Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Danger magic and one awesome fiesty heroine!
In Zoe Archer's new series she takes us to the year 1762 and introduces us to five friends, known as the Hellraisers, for their relentless pursuit of adventure and life's pleasures.

James Sherbourne, Earl of Whitney (Whit) meets a gypsy beauty named Zora at her family camp. They have an instant connection. Zora doesn't usually believe in superstitions but she...
Published on December 6, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good premise, disappointing story
Whit and Zora come from opposite side of the spectrum. Whit is a wealthy and noble-born gentleman whereas Zora is a Gypsy. The only thing they have in common is that they're both gamblers. Whit is in it for the thrill and Zora, for the money. While facing off, he makes a proposition with her to spend the night together. While intrigued, Zora refuses the offer. Soon after,...
Published on May 15, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Danger magic and one awesome fiesty heroine!, December 6, 2011
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
In Zoe Archer's new series she takes us to the year 1762 and introduces us to five friends, known as the Hellraisers, for their relentless pursuit of adventure and life's pleasures.

James Sherbourne, Earl of Whitney (Whit) meets a gypsy beauty named Zora at her family camp. They have an instant connection. Zora doesn't usually believe in superstitions but she has a heavy sense of foreboding as Whit leaves her camp with his friends to tour a local ruin that evening.

Zora's intuition is correct and she arrives too late to stop the longtime friends from entering a deal with the devil himself. Whit's vice is gambling. In his exchange with the devil, Whit receives the gift to control the odds unaware of just how high the cost.

"For you, my dear Lord Whitney, I shall grant you the ability to control the odds. You can make them good or bad, as you require."

Once the bargain has been sealed, Whit and Zora are tied to each other. Whit is pleased that his deal also won him his fiery gypsy but Zora will not give in to the man, no matter how attractive, until he turns his back on the devil and regains his soul.

I can't even tell you how much I loved Zora. She has got to be one of my favorite heroines in a long time. She's beautiful, confident and intelligent but most of all she has values that she will not compromise. Even in the heat of lust. You go girl!

Whit was passionate, and I loved how much he respected Zora and treated her as an equal although he didn't really stand out for me. Their declarations for each other also seemed a bit much at times.

One thing that didn't work for me is the setting. This is more a reflection of my reading preferences, not about the writing itself. Since the series takes place in 1762 there is fair bit of descriptions about cravats and corsets and the like but I'm just not a big fan of historical romances or the language of that time period. If you are, then this might be a better fit for you.

Archer skillfully blended elements of paranormal, historical, and gypsy mythology. I definitely enjoyed the magic the most. I don't want to spoil it but I particularly loved just how Zora came to be in Whit's "possession". Nice twist.

In order to save his soul, Whit also has to choose between his friends and Zora. Whit is continually drawn to the dark and the lure of beating the odds as his friends beckon him. I thought that played out nicely and is a good set up for the next books in the series. It seems that both Whit and Zora may be players and not cast aside. (I hope anyway)

According to Archer's book trailer, not all of the men will get their happily ever after. That makes for a fun twist.

The historical feel was not a favorite of mine but I adored the feisty and intelligent Zora and the creative use of magic in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good premise, disappointing story, May 15, 2012
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
Whit and Zora come from opposite side of the spectrum. Whit is a wealthy and noble-born gentleman whereas Zora is a Gypsy. The only thing they have in common is that they're both gamblers. Whit is in it for the thrill and Zora, for the money. While facing off, he makes a proposition with her to spend the night together. While intrigued, Zora refuses the offer. Soon after, Whit and his friends decide to ride to a secluded and haunted place where they encounter the devil. The devil grants them their heart's deepest desire in exhange for a small token they possess. Zora tries to save Whit and his friends but, unfortunately, arrives too late. The devil, amused at her tactics to defeat him, offers her as a gift to the men and Whit accepts.

I'll admit that this story had promise. The beginning was very interesting and the chemistry between the characters palpable. However, midway through the book, Zora's attempts at escape, Whit's fight with his conscience, and the chase just got too exasperating. I found myself thinking "we get it. Now move on with the rest of the story" often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loser for a hero..., December 29, 2011
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
I felt that this author has alot going for her - too bad her hero characters are losers. The "Hellraisers" are a bunch of shallow men with no remorse or depth at all. The whole way that they all became "cursed" just shows that they lack any discretion or common sense. The main male character in this book (James) doesn't seem to be reformed at the end, just suddenly aware that there actually are consequences for his actions. What's funny though is that Zoe Archer is a good writer - I just don't like her characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taken By Surprise!, January 17, 2012
By 
Parajunkee (Jefferson, LA, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
Striking out lately with paranormal romance I thought `Devil's Kiss' by Zoe Archer might be just what I needed. A little taste of something new - and I was right. Archer crafted some unique lore and put together a great start of series that has me excited to read more. The Hellraisers are a group of men in the 1700s that are of a wealthy persuasion and have the tendency to get a bit rowdy. Prone to gamble, drinking and women, the boys are always two steps away from danger. Boredom has led them to a gypsy encampment, gambling and drinking the night away, the gypsies more than willing to entertain the five men for a bit of coin. Whit, our handsome hero isn't used to being distracted from the game - but the gorgeous gypsy girl, Zora Grey is quite distracting.

Rumors of a cursed ruin and talk of evil get the Hellraisers interested to go exploring in their inebriated state and abandoning their gypsy company. But, Zora is determined to prevent them from doing harm - yet, she's too late and the men have made their deal. Now, it's a race against the clock to convince Whit that his deal was a deal with the devil - and he needs to break it or he risks more than just his soul.

A tortured hero, a willful heroine and a unique and very plot driven storyline made `Devil's Kiss' an awesome paranormal romance. I'm now smitten with Zoe Archer and hope to read more from her. Some down points did rise up in the story in the guys behavior at how easily they sold their souls and how hard it was to logically get through to Whit. But, I've never been offered my souls desire or had a vice like Whit has, so I guess I can't judge. But, it did lead to some WTFs with the behavior. But, once the pursuit to save the soul swept into full swing it was on and I completely enjoyed.

Recommendations:

Recommended for historical romance and paranormal romance fans. This is an adult romance novel so there are sexual interactions that is meant for adults only.

Like This, Like That

'Darkness Dawns' (Immortal Guardians) by Dianne Duvall
'The Iron Duke' (A Novel of the Iron Seas) by Meljean Brook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of: Devil's Kiss by Zoe Archer, January 14, 2012
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
James Sherbourne, Earl of Whitney was bored. His gaming left him empty and his fellow Hellraisers were feeling the same way. They were told by servants of a gypsy camp on the property of one of the Hellraisers, Bram, and decided to go investigate. While there, Whit met a beautiful gypsy woman who took his breath away. He wanted her in every way.
Things take an interesting turn when one of the gypsy men tells the Hellraisers about a ruin located on the property. Immediately the men decide to check it out. They go deep into the ruin and unleash something that had been hidden for years. Once the men left the gypsies, Zora, the beautiful gypsy woman, reads the cards. She finds that evil will take over the world. She knows she must get to the Hellraisers before it's to late. What is to come is a fight of epic proportions and one Zora must fight.

This book is action packed and romantic beyond all measure. It keeps you moving along at a steady pace and always rooting for the good guys. I loved every second of this magnificent book. Following Zora and Whit's trail was something I will do again and again. I couldn't find anything wrong with this book. I will read it again.
~Copy of book provided by author in exchange for a fair review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, April 4, 2013
This book is really well written and is truly a page turner. I loved every minute of it and was in suspense until the end. Deffinately worth the time to read. I can't wait for the next book. Hapy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, Lust and Real History!, January 17, 2012
By 
Read'em Cowboy (Santa Ynez, CA. USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
I like a book that races along, with the stakes high, and the characters compelling. Zoe Archer delivers again with a new series, The Hellraisers, and it's first book, "Devil's Kiss." Zora Grey is NOT a stereotype Gypsy. As well as Romance, Archer is great at something else, research, taking me into the real Gypsy life and legend as never before as well as presenting to me the most firey Gypsy girl ever. The action is very real and the paranormal fireworks organic to the story. Zora's co-star, Whit, has a powerful dark side, and I was drawn into his constant battle to conquer his own demons - literally. They make a great pair in every way. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique historical romance with a paranormal twist, January 7, 2012
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
I got this book for a Christmas present, and I haven't been able to put it down. The setting is 1762, a period romance, but the characters are truly unique, with the heroine being a wily Gypsy vixen, and the hero a sexy lord fighting to regain his soul and stand up to the call of sin. Along with lots of hot moments ;) the plot carries the story all the way to the end, with plenty of fighting, Roman ruins, demons, ghosts, and five men who have literally sold their souls to the devil. Be warned: some of the scenes are a touch gory, and at times I felt torn about my feelings toward the hero, as he comes across as an antihero through a decent portion of the book. If you like strong heroines and want to read something different, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At what price - your heart's desire?, December 28, 2011
By 
Kathleen M. Jund (Rancho Cucamonga, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
Being an unattached titled aristocrat answering to no one, free to indulge in nothing other than one's own desires should make one feel fulfilled. However, travelling everywhere to experience the next great thrill may also find one in a sorry state of boredom. Sadly, for James Sherbourne, Earl of Whitney this is the case. James lives to gamble, the higher the stakes the better, the more he loses the better he feels. It is only money after all As if it is not bad enough that James lives to deal himself into the next game of cards or other game of chance to test his skill, he is also one of the founding members of an exclusive club of fellow thrill seekers self named the Hellraisers. These five men certainly live up to their famous moniker and in their quest for excitement; they will soon find themselves living their utmost desires. However, at what cost to themselves will they be willing to gamble for it? A stumbled upon band of Gypsies camped along the countryside provides the group with a temporary diversion. James finds himself not only captivated by beauty of the young gypsy woman named Zora, but in losing at cards, is determined to find out how he is being so elegantly cheated. James directly accuses Zora of cheating and with the respect of student for a teacher asks her to divulge her secrets to him. Zora scoffs that perhaps it is her gypsy magic at play. She also senses something within Whit that draws to him, like a moth to a flame. She finds herself helpless when held within his insolent gaze as the other Hellraisers amuse themselves with the antics of the gypsy band around them. Unfortunately, within a short time amongst the band of Romi, a passing comment of an ancient ruin sets the group of Hellraisers upon on a hard ridden journey into the darkness to whet their unyielding appetite for adventure. As the men ride away a fear, burns within Zora's heart, which convinces her should the group find the ruins they will meet with untold harm. Her concern especially for the fine young gentleman that has stroked her curiosities, Whit, she sets out on her own to save these unscrupulous men from themselves. Will Zora arrive too late to keep these men from unleashing unknown dangers in their thirst for more? Zoe Archer captivates from the first line, with heart racing and hair-raising adventure and romance that will keep the pages turning! The Hellraisers contain the makings for a much-anticipated series that will be sure to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars! Awesome beginning. I can't wait for the next book!, December 11, 2011
This review is from: Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers) (Mass Market Paperback)
Watch out London!!! The Hellraisers are in town.

The Hellraisers are five friends hell bent on NOT conforming to societies rules. Each fierce in their own right, but together they will be unstoppable.

This is the beginning of what promises to be a great series. I love the originality of the plot. I personally have not read anything like this, but that really doesn't say much.

This series begins with the story of James "Whit" Sherbourne, Earl of Whiney. His vice in life is gambling. He lives for it day in and day out. No time for romance, parliament or even his vast estate. The thrill of winning and losing is everything. Lately, even gambling has become mundane. Whit has to take larger risks to get the same feeling of elation that he used to get with simple bets. He may not know it, but he just wagered his largest pot ever, his soul.

From the moment Zora Grey set eyes on Whit, she is awestruck. Zora is a gypsy and she has met many gorgios in her life, rich white men with nothing good to do with their time. There was something different about this man and something that attracts her heart and soul. When the fates send her a message, she can only do one thing...fight for Whit's soul and very likely hers too.

Whit can now control probabilities, a handy power to have for a gambler. Zora has other plans though. She never believed in the power of the cards but they told her that evil is coming and she will not allow it to take over the world or Whit. Together they battle each other and the forces of evil. Their passion is steamy in and outside of the bedroom. I enjoyed their chemistry and their unlikely love affair. This is smoking romance at its best. Though the sex scenes were slow coming, once they commenced they were scorching and burned up the pages.

The story building in the book is solid. I could see the foundation of the series being built for later novels. That is a common problem with first novels in a series. They have to work so hard to set the stage. Ms. Archer did a fabulous job and now she can hit this series running. My only disappointment in this book is that I have to wait to see what happens with the other Hellraisers.

Devil's Kiss is action filled with Zora and Whit's clashing personalities. Ms. Archer makes the story more exciting by throwing in some demons and other hellish creatures. Nothing keeps a couple of people busy like trying to stop a devilish being from turning the world into his own private hell.

Let Ms. Archer take you along on a new journey. It is a hot ride but she will be serving a lot of titillating refreshments and she promises oodles of exciting entertainment. All Aboard!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Devilís Kiss (Hellraisers)
Devil’s Kiss (Hellraisers) by Zoe Archer (Mass Market Paperback - December 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.