Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fell in love with this book, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection - 130 recipes from around the world (Kindle Edition)
Fell in love with this book before I ever made it out of the table of contents. A family joke we USED to have went like this: "no cheese, no milk, no sugar, no wheat--no flavor." That couldn't be further from the truth in this book. Nice to see a collection of recipes that look and sound delicious while maintaining a detox diet. Anyone who's tried a diet that tasted like cardboard before will know what I mean! This book has quite a few recipes (130). I especially like the ease of navigation between the recipes and table of contents in the Kindle book. There is also a useful list of ingredients--and their health benefits--in the back of the book. Definitely a keeper for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty Treasure, June 28, 2012
This review is from: Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection - 130 recipes from around the world (Kindle Edition)
I was skeptical about how practical following a recipe on my rather small Kindle screen would be, but the author has kept the numbered directions simple so they usually fit on one screen. What's not to love about using fresh ingredients? - like pairing apple and celery in an easy soup. And the Cook's Tips are wonderful as well as amusing - like her admonition that pureeing avocado is "a bit violent". I also appreciate that most of the recipes are for 2, 4 or 6 servings - it's far easier to expand for a group than cut down. But the best thing is that the recipes are inspirational - something even the best cooks, and the people gathering at their tables, appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Book, June 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection - 130 recipes from around the world (Kindle Edition)
This thoughtful collection of books lays out a new way of approaching food and eating that is extremely healthy and will enable you to sustain weight loss. Love the claim that you don't need to count calories anymore because you are only using "super-food" ingredients.

The books in this wonderful series offer much more than just fantastic recipes. The sections on "Cook's Tips" throughout are especially helpful. There is also a great chapter on the nutritional properties of the author's recommended foods. Since I put hot chilies in almost everything, I was delighted to learn they have so many potential health benefits.

There is an enormous variety of recipes from all over the world. Ones I want to make right away are Mexican seafood soup, the many delicious -sounding dips and appetizers, Goan prawn curry, exciting fish dishes and salads, and scallops and roast squash. There is also an unusual section on spice mixes.

The only thing I would change about this book is the addition of a full photo of the author because she is a walking advertisement of the strategies she advocates. Elizabeth modestly describes herself as "well and healthy looking". This is true but in reality, she is also radiant, vibrant, slinky, and strikingly gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `Incorporate a "Super-Foods" mentality into your life.', June 9, 2013
By 
Elizabeth Arnott opens her splendid book of recipes with the following information: `Drink a cup of hot water with lemon juice first thing every morning. Include at least on of the following `super-super-foods' every day: beetroot, blueberries, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, fennel, garlic, grapes, honey, onions, spinach, tomatoes, watercress; have one portion of wholegrain rice, three portions each of vegetables, raw fruit, and salad, at least one portion of non-dairy cheese or yoghurt, and two portions of any of the following: fish, nuts, olive oil, pulses (legumes). In this way you are covered - with sufficient nutrients, vitamins and minerals to maintain your healthy, glowing body.' Now with a start like that, how can anyone not follow what completes this book?

Based on the advice just mentioned, Arnott fills this excellent recipe book with foods that honor these principles and makes the selection so varied and multiethnic in scope that even if the foods were labeled as healthy they would be impossible to pass by. This is a treasure chest of healthy cookery and the special thing (well, one of the many special things) about this book can be found in the Cook's Tips she leaves on every page.
If you care about the fountain of youth and your health, this book is a must Grady Harp, June 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Incorporate a 'Super Foods' mentality into your life", May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection - 130 recipes from around the world (Kindle Edition)
In "Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection," author Elizabeth Arnott proposes a regimen of eating so-called Super Foods and excluding foods such as wheat, dairy products, meat (but not seafood), and refined sugar, claiming health benefits such as permanent weight loss, increased energy, and elimination of toxins that have built up in the body due to poor eating habits. There's an old saying, "You are what you eat," and with the number of new diet plans being published the last few years, it's becoming more and more apparent that many of our physical ailments are caused by poor eating practices.

After making a case for her proposed regimen, the author presents recipes that she's acquired in her travels around the world, modifying them as needed to fit her criteria for healthy eating. Most ingredients should be available in larger supermarkets or specialty markets. Some recipes that may be more challenging include a special "Cook's tip" section for dealing with ingredients that many cooks may not be familiar with (example: Jerusalem artichokes). I wondered about the omission of nutrition information, but the author claims that by using only acceptable Super Foods, it's not necessary to count calories. (That sounds like when I was on Weight Watchers and chose the Core Plan, where points were not counted.)

The recipes are an interesting lot, with something for just about everyone. Changing completely to this kind of diet would be a sweeping change for most people, but the evidence is piling up in favor of eliminating or at least greatly reducing meat and dairy products in our diet, and no one but candy makers would argue a case for refined sugar.

Kudos to Elizabeth Arnott for showing the way to a healthier lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culinary Adventure, June 28, 2012
This review is from: Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection - 130 recipes from around the world (Kindle Edition)
I love this book! After doing Detox I have been looking for a way to continue my progress. This book gave me a way to look forward to mainteining that success without having to sacrifice flavor and variety in my diet. There are 130 recipes in this book and all of them that I have tried so far have been fantastic. They are written in a very concise manner which makes using these recipes very easy and enjoyable. There is also a wonderfully informative cooking tips section and guide to nutritious foods for cooking novices like myself. I have been preparing and savoring these recipes for over a week now and my entire family greatly enjoys these delicious and flavorful recipes as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like Cheese and Wine. I LOVE this Book., June 26, 2012
This review is from: Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection - 130 recipes from around the world (Kindle Edition)
I love a lot of the things that are not in this book, cheese, meat, wine etc. but my waistline tells me this is not the way. This book is pretty stunning; it has such a variety of, generally, easy to follow recipes which range from the familiar to the new. I am amazed at how food which is good can be. It has made be reflect on the whole "you are what you eat" business, I have been using this book for about 10 days now and I do feel different, I have more energy and a preference for meals more like these and less cheeseburger-y. It's the kind of book that can make a "detox" into a completely sustainable "norm". Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this detox recipe book!, June 26, 2012
By 
This review is from: Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection - 130 recipes from around the world (Kindle Edition)
I just bought this book and am really delighted with it. Interesting, varied and super recipes, most of which I'm really looking forward to trying. Also has a glossary at the end with all the nutrients, vitamins, etc. in each of the 50 "superfoods" listed which I really appreciate - I like to know what each food is going to do for my health :) A really super detox cookbook, I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top Recipe Book on Health Foods, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection - 130 recipes from around the world (Kindle Edition)
The Detox Maintenance Recipe Collection is packed with excellent recipes which are
much like the Mediterranean Diet. Each recipe is carefully set forth with specific
natural ingredients and portions.

The author recommends waking up to hot water and lemon juice to help clean out the
system. Specific superfoods are provided ; such as, onions, spinach, tomatoes, whole grain rice, yogurt, fish, herbs and nuts.

This writer's favorite is the breakfast consisting of chia, raisins, dried cranberries, almond milk, coconut oil and fresh fruit. In addition, the author
provides an excellent banana with red fruit made into a smoothie. The cleansing
citrus breakfast is another favorite. This breakfast consists of orange, grapefruit, lemon, honey and nutmeg.

The home-made Muesli is one of the best ones for nutrition and cost savings. The
recipe consists of partridge oats, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds,
dried apricots and almonds. In addition, there are many nutritious soups like
apple/celery, butter squash and lentil.

Overall, the book has excellent recipes which are directed to maintaining a high
level of health. Many of the preparations have classic superfoods like Chia, onions and many others. The book is highly recommended for health conscious consumers everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great diet recipe book, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Who says eating healthy has to be boring. This cook gives interesting recipes from around the world, which are easy and simple to follow. Best part you aren't hungry and you don't feel like you are missing out. Guests seem to love the tastes too..I can't say enough great things about this wonderful book. I have already given it as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.