Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surf Punk Thrash Frenzy.
I love this album.
What is about the dark sounding neuvo-surf movement that just works?
Like Dick Dale in a bad mood, MOAM just plows through reverb-laced 2 minute nuggets, seemingly without every taking a breather.
Singing only on the "MST2000" theme cover, these instrumental slashers pay due homage to the giants of surf, while creating their own...
Published on February 21, 2001 by Tom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Futurama music with a twist!
Man...or Astroman? puts on one heck of a CD with space-age surfer music that makes it fun to listen to. With an homage to B-Movies and beyond, the rattling of guitars and drums makes Man...or Astroman? a keeper. A must for having friends over for cocktails....like your drinks, they are sweet and intoxicating!
Published on November 7, 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surf Punk Thrash Frenzy., February 21, 2001
By 
Tom (Palatine, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
I love this album.
What is about the dark sounding neuvo-surf movement that just works?
Like Dick Dale in a bad mood, MOAM just plows through reverb-laced 2 minute nuggets, seemingly without every taking a breather.
Singing only on the "MST2000" theme cover, these instrumental slashers pay due homage to the giants of surf, while creating their own frantic pantina.
Perfect music for a late night drive down a dark highway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thrilling Sound of Man... or Astroman?, July 26, 2001
By 
"los_bomboras" (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
Make reference to this album when you think of Man Or Astroman? because it is one of their classics. Man or Astroman? made this album with the original members, them being Starcrunch, Dr. Deleto and His Invisible Vaportron, Coco the Electronic Monkey Wizard, and Birdstuff. This album is just a wonderful example on how they play space warped surf music with amusing samples in their songs.
Reverb 10,000 is a great start to the album with its high pace and great beat, while Of Sex and Demise is a song that just relaxes a person and lets them sit back and just 'snap' their fingers. Intoxica, Bombora, Taco Wagon, and Time Bomb are woderful surf covers done by Man or Astroman? While when put in perspective, the other songs are just as great but that is for each individual to be the judge of.
In essence, Destroy All Astromen is one of Man or Astroman?'s finest albums. Although that term is used a bit loosely considering their other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Space-age Surf Rock" deserves to be a genre..., August 9, 2000
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
You've heard of Space-age bachelor pad music, the work of men like Esquivel. (If you haven't, go get some of his stuff and learn...I'll wait) But the music of Man or Astroman and other bands like Servotron deserves more notice than it gets.
MoAM is high speed, hard-hitting guitar rock, the kind of stuff the Beach Boys wish they could have gotten away with. Heavy with sound bites and samples from cheesy sci-fi movies, japanimation and classroom education films about atomic holocaust, they pound out tune after tune, no two alike, but all similar in their quality and toe-tappability.
A cover of the Mystery Science Theater Theme on this album give you a clue of the kind of stuff they like; they've also done a cover of The Munsters theme, and songs about Astro Boy and Zoltar from Battle of the Planets.
It's hard to be a throwback and something new at the same time, but they pull it off admirably.
When mankind travels to the stars, this is the kind of music they will take with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man ...or Astroman is fantabulous, March 25, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
I love surf rock and this CD fills me up. It makes me feel wonderful when I'm sad and fiesty when I'm sluggish. I love the smooth, greasy jive of "Of Sex and Demise" to the crazed breakdown of "Bombora." I love B science fiction movies adn this CD brings back that feel and more. The instrumental ability of teh band was at one of their best at this time and excellently shines through. I have heard Man ...Or Astroman albums and this is by far the best of the bunch. For a started looking to break into surf rock, this is great; it was my first. I would not give up this CD for anyother in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars supercool favorite!, January 20, 2000
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
This has become a favorite of mine! Its great at all parties. Total B-Movie soundtrack stuff - way cooler than just surfy stuff - lots of punk and energy too! FUN FUN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing surf, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
Amazing surf music. Very tight instrumental arrangements. There is something fresh and exciting about these songs even though this album is 20 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Futurama music with a twist!, November 7, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
Man...or Astroman? puts on one heck of a CD with space-age surfer music that makes it fun to listen to. With an homage to B-Movies and beyond, the rattling of guitars and drums makes Man...or Astroman? a keeper. A must for having friends over for cocktails....like your drinks, they are sweet and intoxicating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My intro to Astro and still the best, December 13, 2000
By 
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
Although "A Spectrum of Infinite Scale" is pretty interesting avant-garde surf/techno, this is MOA? at their best. Pretty much straightforward surf rock, although it has a definite punk influence and is MUCH faster than most surf you'll listen to. .... This album is a studio album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, February 11, 2003
By 
Greg R. Lowther "selassie" (Long Beach, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
I love that there is a new wave of surf music like the Ziggens, Del Noah & the Mt. Araratfinks, and of course Man or Astro-man? I saw these guys a few years back at the Foothill in Long Beach and have just got around to buying this album. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THEIR BEST CD - DICK DALE MEETS THE RAMONES, July 27, 2001
By 
dphilips2002 (ROYAL OAK, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destroy All Astro Men (Audio CD)
EVEN WITH ALL THE CHEESY SOUND DROPS THIS IS A GREAT ALBUM. STARCRUNCH{GUITAR} REALLY LETS LOOSE HERE. BIRDSTUFF{DRUMS} IS ONE OF THE BEST. THERE ARE VERY FEW BANDS THAT CAN PLAY AND HAVE A SENSE OF HUMOR TOO. BUY THIS FOR YOUR NEXT PARTY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Destroy All Astro Men
Destroy All Astro Men by Man Or Astro-Man? (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.