Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Indispensable Guide
Developing with Web Standards is a lucid and comprehensive guide to building efficient websites now and in the future. It's a terrific reference for experienced coders (as well as being full of tips and techniques they may not know) and the perfect manual for those just getting started. And when I say "manual," I don't mean a dry textbook -- this book is a pleasure to...
Published on December 4, 2009 by Cliff Garber

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Theory, Not So Good for Reference
The book is focused towards people who already understand the underlying principals of web development, so it won't be much use to your aunt who is trying learn how to build that knitting website, or your typical Dreamweaver user. It also won't be the quick reference for developers who need a quick reminder of the detail that is eluding them, and forgot how to use...
Published on January 15, 2011 by Webuquerque


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Indispensable Guide, December 4, 2009
This review is from: Developing with Web Standards (Paperback)
Developing with Web Standards is a lucid and comprehensive guide to building efficient websites now and in the future. It's a terrific reference for experienced coders (as well as being full of tips and techniques they may not know) and the perfect manual for those just getting started. And when I say "manual," I don't mean a dry textbook -- this book is a pleasure to read, from one of the true masters (who also developed a first-rate application for coding CSS). If you are involved in web development, you really should have this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Theory, Not So Good for Reference, January 15, 2011
By 
Webuquerque (Albuquerque, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Developing with Web Standards (Paperback)
The book is focused towards people who already understand the underlying principals of web development, so it won't be much use to your aunt who is trying learn how to build that knitting website, or your typical Dreamweaver user. It also won't be the quick reference for developers who need a quick reminder of the detail that is eluding them, and forgot how to use Google.

The first section touches on the roots of standards in web development. This section has the most meat on it and, out of the three hundred ninety pages of the book, it envelopes almost half of them. The section nicely points out the proverbial stone tablets where the standards are written, and includes a great argument as to why anyone should even care about the standards we are learning. If you are just going to buy this book to add it to your impressive library, at least read this section of the book.

The first section also dives into some basic CSS, as well as HTML syntax and techniques that are great refreshers. The chapter on web accessibility is very well detailed and has great explanations as to why it is important to keep accessibility in mind when developing.

Section two drives home the final portions of section one by showing some use cases of cross browsers CSS layouts. And section three is focused on newer technologies like CSS3, embedding media and @font-face.

One of my main irritants is that this book suggests that if there are any questions about the content, one should go to their website to get involved in "the community" of web standards. With that statement I was expecting a forum or something where the book could be discussed. Instead, there are the links he used to reference in his book.

Also I was hoping to see some sort of errata for the flaws that made it into the book. There are a few irregularities that are very basic and should have been corrected before the book went into print. I get that mistakes happen, but once you see those flaws, it makes it difficult to take the book as a solid reference.

---------------

A Webuquerque community member review by Markie Casias
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Invaluable Guidebook To Standards Based Web Development, January 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Developing with Web Standards (Paperback)
Allsopp's book is a bird's eye view of where standards-based web development is at today and where it's likely to go in the near future. He touches on all the important topics with the discerning eye of a master practitioner. There is no fluff in this book.
Highly recommended.
In the day in and day out work of web development - where you get lost in a succession of small problems - it's easy to lose track of the big picture.
John Allsopp gives you the big picture with just enough detail so that you can go and research what it is he's talking about on your own.
This is one of those books you need on your shelf. You'll find yourself referring to it for general guidance over and over again.
And no matter how much you know, I guarantee you'll find out something very, very basic that, for some reason, you just never thought about much and find out you didn't have it quite right.
Developing With Web Standards is here to set you straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars standards are here to stay - hooray, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Developing with Web Standards (Paperback)
Designing with Web Standards and Developing with Web Standards immediately replaced almost all of the books of comparable subject material on my book shelf. These books are succinct and cover their respective materials excellently. Other books may shed more light on such specifics as CSS, html markup, design & layout, and typography on the web, but these two books set forth the direction the web is going in and give us overview of how to refocus precisely on that journey now as web developers and designers. Those who learn and follow these practices will create websites that work well on all platforms and browsers from the past, present and well into the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Novice, October 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Developing with Web Standards (Paperback)
This is a great book for people who are new to web development but eager to learn in a fast way. The book has a solid logical writing style and will be very easy for readers to understand the structure of the content. The book covers traditional topics regarding the history of the web standards and it also brings up many new topics such as HTML 5 and CSS 3. Some other books that give instructions are well written too, but I found them with too much information wrapped up and they could overload readers. I recommend this book to new as well as expert-level web developers to use the book as either a guide or a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I would consider this shipper again if the need arises., November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Developing with Web Standards (Paperback)
Excellent condition, new just as promised, the book arrived in just a matter of days from the day it shipped. Excellent service. I would rate a 5 star but my system wont allow it to submit with that. Guess there must always be room for improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic & clearly written, March 29, 2012
This review is from: Developing with Web Standards (Paperback)
As a casual student of web development, this book was incredibly helpful, both as a refresher on things I already knew and to introduce new concepts. It's nice to be assured I'm on the right path. The content was broad but not shallow.

His chapter on accessibility (and really, the entire Part I) nicely explained the human element of web design, which I've been trying to put into words for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Should be required reading for all web developers, August 23, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Developing with Web Standards (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. Anyone in web development should read this book. It would fix many of the problems that make it so difficult to work with software. I am a frontend developer and I am constantly running into instances where I have to hack around poorly written code. If the other developers I work with would read this book, it would make my life substantially easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Developing with Web Standards
Developing with Web Standards by John Allsopp (Paperback - November 21, 2009)
Used & New from: $1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.