Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MOVIE SINCE VOLCANO!
This is a fast paced "Student Bodies" meets "Scott Pilgrim" type of movie. The humor comes at you quick and you must pay attention. It is a teen slasher spoof film, but also tosses in a few aspects of other films. There are clues as to what is going on, but don't worry about trying to catch them and figure out the film, just enjoy the scenes.

Some lines that...
Published on August 20, 2012 by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange movie
Movie was incredibly strange, was similar to Jennifer's body if you liked that one. I would not see it again.
Published on September 6, 2012 by Michele


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MOVIE SINCE VOLCANO!, August 20, 2012
This review is from: Detention (DVD)
This is a fast paced "Student Bodies" meets "Scott Pilgrim" type of movie. The humor comes at you quick and you must pay attention. It is a teen slasher spoof film, but also tosses in a few aspects of other films. There are clues as to what is going on, but don't worry about trying to catch them and figure out the film, just enjoy the scenes.

Some lines that come too mind:

"Pregnant teens are never funny." A clear slap at "Juno."

"I only eat baby animals."

"Pain don't hurt."

"Where did you learn to make a snuff porno? Lady Gaga?"

"Gnawing through boyfriends like an unfed piranha."

"This human conversation thing isn't working. Let's do texting."

The production incorporates numerous obscure 1980's references, some of which are explained. The film is done in a modern quirky "Scott Pilgrim..." style, but knowledge of 1980s movies is helpful in order to enjoy the feature.

There is a slasher at school. Meanwhile Ione (Spencer Locke), the cute air headed blond likes under achiever cool guy Clapton Davis (Josh Hutcherson). She has given up her jock boyfriend Billy Nolan (Parker Bagley)for him. He wants to beat up Clapton over her, and he is willing to fight for her because she is deep and likes Sting. Meanwhile Riley Jones (Shanley Caswell) has a crush on Clapton and becomes a third wheel.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bombs, brief sex and brief nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exhausting little horror-comedy is well worth seeing, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detention (DVD)
There's a lot packed into the run-time of this movie, in fact, so much it probably bears watching more than once to catch everything as it zips by. The basic storyline seems to be that this supposed movie character, Cinderhella, is killing teens, but there's a lot more to the film than just that. Screwed-up teenage relationships, a jealous ex-boyfriend jock who was mutated by a meteorite as a child, a high-school mascot (a stuffed grizzly bear) that has been modified into a time machine, time travel back to 1992, etc. The humor is often gross but a lot of it is deadpan, which makes it even better, in my opinion. This is refreshingly goofy & bizarre, and is a good slam-dunk of overpriveleged teens & high school clique antics, but it's also a lot more than that. I enjoyed the first "Scream" (but not necessarily its sequels) but this is not quite so obvious as that film. Well worth seeing, not perfect but pretty damn close. May be a future cult classic. 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See it early and often, January 24, 2013
By 
Kevin Killian (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Detention (DVD)
I watched this picture because of the critic Steve Shaviro, who said that it (and The Cabin in the Woods) represented between them the "future of horror"--no wait, maybe the "future of cinema," some grand claim, exactly the kind I have a hankering for, and I enjoyed Cabin in the Woods a helluva lot, so I went in thinking, maybe this will be one of those sorts of movies the kind I like, that rip through genre like so many jungle fronds in a machete movie. And so it was, on a rather different scale than Joss Whedon. Whedon is a humanist, whereas I get the picture that Joseph Kahn, who directed this highly entertaining horror comedy, is no such thing, despite the sentimental flourishes with which his movie concludes (sappy voice over that says, basically, "but underneath it all we're just people, and we all need love.")

Kahn made two epic videos with the pop singer slash actress Kylie Minogue. In one, the charity single by "Helping Haiti," he blended shocking real-life footage of hurricane devastation in Haiti, with hideous footage or pop stars from Rod Stewart to Westlife and beyond, all lip synching the old R.E.M. classic "Everybody Hurts." For Kylie's 11th solo album, APHRODITE, Kahn turned the first single, "All the Lovers" into a giant orgy of models, male and female, stripping to pristine white underwear in the middle of downtown LA in front of the Gehry Disney Concert Hall, to worship a giant goddess Kylie. Made in the immediate aftermath of DETENTION, you can see Kahn trying to work out ideas he didn't manage to articulate during its filming. Josh Hutcherson, the executive producer of the film, plays the hero part, but he's sort of a sad sack, and he's named after a pair of heritage rock artists (in joke?) In general the acting's not great in DETENTION, but who cares? In CABIN IN THE WOODS, the whole movie slides by on the Whedonesque charm of the actors and the witty dialogue, and here the dialogue and the acting is just one jab after another, like an attack of fire ants. If like me you thought of abandoning Detention before the second murder, my advice is, keep up with it if you can, because you will be amply rewarded throughout. The characters start making sense, they become sort of lovable, even the awful ones and though I never did figure out why the boy had to wear a TV on his wrist growing up, I enjoyed myself immensely and, if this is the future of cinema, it's in safe hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COMEDY/HORROR MIX WITH EMPHASIS ON COMEDY, August 28, 2012
This review is from: Detention (DVD)
Ever since Mel Brooks first began making fun of movie genres it seems that form of comedy has taken hold. What started out hilarious though ended up becoming stale and some truly bad examples were made (think of the movies made by the group behind EPIC MOVIE). Rare gems came out like SCARY MOVIE that then slacked off as well. So when a parody of a genre comes out that offers something original and whacky, I'm ready to give it a watch. With DETENTION I'm glad I did.

The movie begins with a form that hasn't been used before that works well here. The characters now and then talk to the fourth wall, the audience, and guide them through things happening in the film. It opens with the most popular girl in school (and of course the bitchiest) telling us all about her high school and the kids there while she gets ready for her day. This is one of those girls seen on SWEET 16 who complains about not getting the correct car on her birthday. She mentions the release of a new horror film with a killer known as Cinderhella who then promptly shows up and dispatches of our narrator setting the stage for the killer on the lose.

The kids at school of course do nothing but talk about her death as we introduce them here. Riley is the odd girl out, the different girl who talks about being a vegetarian and supports other groups yet isn't on the popular list of school kids. Her best friend Taylor is though. Taylor's boyfriend (the guy Riley wanted to ask out) Clapton Davis is a neer do well teen complete with skateboard and loved by all...except the school jock who wants to do nothing more than pound Clapton into the ground.

As the film progresses we get glimpses of the killer here and there, several in failed attempts on the lives of our main characters. We also get tons of laughter inspiring moments that are too many to count and too fast to catalog. Yes, this film moves at a frighteningly fast pace but not so much that it can't be enjoyed. And the film doesn't leave itself in the horror genre alone, skipping along occasionally into sci fi alien invasion or time travel storylines that tie into the main one as well.

When the group finally makes it to their actual detention during the high school prom, things happen that are completely off the wall and absurd. And yet it totally works. A killer in the room with them and they never see the murder happen? A student who's been in detention for decades and yet never ages? The reveal of how it all began years ago? Yep, it works here.

There really isn't a true category to place this film in. It's more original than most and offers so much at that rapid pace that you might find yourself clutching the remote so you can pause to finish laughing while the next joke or set up is being offered. I wasn't sure what to expect from this film but was pleasantly surprised as it played out. I was left wanting more and finding myself hoping that those behind it are given a bigger budget and the chance to make more movies. Anything they can come up with will far outrank the EPIC MOVIE group who still lay claim to what little they did on SCARY MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hyper Fun, February 14, 2013
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detention (DVD)
You might want to stoke up on caffeine and prop your eyelids open before watching this because it moves at a hundred miles an hour with little let-up.

Here's the scoop. Someone dressed up as "Cinderhella" from a horror movie franchise is killing kids from Grizzly Lake High School. Meanwhile some smaller dramas with some of the students play out. Riley Jones and Clapton Davis have been good friends since forever. She's a bit peeved because he wants to go to the prom with Ione who is vapid beyond the meaning of the word. Meanwhile, Billy Nolan, who is part fly, (yes, you read that right) wants to beat up Clapton because he also wants to go to the prom with Ione. Oh, and there is a time machine inside the stuffed bear in the school hall.

This is a fast, wild ride. The dialogue is replete with now and wow padder. There are a lot of clever pop culture references from both 'now' and the 90s and they come at you relentlessly. The story isn't quite as involved as it might seem at first glance because the pace throws you off. Once you settle into that the viewing gets a bit easier. There are, though, a couple of bizarre zingers (one late in the third act) that are so far out of left field, you might just be thinking WTF!?

The principle actors, Josh Hutcherson, Shanley Caswell, Spencer Locke, et al, do a decent job. The production values are as good as they need to be to get this done. What's really happening here is the script. Writer/director Joseph Kahn's previous work has been entirely in music videos which is probably why he felt the need to cram so much into each moving minute. But, as I said earlier, you really need to pay attention. A 'time slip' element enters the plot in the third act and, if you blink, you'll be lost.

I liked this a lot. I found it very entertaining and better than it had to be given the content. If being cinematically slapped around for 93 minutes is your poison, this should be right up your alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth watching, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detention (DVD)
I bought this mostly for the fact that Josh Hutcherson was in it and executive produced it. I have been a fan of his work for quite some time. Upon watching it I found myself sitting here wonder what the hell I was exactly watching. There was so much going on I couldn't keep up. Then the second time I watched it I found I couldn't look away. It is so stupid-funny and cliche that it works. Being a 90's child all the thrown in references made sense to me where as kids these days don't even know what a mix tape is. I wish this movie had gotten more recognition that it had because it is one movie of 2012 that should not go unnoticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region warning is wrong, November 20, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detention [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I wanted to address the note Amazon has for the Blu-Ray, it says:

"Region 35665 encoding. (This DVD will not play on most DVD players sold in the US or Canada [Region 1]. This item requires a region specific or multi-region DVD player and compatible TV. More about DVD formats)"

The movie is region 1 and plays just fine despite this warning.

As for the movie: Great movie. Weird and quirky. Funny and aware of itself. Takes multiple watchings to catch everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endlessly rewatchable(no spoilers), March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detention [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I loved this movie not only because it is an insane mix of comedy and carnage, but because of how many times you can watch it and find new things to love. It's one of those movies that after seeing once, every reviewing the jokes hit you on new levels. It does have a good amount of violence but it's so over the top that it's more humorous and gross than offensive. I've seen it at least four times and of course with the commentary and I just love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very different kinda movie., January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Part Scott Pilgrim, part horror movie, part teen drama comedy. Another one of those crazy hybrid movies that actually turns out to be a good one. It's kinda hard to explain but their is a serial killer running around and some sorta crazy time travel thing going on too at some point during the movie. Gets a little confusing but stick with it because its one of those fun movies you've never heard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scream meets Scott Pilgrim, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detention (DVD)
This is literally one of the most entertaining (not "greatest") films ever made. It blends the insane over the top humor rarely seen in movies and typically reserved for cartoons with the smart horror satire that is almost never seen being pulled off succesfully.

I highly recommend it to everyone in the 15-25 age range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Detention
Detention by Joseph Kahn (DVD - 2012)
$14.99 $3.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.