Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - The Missing Link DLC [Online Game Code]
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 25, 2011
This is just a complete little 5 hour package with a masterful dramatic drive that makes it all feel longer than it really is. In a good way. It has mysterious allies, some twists, and a heavily augmented super-soldier boss everyone keeps talking about on the ship.

I kept thinking about how seamlessly this mission would have fit the main game; the logs, e-books, conversations all make perfect sense (duh!) in terms of the big picture, and I think Eidos should have included it between the Hengsha and Singapore stages. The main game could sure have used the 5 extra hours.

There are unexpected little graphical touches that suggest some internal engine update, including the most spectacular depiction of a raging sea I've seen in a 3D game yet. There are more moving parts on the levels too: I recall seeing suspended cargo in a rocking net, and some canvas wrapping being blown by the wind. So everything feels less static than in all those office rooms of the main game.

On the bad side, this expansion is very short. Yet it does a great job making itself feel epic as it slowly builds up the tension to the final fight.
BUT then the final boss fight doesn't feel like a boss fight but like one of the many tougher generic fights from the main game. You'll see what I mean. Advice: bring at least one EMP grenade for the robot.

To sum up, Missing Link is an enjoyable boat ride, but there's the nagging feeling that it should have shipped with the main game in the first place. It's more of the same, plus some tiny graphical updates. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is ripe with DLC possibilities: what about Adam's life as a Detroit cop? His scandalous final mission at the DMPD? Or his first few weeks on Sarif's security team? I have high hopes for Eidos regarding future DLC's or even a full-length expansion pack. Give me Deus Ex, guys. I hope Missing Link was only a teaser yet.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
Great DLC for one of the best stealth games of this generation. Taking place during an interlude section that was taken out of the final game this has you play as a de-augged Adam. You will be out-witting your enemies with timing and actual old school duct/shadow hiding stealth. Timing is everything here as the level keeps you constantly on your toes and has you be hyper aware much more so than the original game.

Awesome art direction and some of the best ocean simulation as seen in Killzone 3, UC3, and BF4 this captivates the feel of the world really well and compliments the mental state Adam goes through while in the trouble he is facing.

Characters have their own agenda and while not quite as well developed as in the main release, they are not paper thin either. Expect some hard choices and convoluted conversations.

There is a lot to do here and I recommend that you take your time and breathe it all in!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2012
Positives: This extra piece of Human Revolution adds a very interesting layer to the story and fixes some problems from the main game. The element of choice is much more prevalent in this episode, and towards the end, you are forced to make a very uncomfortable choice. The last boss fight is an example of how the bosses should have played out in the main game. The way I interpreted it, the end of Missing Link teases you with hints that more Deus ex might be in the future.

Negatives: Because this episode is self-contained, it does not fix any of the content and story-related problems found in the main game, and therefore, it does not allow the good elements of Missing Link to transfer over into the main game. Because the whole mission is carried out in enemy territory, you won't be able to find any deep conversations or long side-quests to get into. Technically, there are no substantial improvements or fixes in enemy AI or graphical glitches.

Missing Link is non-essential to the main game, but it provides the satisfying experience you would want out of a Deus ex game.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
This was a nice change from the base game, in that the boss fight let you use your character how you built him, instead of forcing you into a one-on-one fight with a bullet proof cyborg.
Unfortunately, it's not integrated into the game. The events are supposed to occur during a transition in Human Revolution, but you have to load The Missing Link separately. Which is a shame to me.
At least it gives you a decent opportunity to try out a different character for a short run.
Otherwise, this was a solid Deus Ex mission, with the usual plenty of options. Good fun. Good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
Less than an hour into the game and the game crashes on a regular basis. Very disappointed. I played Human Revolution the main game to completion without any crashes. This code must be corrupted. Not worth the $15. Running Win 7. No issue with download. However, Steam also loaded a couple other support files that may have caused the problem. I'm not sure at this time who is supporting the product.

After trying over several times the game seems to have settled down although not sure why. Nice part is you can die start from a auto saved point.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2011
It's self contained and even launches from it's own exe. The story however bridges the gap from DHR when you were in the stasis pod. However the story is kind of filler and not needed. Having said that it's a good 4 hours and let's you rebuild your character and try powers you may not have tried in the main game. In the end its more of the same, but I loved the original game so more of the same was enough for me.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
Nice little mission-pack to add to your Deus Ex: Human Revolution experience. If you are expecting an expansion pack, you'll likely be disappointed. If you're expecting DLC, you'll be pleasantly surprised at the quantity of additional game content and story.

The story of the mission pack has a couple of nice twists to it that I found highly enjoyable. Definitely recommended for Deus Ex fans looking for a little extra content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
Deus Ex is great game.

but if you have Deus Ex HR Directors Cut, just dont buy it. because it already included on Directors Cut.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
didn't offer anything compelling after completing main game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
So you beat Deus Ex and you were amazed at how well the game was, and you want a little bit more. This DLC answers your call, and it does the job well. This DLC lasts easily about 4-6 hours depending on what difficulty you play it on, and it feels just like how a DLC should feel like. If you're wondering what the setting of this game is, its when Adam goes into a pod in a ship in China. The DLC starts right then and there, showing you what happened while he was in the pod. Easily worth the money
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.