Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but censored
Rest assured this is some quality metal. Especially for fans of the previous two albums, the album should not disappoint (the music is mostly from season 3 and 4 of Metalocalypse), but BE WARNED BEFORE YOU PURCHASE IT - this is the censored version! That leaves a lot of awkward pauses in the songs, especially in I Ejaculate Fire, and that personally bothered me so I...
Published 18 months ago by Casey H.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sub par, but still better than most
Okay, I like dethklok, but, this album falls short. First off, the vocals are mixed down and hard to hear.
Second, they sound garbled (Yes I see the irony of criticizing death metal vocals for lack of clarity) in fact the whole album sounds too digital (Or to quote pickles the drummer "IT SOUNDS LIKE MICROCHIPS!!")
Third, the lyrics, while good, just aren't...
Published 15 months ago by WAYA


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but censored, October 17, 2012
Rest assured this is some quality metal. Especially for fans of the previous two albums, the album should not disappoint (the music is mostly from season 3 and 4 of Metalocalypse), but BE WARNED BEFORE YOU PURCHASE IT - this is the censored version! That leaves a lot of awkward pauses in the songs, especially in I Ejaculate Fire, and that personally bothered me so I opted for the explicit MP3 download instead. I would have liked the deluxe edition, and I don't have a clue why they would have censored this album and not the deluxe edition of the previous two, but the songs are still good enough that I don't mind sticking with the mp3 for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How does he keep doing it?, October 19, 2012
Brendon Small must have sold his soul to the devil. He keeps putting out album after album of great skill and taste. You'd think he would have run out of ideas after "Dethalbum II", AND his solo album, "Galaktikon."

Wrong.

Dethalbum III slays with face melting solos and fast double bass provided by the man, Gene Hoglan. Bryan Beller also graces us with his bass performance, which he hadn't had done previously except for Brendon's solo album, and for one song on the dethalbum II, "The Gears."

I will admit, the vocals are a tad different than the first two, but they sound great and brutal. People complained of the voice change from Dethalbum I to Dethalbum II, and if you got over that, this will be just fine.

There are many people reviewing this album, comparing it to the first one, complaining about how this album, "Doesn't have the humor that I was wanting, It's not as funny as the first one, wahhhhhh."

Really? You're complaining about an element that this album doesn't have that the first one had? Albums are supposed to progress as more come out, and this one was a progression of the second. The second was much more serious than the first. If anything, you should be whining about it on the reviews for the second album, not here.

In case you weren't aware of it by the last Dethalbum, Brendon has been trying to make more serious music than the first album. Sure, the first album was funnier, but it wasn't nearly as advanced as the Dethalbum II was. Get with the program, people. Brendon is trying to make serious music here, and it would be shameful to review it as a "Half ass, humor band". Take it like it is; "Melodic Death Metal" and review it from there.

Dethklok is fantastic, and I can't wait for another Album to come out, should Brendon grace us with another one.

(EDIT: Dethalbum III is now the highest charting Death Metal Album ever sold as of today. It overcame the Dethalbum II when it hit the NUMBER 10 spot on the billboard 200 charts. That, my friends, is pretty metal.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bone melting awesomeness, November 5, 2012
This review is from: Dethalbum III [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
This album was one of the best yet. I love it. It rocks my face off. I would recommend it to any metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sub par, but still better than most, January 14, 2013
Okay, I like dethklok, but, this album falls short. First off, the vocals are mixed down and hard to hear.
Second, they sound garbled (Yes I see the irony of criticizing death metal vocals for lack of clarity) in fact the whole album sounds too digital (Or to quote pickles the drummer "IT SOUNDS LIKE MICROCHIPS!!")
Third, the lyrics, while good, just aren't quite up to the standard set in the previous two albums.
It has its moments, but, Dethalbum 2 Remains my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dethklok raises the Brutality bar, October 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dethalbum III (Audio CD)
Great album. To be honest, it's not as memorable as the Dethalbum II was when I first heard it, but it's great nonetheless. Top 5 tracks are, in my opinion, "I Ejaculate Fire", "The Galaxy", "The Hammer", "Crush The Industry", and "Impeach God". Honorable mentions include "Skyhunter" and "Biological Warfare". The things about this record that aren't so great are that some things sound a bit repetitive and they don't feel as unique as the Dethalbum II did, and the comedy factor is much lower than before. But all in all the album is solid and easily their heaviest work to date, and it's still Dethklok, with their dark lyrics and brutal as ever, and anyone who is a fan and debating whether to buy the album should go ahead and get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even yet more brutal, March 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another evolution; this album is even heavier than the second, with much less show-based humor. This is Dethklok the band, as Brendon Small probably originally conceived it, come to fruition. "Starved" is one of the most dynamic, chunkiest, center-of-a-black-hole heavy metal grooves I have ever heard... and this is by a fictitious cartoon band? Brilliant. And "Impeach God" would sound right at home on an album from any big-name death metal band out there. He is a rare talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall great album!, September 15, 2013
I personally loved this album, Brendon Small is a death metal genius; He is clearly more guitar god than man and it is transposed into his music. I would love to know where he learned to play guitar, and who some of his greatest inspirations are. I would seriously consider buying this album is you love death metal music as much as I do, I am looking forward to what Brendon Small has coming for us next; I hope Skwisgaar, Toki, Murderface, Pickles, and Nathan can get along long enough to produce a Death Album four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best work yet, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is far and away their best album yet. It's so amazingly heavy and brutal. Worth every last penny. \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ehhhhhhhh......., December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dethalbum III [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I love this band, but this album feels like a flop. 1 was amazing, 2 was brilliant, 3 has "I ejaculate fire" and a few other songs that are filler until it loops back to the first song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dethalbum III, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dethalbum III [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
After one listen through, I can sum up the album in just a few words - Dethalbum III is ams brutals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3aec330)

This product

Dethalbum III [Explicit]
Dethalbum III [Explicit] by Metalocalypse: Dethklok
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.