination Moon" holds up remarkably well as a well-written tale of science fiction and adventure.

As the story opens, Tintin and his seafaring friend Captain Haddock return to Marlinspike to find that Professor Calculus has been missing for weeks. Calculus sends a timely telegram inviting Tintin and the Captain to the Balkan state of Syldavia, featured in an earlier story. Tintin and the Captain embark on a mysterious trip, sheparded along by unidentified security men to a remote complex deep in the Syldavian mountains. There,they find Professor Calculus, who astounds them by inviting them along on a voyage to the Moon. In an hilarious scene with the nearly deaf Calculus, the two find themselves inadvertantly seconded to the mission.

And what a mission it is. Herge takes the time in this, the first of a two-part story, to imagine the engineering, space suits, and other logistics of a trip to the Moon. He also introduces a sinister plot by outsiders to sabotage the Moon rocket and steal the technology. This plot very nearly costs Tintin and the Captain their lives, and comes close to derailing the whole project. Against this rather grim storyline, the bumbling detectives Thompson and Thomson, and reluctant astronaut Captain Haddock provide more than the usual comic relief. The story ends in a nice cliff-hanger hooking into the concluding portion, "Explorers on the Moon."

"Destination Moon" is very highly recommended to fans of Tintin of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Futuristic Fantasy, June 16, 2002
By 
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
First written in 1953, 15 years before the first real moon landing in 1969!
I like these books because of their nostalgia value, good old-fashioned values of heroism, adventure good vs. evil. . I first got hold of copies of 'Destination Moon ' and 'Explorers on the Moon' when I was ten, and I was fascinated by the world which they opened up.
Tintin and Captain Haddock fly to the uranium-rich Balkan State of Syldavia, to work with Professor Calculus on his project to send a rocket to the moon, using the mountains of Syldavia as a base. You learn a lot about the fantasyland of Syldavia, and about the unusual perception of the world of his time, by the author, Herge.
This work is amazing in its futuristic scope. The super-modern (for when it was written in1953) Sprodj Atomic Research Center, and the details of the rocket where quite an amazing concept when the book was first published, 16 years before the first real moon landing by Neil Armstrong in 1969.
It is full of adventure, such as when Tintin is wounded while surprising villains at the ventilator grid in the picturesque Syldavian Mountains; and much humour such as escapades with Captain
Haddock's pipe and Professor Calculus' hearing aid , and the famous scene of an enraged Professor Calculus `acting the goat'.
It is a great adventure for all ages, a wonderful album to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift, December 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
gave this book to my brother for Christmas and he enjoyed it very much. he grew up reading these comics and they were done very well both in drawing and writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin)
Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) by Herge (Paperback - September 30, 1976)
$11.00 $9.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.