Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Hands-On Approach!
We use this book in a community college course for both online and face-to-face classes. The students really like the hands-on approach with examples, practice exercises and case studies. This popular textbook integrates XHTML and CSS topics so students learn from the beginning how to use both XHTML and CSS to configure text, color, and page layout. There is also...
Published on March 7, 2010 by Web Guru

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Money on the Kindel Edition!
The Kindle edition of this textbook is a complete rip off. It does not contain the access code for the "Hands On" practice exercises on the companion website which are an integral part of the text. Pearson's "tech support", when I finally got a response from them, basically said "tough luck, go away." I've discovered that without those practice exercises, I'm completely...
Published on July 6, 2011 by J. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Hands-On Approach!, March 7, 2010
By 
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
We use this book in a community college course for both online and face-to-face classes. The students really like the hands-on approach with examples, practice exercises and case studies. This popular textbook integrates XHTML and CSS topics so students learn from the beginning how to use both XHTML and CSS to configure text, color, and page layout. There is also excellent coverage of web design best practices, accessibility, usability, and Web standards. Related topics such as search engine optimization, the web development process, and e-commerce are also introduced. A bonus is the textbook's companion website at [...]t that has a page for each chapter with chapter links, additional information, flash review puzzles, iPod review quizzes, and chapter updates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners, December 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
I used Head First HTML book before this one, and comparatively this one is much much better. The examples and the exercises provide the perfect opportunity to practice what you've read. The book also really gives you a solid understanding not only in XHTML necessary to build a website, but the steps to designing and structuring the layout as well. Really excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Even Better Price, February 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
I was looking for this book for a course at BCIT in Vancouver. The regular price of this book is $127. I found it for nearly half that price here on Amazon.com. The book is written in such a way that it breaks down the individual components and explains them in the easiest possible way. It also offers a plethora of examples, links to sites and a website companion that provides you with all the files for homework and follow-along during explanation. Great book, even better price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I probably should have taken a lesser course to start., October 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
Excellent Web Page instruction book. It will take a few reads for me to get the hang of Webpage Design, but the information is in the book. The tutorials from the authors webpage were very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Money on the Kindel Edition!, July 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
The Kindle edition of this textbook is a complete rip off. It does not contain the access code for the "Hands On" practice exercises on the companion website which are an integral part of the text. Pearson's "tech support", when I finally got a response from them, basically said "tough luck, go away." I've discovered that without those practice exercises, I'm completely handcuffed. I bought this text for a class and now can't follow along with the discussions in the book.

Thanks for nothing, Amazon and Pearson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, August 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
So far, I'm in chapter two.

Great for a beginner. A little long-winded, but surprisingly simplistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, July 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
I'm always reluctant to buy textbooks for school. I'm a person who learns by doing, not by reading. I was worried this book would be a waste of time and money like most of my other required school textbooks. But I was wrong! This book is really easy to follow, very clear and thorough, and has a bunch of great hands-on exercises. You can get into it quickly and easily and start learning XHTML. I learned a ton from this book, in just a few weeks. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably useful if I had opened it, April 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
My teacher requested this book for his class, but then never once referenced it, and never asked us to use it. It was well laid out, and Would get this if I was NOT taking the class, but just wanted to learn the material. Shipping was fast, Seller was professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a technical book, March 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Books about web development tend to be really boring, and can take a lot of effort to follow, but this one is a nice exception. The book teaches concepts through small projects that you can do yourself. I think actually starting to use the code is the only way to learn it, and this book accomplishes that better than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars be careful on buying used, March 4, 2012
By 
Deborah (Richfield, MN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book used since I'm in school and trying to cut costs. This book comes with a code for online access to the files and images you need to do the work in the book. This code can only be used once and it only lasts for 6 months. If you buy it used you will not have access to this information. Now I have to go online and buy a new subscriptions so savings on buying a used book is gone. I recommend buying this book new only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition
Web Development and Design Foundations with XHTML, 5th Edition by Terry Morris (Paperback - March 6, 2010)
Used & New from: $0.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.