Customer Reviews

171
4.0 out of 5 stars
Deus Ex: Human Revolution - PC
Platform for Display: PCEdition: StandardChange
Price:$10.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

90 of 100 people found the following review helpful
on August 23, 2011
Platform for Display: PCEdition: Standard
Like a lot of people, I was skeptical when I heard about a new Deus Ex game. The last game, Invisible War, wasn't very good, to say the least. Plus, this new game was made by an all new development team, just formed. Did they have what it took to make a great Deus Ex game? It turns out they did.

Deus Ex is about choice, and Human Revolution hits that out of the park. Do you want to sneak past your enemies with a cloaking augmentation after watching your enemies move routes through walls with the eye aug, or do you want to sneak around and pick off each enemy with tranquilizer darts, hiding each body from view like a silent predator? Do you want to augment yourself to be Cyberpunk Rambo? You can. Grab a machine gun and utilize your defense aug, making your skin hardened against bullets. Do you want to be a weird Hulkified dude who's obsessed with throwing fridges and dumpsters at your enemies? Put some points into strength augs. Want to be a hacker and use hostile security terminals, turrets, and robots against your enemy? Done. Like to talk your way out of situations? Invest in the cerebral aug that lets you better read people's expressions, helping you find each conversation's weak points.

There is so much choice in this game, and there are so many paths in each level to take, that I think Human Revolution rivals or even surpasses Deus Ex. It's that good. The levels are huge - especially the city hubs where you can talk to various NPCs and get a bunch of sidequests.

The gunplay feels nice, the stealth is good (with nice little touches like patrols that turn around and walk backwards for a few moments). The hacking minigame is actually fun and involved, unlike most minigames. It also evolves as the game progresses, becoming more difficult and varied, with more ways to hack as well.

It does have a few downsides, though. First, while it has an amazing art direction, the graphics aren't too great. Plus there's some graphical glitches and bugs. But those are pretty small complaints. The good things about this game absolutely dwarf the bad.

Everyone should buy and support this game. We need more like it. I don't want to wait another 10 years for a new great Deus Ex game.
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2011
Platform for Display: PCEdition: Standard
Deus-Ex Human Revolution is a brilliant game. While it borrows minor elements from recent titles such as the metal gear series, there is nothing here that feels like it is an outright rip-off; the biggest influences are from the original game. DE:HR sticks to time-tested role-playing and story-telling mechanics but delivers an experience that feels fresh. As a result, the game feels unique among the increasingly competitive single player role-playing landscape.

STORY AND SETTING
I've spent about 29 hours with the game, and yet I honestly don't think I'm near the end. I'm probably through the half-way point and it feels like there is a third or a quarter left to go. Through it all, the story is consistently brilliant and will hook you in from the opening chapter. Decisions carry weight, and can take you into widely branching paths.

If you are fond of delving deep into the `lore' of the world like I am, then you will be busy indeed as there is plenty to read. There are detailed articles about numerous topics ranging from politics & economics to the environment & technology. All of these well-written pieces flesh out a game world that feels very much plausible. I won't be giving away specific details about the plot, but there are several twists and turns throughout.

GAMEPLAY
Choices. That's all you need to know. The game offers numerous ways to approach a given situation and each approach feels consistently rewarding. Want to jump down from a five story building and unleash a deadly hail of miniature explosives? Go ahead. Want to avoid a fight altogether and sneak around the group? That's certainly viable. Want to sneak, but still take down enemies 1 or 2 at a time? You can do that too

However, the effectiveness of each approach depends on how you progress your character. In the early levels, spend some time thinking about the style of gameplay that you prefer and then allocate the valuable praxis points used to upgrade/unlock your augmentations accordingly (a linear progression of 5000 XP nets you a new praxis point).

In my opinion, the stealth approach is the best way to experience the game. Sneaking is tense yet fun and involves a mix of exploration and hacking. Nothing quite as fun as hacking into a robot and watching it take down another robot. I'm proud to report a 0 body count (not counting a couple of bosses, where killing them is the only way through).

The hacking mini-game is fun but may be a little too frequent in certain areas. When compared to the rubbish mini-games in the likes mass effect and Dead Space 2, this is the best of the bunch as it requires actual strategy and not just a twitch-based response.

GRAPHICS AND DESIGN PHILOSOPHY
The art direction in Deus Ex is refreshing and unique. The design team has crafted a world with a very unique and clear visual identity. Environments do not feel recycled unlike some recent RPGs. A two-tiered city in China has a distinctly Chinese vibe, while Detroit has a proper mix of industry and futurism. The hubs aren't gargantuan, but they are big enough that exploring them feels rewarding. This is largely because the levels aren't linear. There are hidden rooms and a great sense of verticality (esp. in China).

However, the graphics feel like they are a generation behind. There are some nice DX 11 effects peppered here and there, but the game doesn't look like a solid DX 11 game ought to. The character models (esp the faces) can look awfully rigid and blocky. Combined with awkward animations and some shoddy texture-work, the visuals are the biggest drawback to an otherwise stellar experience. Also, the same fleur des lis motif is a little too prevalent. In all fairness though, the gameplay and story is so good that you really won't care about the game's looks.

SOUND DESIGN
The sound effects are well done. Guns sound and feel right. The music is perfectly in tune with the setting. The voice acting is largely A-grade. The lead actor, in particular, stands out as he nails Adam Jensen's lone-wolfish persona.

OTHER THOUGHTS
After a decade+ absence, Deus Ex is back in a big way (pretend the second one never happened). I didn't think this game was ever going to come out. Given that the first teaser appeared in 2007, and then everything went dark until 2010, this was a common feeling shared by many. I am glad that I was wrong. Moreover, I have a newfound respect for the team at Eidos Montreal who have resurrected this franchise. I am very excited to see what they do with Thief 4 and will be lining up for pre-orders when the time comes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on March 25, 2012
Platform for Display: PCEdition: StandardVerified Purchase
The trailers made this game seem amazing, but I found it much slower and less epic-feeling than the original. Besides the boss fights which suck, the gameplay is pretty solid but feels biased towards stealth, almost like Metal Gear Solid at times. What killed the greatness for me was the storytelling. I liked nuggets of it like Adam's character, the whole human augmentation controversy, and the futuristic world that shows the good and bad sides of progress, but most of the story was very dry. Adam wasn't utilized enough to emotionally invest the player in him, and he seemed less idealistic than JC. The world the game created was grandiose, but the environments were all quite small and detach the player from the epic scenes (contrast with the Halo games, which excel at making you feel like you are running around on/in/next to something epic and larger than life). When I see cool things in cut scenes that, in the game, are clearly poorly made static images it sucks the magic out of the world. Lastly, I hoping for some ending selection that depended on anything in the game, not a single choice at the end. The endings were cool, but I was left with no desire to replay it. It is simply too tedious to make the good parts worth it.

For how cheap it is, I'd say it's worth getting, but don't expect too much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon August 26, 2011
Platform for Display: PCEdition: Standard
I played the original Deus Ex over 10 years ago and I loved it. I never really got into Invisible War for all the same reasons that many other people disliked it, but I've been looking forward to Human Revolution for a while now and so far, it has definitely lived up to my expectations!

Initially, the PC version of the game was plagued with a long loading time bug, but it's now fixed! Just make sure you let Steam update the game to the latest version.

WRITING/STORY:
If you like gritty, cyber-punk, dystopic, sci-fi settings, you'll like Deus Ex HR. The main plot feels like a proper science-fiction story that brings up classic sci-fi themes like what it means to be human, and the ethics behind engineering our bodies.

During crucial conversations, the game will provide you with a few options for how to approach a conversation, similar to Mass Effect. Depending on who you're talking to, you might have options such as Placate, Plead, Aggressive, Distant, Empathize, Sympathize, etc. The dialogue is excellent and pretty nuanced to fit your choices.

NPC dialogue is varied and relevant, and scattered across the game are newspapers and eBooks that you can read to learn more about the world around you. It all helps to create a really cool and believable futuristic setting.

GRAPHICS:
I'm running the game on my i5 2500K, 8GB RAM, SSD RAID 0, Radeon 5770 system. The graphics look amazing and the game runs pretty smooothly. This dystopic future looks satisfyingly dark, gritty, and oppressed.

SOUND:
The world and your HUD are filled with little bleeps and bloops and the subtle mood music is really great. As you go through levels, you'll often come across enemies having a conversation, revealing a bit of crucial information or dropping hints on how you might approach the area. The audio effects like muffled voices and audio positioning are surprisingly convincing, even though I'm just using two speakers.

GAMEPLAY:
I always play a stealthy character and the game provides plenty of ways to reach objectives. You can crawl through air ducts, hack turrets and robots, go in guns-a-blazin, snipe, lay traps, do non-lethal take-downs or just stack a bunch of crates until you reach what you want.

The augmentation upgrade tree has skills for every type of gameplay. My only gripe with this is that you get so many Praxis (Upgrade) points that you don't really need to worry about focusing on specific skills.

The cities aren't huge, but they're big enough to get lost in. My biggest complaint about the game is that the cities don't feel like cities. Streets, back alleys, and crawl spaces all blend together into an indistinct maze of passage ways, and I never actually get a sense that I'm outside. Instead, when you're outside on the streets, you feel more like you're in a giant warehouse with obstacles everywhere. I guess the best way to describe it is that the streets feel more like a tightly constructed video game level than an open city like in a sandbox game.

The game rewards you for using stealth by giving you extra experience bonuses for quiet, non-lethal takedowns. Sharpshooters and hackers also get plenty of bonuses. Basically, if you play this game with any sort of finesse, you'll be rewarded.

Boss battles can be a little annoying if you're playing a stealthy character. You don't really have any choice except to shoot, run, and throw grenades (hint hint). I was actually surprised when I started my first boss battle, because it felt like such an outdated video game concept in a game that otherwise feels so modern and smart. The boss battle areas usually have heavy weapons strewn around so stealthy players won't be left completely outgunned.

One final thing that I should note is that this game has zero almost replay value for me, but I tend not to replay most RPGs, so it's not a big deal for me. However, people who like to do multiple play-throughs should know that there really isn't much variation at all. The game is very story driven, which means that you get a fairly linear story line. Your decisions may change the options that are available later in the game, but nothing that really alters how the events play out.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on August 24, 2011
Platform for Display: PCEdition: StandardVerified Purchase
I am very harsh when companies put out sequels to some of the greatest games ever made and Deus Ex was one of those. Deus Ex Invisible War for example was complete trash compared to the original so when I first heard about this "prequel" I was very concerned that they were further trashing the series (especially considering it was going to be a port from consoles). I am happy to report that this game is at least as good (so far) as the original, which is really saying something. While the controls take some getting used to (stealth handles more like it would on a console), where you "hug" to walls and the controls are a bit awkward until you learn them.

The good:
Gameplay (fun factor) is top notch. I got 1 hour of sleep before work today.

Graphics (imho) are excellent for their cyber punkish style.

Music is great and very fitting to the situations.

Stealth system actually works quite well.

Aug system is very well done with nothing being useless.

Story line and quests are just right to keep you going but not enough to bog you down.

Actual multiple ways to play and enjoy (many games advertise this but few ever achieve it)

To be honest I can find very few faults with the game but here is the bad:

Need steam and online connection (already mentioned but I had no problems. After install off of disk, it did a short update and I was ready to play.)

Controls take some getting used to. Has a slightly console-ish feel but not enough to ruin the game like other ports these days. (ie. not dumbed down for console).

No quick save or quick load.

Loading saved games takes FOREVER in today's standards (mine takes about 60sec per load which is a lot when you're playing stealth and trying not to be spotted).

The last bad: It will steal your many hours from your life (if you have one lol)
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2013
Platform for Display: PCEdition: StandardVerified Purchase
I loved the freedom you were given in this game. Letting me solve issues my way (non lethal takedown for example). There were a lot of moments, where I just have to stop and marvel at how well the game was put together, like there was a computer I wanted to hack, I could see it through a window, and I thought to myself, I wonder if I can throw this dumpster through the window to get in there and the game let me :). Would have preferred they toned down some of the language, but all things considered a really great game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 29, 2011
Platform for Display: PCEdition: Standard
Detroit, 2027. The human race is changing, with nanotech research and cybernetics technology making 'augmented' humans stronger, faster and smarter than their 'normal' forebears. Numerous groups are opposed to augmentation on ethical and religious grounds. Adam Jensen, chief of security at Sarif Industries, one of the leaders in augmentation research, is severely wounded when terrorists attack and destroy one of Sarif's labs. Saved by augmentation, Adam must investigate the attack, discover the motives of those seeking to destroy Sarif Industries and, ultimately, decided which side of the argument is the 'right' one.

Human Revolution is the third game in the Deus Ex franchise, serving as a prequel to the events of the original Deus Ex and its lacklustre sequel, Invisible War. Set twenty-five years before the first game, Human Revolution helps show how that world of nanotech and enhanced humans came into existence. As a prequel, Human Revolution requires no existing knowledge of the earlier games and makes an ideal jumping-on point for new players.

Contrary to screenshots which suggest that it's a FPS, Human Revolution is a science fiction roleplaying game played from a first-person perspective. The game is built around the idea that though there is a central narrative the player must follow (this isn't an open-world SF RPG like Fallout 3), the player has tremendous freedom in how he or she follows that narrative. The game has a robust combat system which will satisfy those who like shooting things, but it also has a solid stealth mechanic for those who prefer sneaking around in the shadows (or, more often, inexplicably large air ducts). The game also has a hacking system so players can also hack into computer networks and turn automatic defences against enemy forces. Even within a particular play style, there is flexibility, with the ability to stun or knock out opponents rather than killing them being a particularly welcome feature (and the game has achievements for those who complete the game without killing anyone). Most players will probably mix and match styles as the mood takes them, or depending on the mission.

Deus Ex was infamous for its tremendous flexibility and freedom, adapting its storyline to cater for the player deciding to kill off major NPCs on a whim and letting them simply escape from tough bosses rather than being forced into difficult battles (especially if they were not built for combat). Human Revolution isn't quite as liberal in its approach to gameplay, most notably due to the four tough and unavoidable boss fights which have been commonly and frequently criticised. In a game which enjoys giving you different options in almost every circumstance, being forced into situations where you have to break out the heavy artillery is annoying, especially if you've been upgrading your character for say stealth or hacking and are not optimised for combat.

However, this is the only major criticism I can level at the game. In almost every other arena, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a triumph. The game has a fantastic atmosphere and sense of place, backed up by an absolutely superb soundtrack and carried through some top-notch writing. Deus Ex is one of the most critically-acclaimed games of all time, and there were doubts that Human Revolution could live up to that precedent. These doubts have been laid to rest. The game is more than worthy of its illustrious heritage, and deserves plaudits for its clever design. It employs regenerating health and a cover system, two features of modern FPS games which are often groan-inducing and tiresome (is there a company somewhere that specialises in building chest-high walls and inexplicably littering them over levels?), but Human Revolution takes ownership of them. The regenerating health is justified as a force-shield, whilst the cover system (well-implemented as these things go) does double time as a tactical combat mechanic, allowing your character to move around whilst suppressed, rolling from cover to cover, firing blindly and finding sniper vantage points. Actually, the cover system pulls triple duty as a stealth mechanic in non-combat situations as well.

The game has a lot to say about the rights and wrongs of cybernetics, augmentation and the power of corporations and governments, but tries not to get preachy. As the game progresses, your character can develop his own opinion on matters, informed by the events he's experienced and the choices he's made, and the multiple endings (there are four radically different resolutions, each with three different endings based on your character's actions earlier in the game, meaning a total of twelve possible outcomes) can see him reaching very different conclusions. Whilst you can't create your own character, you can certainly develop him in more depth than in most CRPGs. This is helped by an excellent 'dramatic conversation' mechanic where you must argue with a major NPC over an important topic, trying to convince them to help you or surrender without the need for violence. Major plot revelations crop up in these conversations. However, it's odd that there aren't more of these (there's only three or four in the game), as in their own way they are more critical to the game than the tedious boss fights.

The game's central storyline is gripping, tightly-written and populated with memorable, well-acted and flawed characters. However, the game has two large hub areas (in Detroit and Heng Sha) where you can wander off from the main story for a while and pursue some side-quests. A couple of these side-quests are extensive, taking a couple of hours apiece to complete, and are a great opportunity to gain additional XP and increase your character's skills and augments. These hub areas are rich in incidental detail and flavour (overhearing citizens discussing the news stories of the day, being offered food from stall-owners etc), but arguably there's little to do in them outside of the (relatively few, for the size of these areas) quests and buying some equipment and weapons from a few vendors. A bit more going on in each zone would have expanded the play-time (which at 25 hours is reasonable but not particularly notable for an RPG) and made the game a little richer. Also, the game rarely strays far from the traditional FPS paradigm of having most of its actions set indoors in successions of corridors and offices. A little more variety in locations (perhaps more outdoor opportunities for stealth or combat) would have been nice.

These kind of complaints are very minor. In a world of increasingly bland and 'safe' first-person shooters, Deus Ex: Human Revolution (****½) stands out with its strong writing, well-defined characterisation and its refreshingly open approach to freedom and choice, whilst having compelling action sequences as well. It's one of the strongest RPGs, and indeed games overall, of the last couple of years and is well worth a look.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2012
Platform for Display: PCEdition: Standard
I was really enjoying this game when about 1/4 of the way in I got blind-sided by a fight I could not win. I tried about 20-30 times and could not even come close to defeating a certain boss character. So, the game went from fantastic to...back on my shelf...for now.

One of my favorite aspects of the Deus Ex games is how you are allowed to play in the style you want. You can be a bruising melee fighter, a stealthy sniper, a geek hacker, and various other permutations of those. I prefer stealth and hacking (and was actually trying to make it through the game without killing anyone), so when I got to the aforementioned fight, I was shocked that there was no stealth or hacking option to win. Unless there is something I am missing, you have to battle this "tank" with high damage fighting. All of the skills I had chosen for my character were useless against this particular enemy. So much for allowing different player styles.

So all of the time I spent building up my stealth/hacker appears to be wasted and it is back to square one if I am to develop a character who can make it past this one fight. Before this happened I was feeling like this was a great game. I was able to sneak and hack and subdue enemies without resorting to killing. This made it challenging but fun for me. I feel that the game creators should not have inserted this roadblock, as it really forces the player into one style of play...which is totally against what makes the Deus Ex games cool and different.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2014
Platform for Display: PCEdition: StandardVerified Purchase
Good long singleplayer. Outdated graphics and the combat is slightly below average. I give it 5 stars though because it was an extremely addicting story and took 25 hours to complete. I also love the option to try to persuade people based on their personality.

Also despite the graphics being a bit dated, this thing unreasonably pushed the limits of my system (core2quad 2.4ghz, gtx 460 768mb). Bad port? Anyway, despite what seems like big criticisms I highly recommend trying the game. Also, it was $10 cheaper to order it with free 2 day shipping than download it.

The story feels like it could potentially be a real issue humans would have to deal with in hundreds or thousands of years. and the ending gives you 4 very fair decisions you could make on behalf of humanity. Also the game really keeps you wondering who you can trust.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2015
Platform for Display: PCEdition: StandardVerified Purchase
Great game... you can watch a movie for a few hours and be entertained, or star in a movie and be intertained for days. Yes, I said intertained! As the main character of the "sci-fi movie" (game! I know), you decide your actions through the story and switch between first person scenes, third person and movie clips... you will not be bored! The action adventure story has good graphics and I have not encountered any "glitches". I have a decent gaming computer, and am able to run this game at full resolution and notice no frame rate issues. Played it from start to finish twice now, because the paths you take and upgrades you make to your engineered body are not always the same. Recommended to those mature enough to handle a FPS game, with adult language... I did not think the gore factor was very strong (compared to other FPSs).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Dishonored - PC
Dishonored - PC by Bethesda Softworks (Windows 7 / Vista)
$7.99

Deus Ex - PC
Deus Ex - PC by Eidos (Windows 95 / 98 / Me)
$34.95
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.