Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd combination that sparks!
Before I watched this highly-amusing comedy, with "dramatic" touches, it had always seemed so strange (to me), the coupling of reliable & naive Jimmy Stewart with the exotic, alluring and sophisticated Marlene Dietrich...and above all, in a western!!

It's true that she (Dietrich) had starred previously with equally naive and all-american Gary Cooper in both in...
Published on August 21, 2004 by Fernando Silva

versus
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DESTRY RUNS INTO TROUBLE ON DVD!
"Destry Rides Again" is a five star, ten gallon hat of an adventure that casts gangly James Stewart as the unassuming Marshall of a lawless town. At first, Tom Destry's unassuming good nature pegs him as a push over amongst the criminal element in the neighborhood, as well as by the spurious ladies of the evening, fronted by the erotic intercontinental harlot, Frenchy...
Published on June 10, 2004 by Nix Pix


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DESTRY RUNS INTO TROUBLE ON DVD!, June 10, 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
"Destry Rides Again" is a five star, ten gallon hat of an adventure that casts gangly James Stewart as the unassuming Marshall of a lawless town. At first, Tom Destry's unassuming good nature pegs him as a push over amongst the criminal element in the neighborhood, as well as by the spurious ladies of the evening, fronted by the erotic intercontinental harlot, Frenchy (Marlene Dietrich). However, very soon Destry begins to reassert his power as the law of the land - a pivotal epiphany that leads to violence and death. There's also some great comedy to be had - particularly in a scene in which Destry decides to cool Frenchy off - literally, by soaking her with some ice water. Dietrich's rendition of "See What The Boys In The Backroom'll Have" proves why she was the toast of Berlin cabarets for many years before coming to Hollywood. The forgotten Mischa Auer co-stars as Boris - a simple-minded philanderer in a comedic subplot, who gets his comeuppance in the end. Jack Carson, Una Merkel and Charles Winninger also give credible performances.
THE TRANSFER: The genuine disappointment is that Universal doesn't quite understand they have a winner in this film. The transfer is so terribly marred by fading, age related artifacts and a poorly balanced print that there is very little to recommend this film on DVD. Contrast levels appear under exposed during night scenes and slightly over exposed elsewhere. There's a glaring and distracting amount of film grain present throughout the transfer that really distracts from the visual style and performances. Fine detail is lost in most scenes. Rarely does the quality of this disc surpass mediocrity. The audio is mono and fairly presented, though the critical ear will note distortions present.
EXTRAS: As usual for Universal classics - NONE!
BOTTOM LINE: This film should be seen because it is a gem among westerns - just not in its current condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd combination that sparks!, August 21, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
Before I watched this highly-amusing comedy, with "dramatic" touches, it had always seemed so strange (to me), the coupling of reliable & naive Jimmy Stewart with the exotic, alluring and sophisticated Marlene Dietrich...and above all, in a western!!

It's true that she (Dietrich) had starred previously with equally naive and all-american Gary Cooper in both in "Morocco" and "Desire", but the former was a Pre-Code set in Von Sternberg's "exotic" vision of the world (the desert in this case) and the latter wasn't "outside" Diretrich "bounds" either (as a myth), because it was a sophisticated continental romance, produced by Lubistch.

But boy!, in this film Marlene is so different from her previous roles an highly convincing as a notorious saloon singer, "Frenchy" (she's from New Orleans, Louisiana), who's the mistress of the town's villain (Brian Donlevy, great).

After Bottleneck's sheriff (the name of the town) is killed, in rather "obscure" circumstances, Donlevy arranges that the town's drunk (engagingly played by Charles Winninger) is given the job, `cos it's for sure that he wouldn't cause any trouble at all...

But, he's wrong, as everybody else, because Winninger calls for Tom Destry to become his deputy-sheriff, whose heroic father he knew when he was young, ....but, wait a minute!!... this mild-mannered guy (Stewart) cannot be "notorious" Destry's son...but not all is said, `cos this peculiar guy is a no-nonsense man!

Great support too from Mischa Auer, as Winininger's hilarious Russian brother-in-law, so desperately trying to be addressed by his own last name (Androvsky? or sth. like that), and not as "Callahan", his wife's (Una Merkel) very respectable, late first husband.

Mention apart deserves one of the best women-fight I ever saw onscreen, between Merkel and Dietrich.

The only thing that displeased me was one "aspect" of the ending, which I'm sure must have been imposed by the strict Production Code regulations (you'll know what I'm talking about after watching the movie yourselves), but in all, it's a great film!

The DVD copy is OK, considering the film's from 1939.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT PRISTINE PRINT, April 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
I think that just about every film made in 1939 was great and "Destry Rides again" is certainly no exception to that claim..1939 was truly the Golden Age of Hollywood.I won't bother to review the plot as it is well covered in the many other reviews. I hesitated to buy the DVD as there were a few reviews claiming that the transfer was not up to par,overexposed,scratches etc. but I always loved this film and was willing to chance it and was glad that I did purchase it as the transfer to DVD was excellent,clear as any film made today if not clearer..I can only surmise that the reviews that claim that it was a poor transfer were referring to the VHS version and not the DVD.It certainly held up well for all it's 69 years and to see and hear Marlene Dietrich sing " See what the boys in the backroom will have" was worth the price of the DVD.

William J. Landis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've Got the Look, February 10, 2009
By 
Kevin Killian (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
We watched this particular DVD and I have to say, this film needs restoration badly. When Dietrich gets on stage to sing "See What the Boys in the Back Room Will Have,"you can barely distinguish her from the gauze curtain behind her. (Or was she photographed with a piece of gauze hung between her and the camera?) Universal did her no favors in the hair or makeup department either; when wet, her hair looks great, but dry, it looks like a Shirley Temple doll with shiny cellophane instead of human hair, and the cellophane is constantly winking and glittering in the camera's lens, like the jewels or sequins in her corsets and showgirl outfits. Now I know where Kylie Minogue got her total showgirl look.

It is a strange Western without Indians, though we hear them referred to in the dialogue, stories of how the elder Destry faced down a whole Comanche tribe, etc. Otherwise the conflict is between corrupt municipal bosses, allied with gamblers, who scheme to monopolize ownership of all surrounding land--that is, anywhere that could be used as a cattle trail. Wonder if the movie was inspired by current events in Europe; James Stewart, reluctant to strap on the guns and live as his father did, has to make up his mind in the face of escalating and evil violence--an allegory for the isolationism of the US when Hitler was taking over Europe? Everything fits, but if so, it makes the presence of Dietrich (and Mischa Auer) in the movie fit even more... Still you'd think there'd be Indians, or would that be a distraction from the anti-isolationist politics of the film?

Needless to say, we loved it. We devised a drinking game where we would take a shot every time the flustered sheriff pulled his shirt out of the front of his pants, and we took two shots every time Jimmy Stewart slowly and lovingly tucked it back in for him... we cried the last time he did this... in fact I'm still drunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny or not so funny?, February 6, 2006
By 
Joseph Hart (Visalia, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
The box my DVD came in really played up the humor in this flick, going so far as to call it "hilarious." That's dumb. It had humor in it, it also had a good old fashioned plot. And Jimmy Stewart and Marlene Dietrich. And great songs (Loesser only wrote the words for this one, and with only one false rhyme - cousins/dozens/husbands), all put across by an amazingly flexible (lots of different feelings, not just the usual stoneface and deadpan delivery I've come to expect of her) Dietrich. I loved it. I won't give away the ending in case there's someone left who doesn't know it, but I wonder whether the musical (Rome, Griffith, Gray) ended the same, of course I never saw the Bway show, and it irks me not to know. This movie actually made me dislike the Rome score that I have loved and enjoyed for years, and it also made me wonder how good Andy Griffith was in Jimmy Stewart's role. I can't imagine it. That part was made for Stewart. All the parts were well-cast and well done I thought. It's a great flick and I loved it. Not so funny though. A very serious plot with people getting killed. No carnage, blood and guts like you would expect today, but dead is dead. Still it was lightly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic western and classic Stewart, May 13, 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "Shelf-Help" (Brownwood, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
This is one of my favorite westerns and definitely one of my favorite Jimmy Stewart movies. In this film, Deputy Tom Destry rides into the rough town of Bottleneck to clean the place up...without a gun. Although he's an officer of the law, he's also a firm believer in taking care of business without a shooting iron. His father was the legendary Tom Destry, Sr., who was shot in the back in cold blood. Although he had the fastest hand in the West and the sharpest eye, as young Destry says of his dad and guns, "They didn't seem to do him much good."

But don't worry. There's still plenty of shoot-'em-up action in DESTRY RIDES AGAIN as well as the kind of rare, witty dialogue you just couldn't find in most westerns from way back when or today. DESTRY also features one of the defining performances in the career of Marlene Deitrich. For those who love the parody of her in BLAZING SADDLES, most of that was taken from DESTRY.

Although DESTRY RIDES AGAIN is now 66 years old, it has aged quite gracefully, and is still funner than ever to watch. It's a great movie, which very few people will not be pleased to watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Film Produced in 1939, August 9, 2003
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In DESTRY RIDES AGAIN Jimmy Stewart is an easygoing deputy sheriff trying to clean up a corrupt frontier town without much help from his drunken boss. The movie has everything. It has action, suspense, comedy, romance and at least one very memorable song by Marlene Dietrich who plays a dance hall singer. Charles Winninger is the alcoholic sheriff and Brian Donlevy owns the dance hall which spawns most of the trouble in the area.
Marlene Dietrich is the sparkle which makes this film far superior to most other westerns and she is the reason it will remain a classic for a long time. A strong supporting cast includes Samuel S. Hines, Jack Carson, Mycha Auer and Allen Jenkins.
The movie received no Oscar nominations undoubtedly because of the stiff competition provided by its numerous first-class competitors in 1939 such as GONE WITH THE WIND. George Marshall also directed YOU CAN'T CHEAT AN HONEST MAN starring W.C. Fields in that same year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destry Rides Again - and again, February 22, 2007
By 
John Lewis "widescreenfan" (Aldwincle, Northamptonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
For those who are not aware of the brilliant comedy western genre, this DVD will be a delight. The quiet, straight guy, James Stewart, the typical dance hall queen, Marlene Dietrich, and the superior comedy of Mischa Auer, combine to keep the action moving, while the 'bad guys' get found out and peace is restored to the town again.

All of this with humour and fun, which makes it rank as one of the true classic westerns of all time.

If you have never seen Stewart or Dietrich on the screen, or even if you have never heard of them, this film will give you a glimpse of the hay-day of the American Cinema, when Hollywood was turning out hit after hit in 1939.

I highly recommend it to anyone of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than brilliant!!!, February 18, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
With 2 entertaining couples (Dietrich-Stewart & Merkel-Auer), 2 excellent actors (Donlevy & Winninger), a very good supporting cast, all directed by one of the best (George Marshall) with a perfect mix of seriousness and fun with (more than) a touch of self-derision, my only wonder is how could anyone (including Marshall) think they could get a remake to be worthwhile, and how come it does not rank in the top 10 of the genre: 7 years before 'My Darling Clementine', it showed much more invention and acting???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing movie...good picture, lousy horrible sound, April 24, 2004
By 
B. Margolis (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destry Rides Again (DVD)
Everything that others have said about the quality is this fine Western satire is true. Amazing movie. Problem here is on a standard TV, the sound is unlike any other Universal DVD title I own: horrible tinny, hallow and echoey unacceptable sound.
Someonje really screwed up during the mastering process. (I have checked two copies and they are both hallow sounding...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Destry Rides Again [DVD + Digital Copy] (Universal's 100th Anniversary)
$14.98 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.