Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview of PT Boat Stories
Historian William Breuer has produced a popular, anecdotal history of the PT Boat in WWII. It's a good, enjoyable read that gives the reader a broad overview of what the boats did and what kind of people manned them. If you are interested in PT Boats, this is an excellent place to start, but keep in mind you are skimming the surface.
Highly recommended as a companion...
Published on September 26, 2000 by Rory Aylward

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTED
I OWN A COPY THE BOOK OFFERED FOR SALE IN THE CATALOG. I WANTED TWO MORE COPIES OF THE ONE PICTURED. WHAT I GOT WAS A SMALL PRINT PAPERBACK, WITH A DIFFERENT COVER ALL TOGETHER BY " JOVE WAR BOOK" NOT BY "BALLANTINE BOOKS" AS PICTURED IN THE AD. THIS ORDER WAS MADE WITH "YANKEECOZY". I WILL KEEP THIS BOOK AND GIVE MY GOOD ONE TO A FRIEND TO HAVE. THE OTHER ORDER I...
Published 19 months ago by HARVEY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview of PT Boat Stories, September 26, 2000
This review is from: Devil Boats: The PT War Against Japan (Paperback)
Historian William Breuer has produced a popular, anecdotal history of the PT Boat in WWII. It's a good, enjoyable read that gives the reader a broad overview of what the boats did and what kind of people manned them. If you are interested in PT Boats, this is an excellent place to start, but keep in mind you are skimming the surface.
Highly recommended as a companion book is Victor Chun's pictorial history of American PT Boats in WWII.
For more detailed PT stories, try Dick Keresey's "PT-105" or track down a copy of "At Close Quarters."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ivy leaguers and jocks trade in their daddy's yachts., May 29, 2007
By 
Ryan Fisher (Santa Maria, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Devil Boats is a chronicle, albeit not a voluminous one, of the exploits of the men of the PT "Devil" boats of WWII.

William Breuer tells the highlights of the adventures of these Ivy league, jock sailors who traded their yachts and sports careers for the dangers of the Pacific Theater.

Breuer's story follows the course of PT boat action from Pearl Harbor and MacArthur's escape to the sad days at war's end when a indifferent U.S. Navy burned and scuttled much of what remained of the storied boats.

Devil Boats also recounts the legacies of many of the crews of the PT squadrons who in later life would go on to fill the highest offices in government and civilian realms.

Not the scholarly work that researchers often seek, Devil Boats remains however and iconic book reminiscent of most WWII stories published in the few decades that followed.

Overall, a fun and short read.

REVIEW EVERY BOOK YOU READ, AUTHORS DESERVE YOUR OPINIONS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little ships in a big war, December 3, 2012
By 
This review is from: Devil Boats: The PT War Against Japan (Paperback)
Having read many books on the naval war in the Pacific during World War II, the role of the PT boats was something I rarely came across. This book gives a great overview of PT boat operations in the Philippines during the dark, early days of the war, as well as later on in the Solomons and New Guinea campaigns. Lots of great stories about interesting actions, raids and rescue missions, and I especially liked the description of the role PT boats played in the Battle of Surigao Strait. A nice, quick read, well worth the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book., February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Funny thing, I just finished reading this book not 5 minutes before I logged onto my email box and found this request from Amazon for a review. "Devil Boats" is a great little book and a lively read.
In the early months of World War 2 the US Pacific Fleet was decimated. After Pearl Harbor the US surface fleet was neutered and the only Naval vessels capable of sustained operations against the Japanese were the submarines and a very small handful of PT boats.
Devil Boats tells the history of the PT Boats throughout the war, mostly in the Pacific theater, by the telling of small unit actions.
PT Boats were fast and very heavily armed, but completely unarmored craft that operated in enemy waters against forces many times their size and numbers. The speed, tactics, stealth and daring of the PT Boats Skippers and crewmen made their combat actions legend. PT Boat operations in the Pacific were really guerilla warfare in enemy controlled coastal waters and frequently on land as well.
The tales of daring, bravery and heroism of the sailors of the PT Boats makes fascinating reading. These brave Americans, along with our allies including the Australians, the British, the New Zealanders, the Filipinos and the many natives friendly to the Allies together brought the war to the Japanese in the Pacific. This is their story.
If you like true tales of courage and valor then “Devil Boats” is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read; I will read again, November 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil Boats: The PT War Against Japan (Paperback)
If you love history, you will love this book. It is amazing to get the insight on things that happened and the specifics of this book. I'm not sure if there are any others writen this way but this book was definitely amazing and I recommend it to anyone. It's exciting, fun and insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devil Boats, August 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good book. In very good condition. Quick service. Glad it was available. Would order from this seller and amazon again. Am very interested in PT boat operations during WW II probably because my shop/manual arts teacher was a PT boat skipper in the Mediterranean during WW II. He was a super guy. Happy that this book was available and hope I can find one about PT operations in the European theater,especially the Mediterranean which is where my shop teacher served. Have not searched for one yet.

Regards, Gene Barnes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Daring Marauders of the South Pacific, February 7, 2011
This review is from: Devil Boats: The PT War Against Japan (Paperback)
What could an 80-foot plywood boat accomplish, with only 4 .50 caliber machine guns and 4 torpedoes, in the vast stretches of the Pacific Ocean? A great deal if they got the right mission and were crewed by adventurous skippers and daring, well trained crews.

As the Japanese expanded down the Solomon Island chain through the thousands of small islands throughout the Bismarck Archipelago, their challenge was to both supply and protect the forces they deployed to the furthest reaches of their newly acquired empire.

Working close to the myriad of islands and patrolling the often-used sea-lanes, mostly at night, The PT Boats became the scourge of the seas to Japanese supply and combat ships. Able to reach speeds of 45 miles per hour with their 3 Packard engines, they were designed to strike hard and run fast. Speed was their only defense since PT Boats had no armor whatsoever.

Devil Boats takes you to back to the beginning and chronicles the evacuation of General Douglas MacArthur from the Philippines and the sinking of John F. Kennedy's PT-109. It describes the genesis, evolution and tactics of the craft and why the blue-water navy held the PT Boat in such disdain. While covering mostly the early years of the War, Devil Boats is a tribute to the 212 boats and their crews who served with such distinction through the War.

The book contains numerous photos and is an interesting if short history of this unique battle-craft.

John E. Nevola
Author of The Last Jump - A Novel of World War II
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTED, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil Boats: The PT War Against Japan (Paperback)
I OWN A COPY THE BOOK OFFERED FOR SALE IN THE CATALOG. I WANTED TWO MORE COPIES OF THE ONE PICTURED. WHAT I GOT WAS A SMALL PRINT PAPERBACK, WITH A DIFFERENT COVER ALL TOGETHER BY " JOVE WAR BOOK" NOT BY "BALLANTINE BOOKS" AS PICTURED IN THE AD. THIS ORDER WAS MADE WITH "YANKEECOZY". I WILL KEEP THIS BOOK AND GIVE MY GOOD ONE TO A FRIEND TO HAVE. THE OTHER ORDER I MADE WAS WITH A DIFFERENT DISTRIBUTOR. HOPEFULLY I WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED AGAIN.

IN THIS BOOK THE THE MAPS AND PICTURES ARE HALF THE SIZE OF THE ADVERTISED BOOK.

IF THIS IS THE WAY "YANKEECOZY" DOES BUSINESS I CAN'T RECOMMEND THEM FOR THEIR UNSATISFACTORY SWITCH OF PRODUCTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Devil Boats: The PT War Against Japan
Devil Boats: The PT War Against Japan by William B. Breuer (Paperback - June 1, 1995)
Used & New from: $0.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.