Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deus Ex returns with added features and gameplay tweaks.
Deus Ex is back again to be as awesome as it was when it first came out in 2011. The graphics have been slightly tweaked, but everything looks about the same. The gameplay is still as immersive and fun, as ever. The new commentory and making of mode is a nice added feature. Makes it feel like a movie while you play. Overall this game has been given all of the DLC, all of...
Published 10 months ago by Ian

versus
2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not justifiable as a second purchase, and rather short-sighted
I had many reservations regarding the design of Deus Ex: Human Revolution when it first came out, as I detailed in my original review, but the game certainly did strike a chord and resonate with me as it is one of those immersive, meaningful experiences with a deeply political and believable story, perfectly-written and interesting characters, and a haunting, atmospheric...
Published 7 months ago by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deus Ex returns with added features and gameplay tweaks., November 14, 2013
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Deus Ex is back again to be as awesome as it was when it first came out in 2011. The graphics have been slightly tweaked, but everything looks about the same. The gameplay is still as immersive and fun, as ever. The new commentory and making of mode is a nice added feature. Makes it feel like a movie while you play. Overall this game has been given all of the DLC, all of the fixes you could want from the original, and then some to make this a complete package. What more can I say? It's Deus Ex. If you liked the haunting, vast futuristic world of a cyborg action game then this will feel right at home. If you find stealth-combat boring, or don't like dramas and investigative work this may not be your cup of tea. Recommend this game to someone who is in to this sort of thing.

5/5 for being even more awesome than the first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Revision of a Great Game, March 4, 2014
By 
Greg (DESTIN, FL, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I played the original when it was released and it remains one of my favorite games of the past five years. I had the same complaints about the boss fights though. They didn't feel the same as the rest of the game. You basically had to empty all the ammo and grenades you had in the hopes it would be enough to kill the boss. The rest of the game let you make choices on how you did things. The directors cut has addressed these problems and made a few other small changes along the way. You can now kill bosses by hacking and modifying turrets and bots. My character has no offensive capabilities other than guns and no defense additions such as armor. He's a hacker, not a fighter. I now have the ability to sneak around and kill the boss using means other than my guns. Also added to the game is a "master key" type of device that unlocks any hackable device instantly. They act as grenades, are used up when applied, and are thrown onto a device to unlock. One of the smaller changes they put in the game. Also the directors cut includes the DLC content, which is nice.

This is a definitive edition of the game. Players who have never played DX:HR should definitely play this version. Those who have played the original will enjoy this replay because of the differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best edition of one of the best games, August 22, 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
When Deus Ex: Human Revolution was launched a few years ago, it turned out one of the best games of the last few years. A prequel to the original Deus Ex, and truly deserving of the name, it hit all the right notes, and was a blast to play in consoles and in PC.

Deus Ex: HR had you play as Adam Jensen, an operative who's terribly injured in a terrorist attack and is reconstructed with augmentations, cybernetic implants that give him an edge compared to regular people, allowing him superhuman abilities for defense, offense and infiltration. The game, like the original, allowed you to play it as you saw fit: you could go for diplomacy, you could go the stealth way or you could just go gun-totting. You can even go the whole game without attacking anyone (except bosses). Whatever your preferred method of playing, you could use, thanks to the ability to mold the character to your liking. Every scenario had multiple paths and solutions you could tackle according to the way you liked to play, ensuring not two playthroughs would be the same unless you specifically seeked it.

But there was one major complaint: the boss battles. These felt tacked on, uninteresting and worse: they could only be completed by attacking the enemy, so if your character was a hacker you'd have serious problems defeating them. These were outsourced when created the game and it shows, they look like they belong to an entirely different game.

Later, they released a standalone DLC called The Missing Link, and it was great. This side story was smartly located in the middle of the main plot, where it fit perfectly and it was more of the same great gameplay, but the only boss battle could finally be tackled however you wanted.

Come last year, when the Director's Cut edition of this game was released. Like several GOTY editions, it includes all DLC, and if it was only that we'd be thankful. Instead, they decided to go the extra mile. First, they tweaked the graphics a bit, so they look better. Nothing fancy, but the results show some improving, with better textures and such. Second, they included The Missing Link as part of the main story, in a chronollogically correct way, which makes the game feel more complete than if they just had added it as an option in the main menu.

Third, they added a New Game+ mode, which, of course, is phenomenal for people who want to try a different style of play but want to have a safe plan to fall back on. Taking cues from special edition movie DVDs, there's also a commentary mode and a documentary. But the best part of them all is the reworked boss battles. Now if your character is specialized in hacking instead of combat you have new areas to access in order to find different ways to kill the bosses. Sadly, they still have to be killed, since that's how the story goes and they have pre-rendered cutscenes to work with. Fortunately, though, the combat can be now left to turrets and robots instead of you.

If you've only played the original game sans DLC, besides The Missing Link there's an extra mission to rescue Tong's son, a couple of new guns, a new explosive grenade and an automatic hacking device (for use when your hacking skills are not good enough yet or you're going for a combat build). The game was already pretty long (specially if you check every corner and look for every side-mission), but with the extra missions is several hours longer.

Now, there are a couple of minor problems. For one, they haven't fixed the civilian AI, which means that if you attack someone in their vicinity they all still stay there crouching in terror instead of running away. That was annoying already in the original game and it's still annoying now, but you're rarely going to run into that situation anyway. Then, there are a couple of bugs that, while not game-breaking might look like they are at first glance. First, if you use too many shortcuts and reach some place too fast you might run into a place where there was supposed to be NPCs and they're missing. They will show up a few seconds later (due to slow loading), but impatient players might believe they're gone and go away without looking back.

Second, sometimes, when you knock someone down with a non-lethal attack, they might still show up as dead on the floor. That's just the game loading the wrong icon (a skull instead of a "Zzz"), but the enemy is not really dead. I had that problem show up for me a couple of times but I still managed to finish the game and acquire the "Pacifist" trophy (i.e.: no one dies by your hand).

Still, those are minor easy-to-ignore problems, specially when you realize they're actually harmless. This is still the best version of the game, and this is still one of the best games out there. If you haven't played the game before, this is the version to get. If you have played it, this is still a recommended purchase for all the extras.

Small thing to add: if you're a trophy/achievement hunter, this game's trophy/achievement list is separate from the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites games but i found some issues in the ps3 version, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Deus Ex Human Revolution is one of my favorites games of the past generation, the director's cut is incorporates some new gameplay features like the new game + and the boss fights offer new posibilities like finding hiddent pats, turrets etc.

However if you have a Xbox 360 i would recomend to buy that version, i got the Deus Ex Human Revolution for Xbox 360 and the sound effects and lights/shadows are better in that version even that the description says that Deus Ex HR DC has better textures a find them better in the original version on the 360.

This issue only apllies to those that play the 360 version, if you only have play the ps3 version you shouldn't worry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huge upgrade, July 11, 2014
By 
hammodi (United States. Massachusetts. Worcester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game is a huge upgrade. for trophy guys. this has its own trophies. separate from the other game. combat is refined. graphics are somewhat refined. upgrades are easier to make. not do the whole game and have 2-3 upgrades. way more accessible. easier to do stealth. and overall. its a better game. This game was in no way my favorite game. but i bought this because i had so much trouble with the first that took the fun out of the playing. the first version keeps freezing all the time before i can get in the game. this one works well. worth buying for this price. also. has the expansion and an extra mission.

UPDATE
finished the game just now. Boss fights are somewhat made better. not by much but still better. the whole game is slightly enhanced. its easier to upgrade your augs now. fun game. also fairly lengthy. its not some 5 hour game. it took me about 24-28 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game alot and basically its really fun I ..., July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I love this game alot and basically its really fun I love the entire series to so I'm a really big fan of this Deus Ex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There wasn't much noticeable difference, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Granted I don't have the PSP to use the second screen function but while I adored this game the first time I bought it, the "enhancements" aren't worthy of buying it a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, March 28, 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game is great especially since now they added new things to the game. Boss fights are easier to defeat and I love how they added the dlc straight to the game. I would recommend this game to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game but you already knew that, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
If you are reading this review not having played this game. BUY THIS FREAKIN GAME!!! Seriously, it is one of the best games that has ever been made and its weird that no one clamors on about it more even after its been out for so long. Game play is incredibly stream lined, easy, and addicting. The story line is also one of the best I've ever played. The directors cut has 1 scene extra that the original doesn't have and its an awesome augment to the story line and game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very thrilling, July 22, 2014
This review is from: Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Its a nice FPS, good story line and nice content, its got an ok weapon selection but the adventure, storyline and game play stacked on top of that make this game a must play, good graphics with awesome features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deus Ex Human Revolution: Director's Cut - Playstation 3
$19.99 $15.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.