Customer Reviews

97
4.3 out of 5 stars
Devil May Cry 4 - Xbox 360
Format: Video GameChange
Price:$12.95 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on September 13, 2008
First of all I must say that this review may seem a bit biased as I absolutely love the DMC game series. It's quite possibly one of the best games of it's genre. The game looks simply amazing, the voice acting is superb, it's fun to play, and it's very easy to pick up for those new to the DMC series. It's got everything, a captivating storyline, amazing cut scenes, intense boss fights and more. Has a high replay value. It's one of the few single player games I have that I've actually put back in the xbox after beating it more than once. If there were anything I would change about it, it would be the awkward camera angles (not too many but at times you will notice what I'm talking about). Very highly recommend this title! Good luck.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on March 1, 2009
This game is a sequel to its predecessor video game wise, but chronologically speaking, it takes place after Devil May Cry, and before Devil May Cry 2. Devil May Cry 4 seems to be a rather average installment in the series. While it isn't a bad game at all, its overall rating is higher than that of Devil May Cry 2, but lower than Devil May Cry 3.

With that said, the game is fairly unique. Firstly, the main protagonist this time isn't Dante, it's a man named Nero. He is a member of the Order of the Sword, a clan of warriors who worship Sparda. At first glance, this "Nero" character resembles Dante and his twin brother Vergil due to his white hair. After further examination it can be said that in the face, they look nothing alike. Dante is playable in the game; he's playable in the second half of the game, after Nero's quest is completed.

The game's wrapped around a central love story, and an undeveloped one at that. There seems to be no character development, all you know from the beginning, is that you know a woman named Kyrie. So throughout the game, (not actually aware of why or how you met this woman), your main goal will be to save her. You will then find out how inferior Nero is to Dante personality wise as well.

There will be random encounters and skirmishes between you and Dante throughout the game, at first Dante can be seen as an antagonist, but later in the game it's revealed that he's not really that, he's just a person on the side who doesn't really play a major role in the story. He's just, Dante, still messing around with his shop, Trish, and Lady.

With Dante, you will replay all of the stages and bosses that Nero played. So there's more backtracking than desired. The thing about Nero is, his distinctive power called "Devil Bringer" which is a wraith type entity that is engraved within his right arm. His right arm plays a large role in attacking because it can grasp enemies, and can also perform many mind blowing attacks. More importantly, it's required to navigate in stages and to progress in the storyline. He also contains a temporary power up called "Agro", which can be charged within his sword to perform a more devastatingly damage giving slash. He has one gun and does not gain any other guns.

I mean, the controls are mapped well; I didn't get any hand cramps from playing on the XBOX 360 controller. It's basically the same as Devil May Cry 3.

As far as customization and leveling up goes, not much has changed. Although, this time around, you don't use Red Orbs to gain new attacks, you have a separate currency that is gained from how well you fight and complete stages. Considering that this new currency is more difficult to obtain, gaining new moves takes longer than it does to buy new items. There are still the same items, and the secret missions make a return, giving you a blue orb fragment after each successful attempt.

All of the secret missions require both Dante and Nero, because the missions are sometimes mapped for only one character. Once completed, you cannot complete it again for another orb, once you've gained the orb that's it. Other than that, Dante has new weapons, I won't spoil you there. He retains all of his well renowned attacks from previous installments. It must be noted that Dante is much faster than Nero too.

When I said that there's much backtracking, that also means that you will have to fight the same bosses twice. The boss battles are engaging and invigorating at first encounter, but once you fight them the second time, their attacks can be easily predicted, and no joy would be retained from defeating them. However, fighting them the second time around also throws off your strategy because Dante plays differently from Nero of course.

Dante's new weapons are gained from defeating the bosses that Nero already fought. I can't find much more to say about the game. Once you get the hang of the gameplay it becomes enjoyable but a tad bit too easy. Fortunately there is a "Hard" mode that can be unlocked upon completing the game on Normal. The only XBOX LIVE or PSN involvement the game has is just uploading your score on the leaderboards.

The puzzles aren't very arduous this time around. Yes, there is still that old dark and ambient music that plays in the background throughout dungeons. The cut scenes use the in-game graphics. I don't think that I saw one FMV. The graphics aren't really impressive, but simultaneously they aren't bad either. They're sufficient at best, but the shadowing effect in the sunlight looks really terrible, I should say.

The game seems incomplete due to how much backtracking is done. It feels that there should have been ten other different dungeons to fill in how many Dante plays through. Nero earlier in the game unlocks doors and whatnot that Dante easily skips through later down the road. With that mentioned, Dante's playthough is much easier than Nero's. It's because as Nero, you do everything, and that leaves little for Dante to do, outside of his combat.

Well, I guess about wraps up this review. I didn't really have much to say about this one, it's a Devil May Cry game, and its formula is beginning to grow a bit old. Back then, it was highly acclaimed for defining the Hack and Slash genre, but here in 2008- Present, more and more games are beginning to cross the threshold. They are also surpassing Devil May Cry games action wise. Currently, this game can be found cheap. So, don't be afraid to give this one a go. A very fun game, but doesn't leave much replayability.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 7, 2011
I haven't played any of the DMC series. This is my first one. I was not disappointed and I hope they release the series on one of the newer consoles.

Story: Set after DMC1 but before DMC2, you are Nero heading rapidly towards an opera house wanting to see your loves (Kyrie) performance. After her performance, the high priest Sanctus begins a sermon only to be interrupted by Dante who slays him and some of the guards. You fight Dante for a short time and after he reveals that the Holy Knights are actually demons. Afterward, you are sent to investigate and learn the true nature of Knights and Dante's intentions.

Gameplay: This is an action, hack 'n' slash game. You control Nero and later on Dante, fighting through missions to advance the plot. Some missions require some puzzles to solve to advance. The fighting is amazing with Nero and his Demonic arm. He has tons of combo moves to use. The fighting is given a grade based on number of combos and damage taken. You can receive a D (Deadly), a C (Carnage), a B (Brutal), an A (Atomic), an S (Smokin'), an SS (Smokin' Style) or an SSS (Smokin' Sick Style). After each mission, you are given a grade. You take on hordes of demons and some killer bosses. You have a special move called the Devil Trigger that makes you more powerful for a short time, and adding a slow health regeneration. You collect currency from enemies in the form of Proud Souls (used to buy new abilities) or Red Orbs (used to buy items). Nero's weapon called the Red Queen sword, has a special exceed gauge that charges up and allows for powerful attacks. As Dante, you have several melee weapons that you acquire after defeating bosses. You have 4 styles to use; Trickster, Royal Guard, Sword Master, and gunslinger, each grant him different abilities.

Conclusion: the graphics are very nice and the controls are easy to use. The cut scenes are beautifully done (and Trish looks very nice in them). Worth picking up even if you haven't played any of the series yet. Very fun game and the replay value is high.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
This game is almost perfectly orchrastrated from start to finish. In fact the only reason it didn't score 5 stars from me is because I'm sick of games that don't allow you to save your progress when you want. Several times I lost progress because the wife needed something done or I had to leave.

Regardless, the graphics and gameply were superb and set the pace for how I believe all gaming experiences should be. The movies and voice acting were top notch and play like watching an actual movie, which by they way you can pretty much due from the library after beating the game. A+ and thanks Capcom! Never too hard and never too easy there is always a good balance of fun and strategy.

You start off as Nero, a sort-of outcast, someone who likes to think for himself rather than being controlled (by religion) arriving late for Kyrie's singing performance. Queue Dante who true to his demanor makes a grand dramtic entrance followed by a performance that will have you questioning whose side he's on.

While you begin the game as Nero you'll later switch to Dante's perspective furthering the story along. The movies before and after each boss fight will keep you talking and smiling long after turning off your XBox. My peronal favorite is the movie after Dante defeats Belial and receives the Lucifer.

The games weapons almost take on a persona of their own as you play thru and learn to master their skills and exploits. Just wait till you get Pandora's Box! One piece of advice would be make sure you acquire the Air Hike (for both Nero and Dante) and to max out Nero's Devil Trigger Grab.

There are really only 2 complaints that I have for DMC 4. One, as I mentioned before is the lack of saving except for after a mission has been completed and the second is that the game was pretty short, approximately 10-12 hours of gameplay. However I did not play through all the side missions and I my original pass-thru was on the Novice setting. Having said that, unlike many of the other titles out there this one has me anxious to get home to my XBox.

One side note is make sure that you keep Kyrie alive during the credits for an additional "secret" ending involving Dante.

- Dan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Capcom's Devil May Cry series makes the leap to next-gen with Devil May Cry 4. Fans of the series will come to find that Dante has taken a back seat with this installment (although there are segments where you play as him) and you will spend a majority of the game in the shoes of Nero; an ultra cool, ultra stylish antihero with a demonic arm. If you've been playing the games in the series for any substancial amount of time, you won't be disappointed with what you get in Devil May Cry 4. Nero is an awesome character with an even more awesome array of moves and techniques to take down baddies, all of which is made the better by the incredibly sharp controls. The game itself is simply gorgeous to behold, from the in-game graphics to the beautifully rendered cut-scenes, along with great character animations; all of which more than make up for some repetitive looking environments. The combat of the game is addictive, thrown in with some great, fun boss fights as well. The only real drawbacks of Devil May Cry 4 is that the platforming elements that appear in the game just don't really fit in well with the rest of the game, seeming as more of an afterthought. The puzzle elements aren't anything special either. It should also be noted that Capcom has downed the difficulty factor as well. Anyone who first played Devil May Cry 3 when it was first released will remember how unbelievably hard the game was before it was re-released, and fans should be happy to know that this installment is nowhere near as hard, but its not a breeze either. All in all, Devil May Cry 4 is a beautiful, bloody, and addicting action game that nicely updates the series for the next-gen, and despite some moments of repetition, the game succeeds mightily.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 12, 2010
This was a very cool action packed game. I really loved the story and the character's. Playing as nero was new and very fun. His power's are Awsome. You can still play as dante to which is very cool. The music is Awsome and fun to listen to. I beat this game last year and was very happy I got to play this Awsome game. The graphic's are Perfect and crystal clear. The combo attack's are Amazing and easy to do. If you haven't played this game I recommened you do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on November 21, 2011
What we have here is a bunch of characters that seem to believe they are better than all that and seem to want to show it. Though the arrogance in the past DMCs had been oftentimes intolerable at least they were funny. This just seems like the characters are so mightier than thou that they got lost on what humor actually is. Dante is even insufferable at times. But, let's not hold that against the entire game.

To start off this is definitely not like the older games where your hands fall off from smashing buttons and attempting to do ridiculous combos without pause throughout the duration of the game. Speaking of the combos, they last about three hours apiece so if you like theatrics then this game is for you.

On the subject of how this game is so much different from the others, where's Dante?! We want to play as Dante! Nero might be a close resemblance to Dante, but he whines too much and is certainly NOT Dante. Even though Dante's arrogance is as acceptable as a knee to the groin, I would prefer it over Nero's constant blabbering and complaining. More importantly, I'm not exactly pleased with the story of chasing after a girl. Whereas the previous games have been about fighting against evil with a sidekick that happened to be female, this game has our white-haired heart-throb (no, not Dante, Nero...I know they look strikingly alike) is chasing AFTER a girl who happens to get caught up in the demonic world. It just doesn't seem very DMC'ish.

However, the combat is fun because of the style that Capcom introduces on a far larger level than any of the DMCs beforehand. As stated earlier, if you have a penchant for the "cool" and "exciting" things you can do with a gun and a sword then this game is for you. And if you don't have a penchant for it, perhaps you shouldn't be playing video games.

Another problem I have with the game is that I can't stand the timed puzzles with fixed cameras that have you falling down into an abyss where you have to fight the same group of enemies twenty thousand times. It's infuriating, but at least it gives you some kind of satisfaction when you make it to the other side. However, the puzzles where you're smacking a dice across the room? Not exactly my cup of tea.

Halfway through the game you have to do the previous levels in reverse which makes me think that Capcom got bored with designing new levels and thought it a smashing idea to just have everything backwards. It harks on the design of Nero being strikingly similar to Dante. Instead of making a new character it seems just a rehash of a more prepubescent Dante. So, we have duplicates of everything. Why? Why couldn't you just create new levels, Capcom? Makes me believe there's a laziness factor occurring.

My concern is that they are trying to play this off as a girl and guy game. Both sexes can play it. That's all well and good, but I could very easily play the first three and I'm a girl. It's turning into a fanfiction of the previous games which spins off into the realm of depending on combat style to support the game. Though the combat style, as said, is good, it's not worth buying the game for. That is, unless, you're like me and are a fan of the series.

Let's just hope that it doesn't continue down this track, which I'm afraid it might.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on May 29, 2010
The game is unbelievable; simple as that. The storyline is rather intriguing how it is from a perspective other than Dante's, but it keeps Dante in the picture rather well as the story progresses. At first, it seems like Nero is an immature punk who is possessed with demonic power; as the story unravels, we learn that this is not the case. He does have a human side, and he does care, and he wants to know the truth. The mechanics of the game are awesome; thankfully, I purchased the XBOX 360 controller for PC and used that. This was the first Devil May Cry game that did not use pre-rendered scenes, nor were its movies pre-rendered either. This was able to push the graphics to a whole new level, especially with my Geforce 8800 GTS. The game never once glitched or stalled; the porting of it from console to PC seems flawless. I also liked the option to choose either DirectX 9 or 10 for Vista users (I always used 10, naturally). The soundtrack fit the game perfectly; the hard rock and industrial sounds gave it an edge. The game is split into two segments; the first part is Nero's perspective, while the second half is Dante's. When Nero is rendered helpless and needs rescuing, the player takes on the role of Dante and saves the day. Dante's part, unfortunately, is a little redundant, as we are forced to backtrack and cover the same ground that Nero had already covered. I think Capcom believed that this wouldn't bother some of us as Dante's mechanics and weapon usage are slightly different from Nero's. This part was boring to me, as I grew to like Nero's weapons and moves, and found myself disliking Dante's; this issue may have been due to the fact that Nero's moves and weapons were fresh and different from the traditional ones we've seen in the previous Devil May Cry games, while Dante's moves and weapons bring us back to those moments. The game ends well, and as always, it leaves it open for another future sequel. The replay value is addicting; the survivor mode has me coming back for more, and the weapon upgrades make the game much easier when used from the beginning. It can be rather irritating in the harder modes when a mob kills you and you have to start the zone from the very beginning, which could've taken you at least 10-15 minutes to get that far (there comes a part where resurrection orbs get expensive). All-in-all, it is money well spent; I'm not sure how the game functions without the XBOX 360 controller, but I can't imagine playing the game without it. I give the game a perfect 5/5 because any game that can keep my attention for hours at a time, and not bore me, is worthy of having such a score.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on September 21, 2013
Before I start rating this game, let me first say I got into the games a few months ago after a friend made the suggestion.

I have played the first game, third game and now the fourth game. While I kind of played the second game it was hard to get into.

Overall I would have to say Devil May Cry 4 has been my favorite. It has a lot of the same mechanics as the third game but also some new unique mechanics depending of who you play as. For Dante they included a feature that allows you to change his "style" on the fly from Trickster, Swordmaster, Royal Guard and Gunslinger with the push of a button on the D-pad. They also allowed Dante to use Darkslayer (Vergil's style in the third game) once he had Yamato.

The part of this game I loved most was the new character, Nero. Nero was by far the one of the biggest parts that got me to play this game. Most of the story and gameplay focuses on Nero as the main character and gives him the unique Devil Bringer.

By far one of the greatest stories I've seen in a video game and always keeping you on the edge of your seat. The characters are fleshed out to the point where you can relate to them, their struggles and their emotions. The graphics are fantastic and controls are easy to learn. Ranking up the style gauge is easier in Devil May Cry 4 than it was in the previous games but not brokenly easy. Fantastic game from start to finish. Incredible soundtrack and I kept cranking up the volume just for the music a lot of the time (despite how angry my neighbors at the apartment would get with me).

Story - 5/5
Graphics - 5/5
Character Development - 5/5
Soundtrack - 5/5
Controls/Mechanics - 5/5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 2, 2011
Ok, before I say anything let me just say that this is a GOOD game. If you loke Devil May Cry you'll enjoy playing through this game. Now for an actual review. As a stand alone game I'd give this game a 7/10 (5 being average). In relation to it's predecessor DmC3 it's a 5.9/10...yeah...The gameplay has been SEVERELY dumbed down, the good thing is that dumbing down DmC3 still leaves a very solid and enjoyable gameplay experience. If your look for the balls-to-the-wall challenge that DmC3 offered you should look elsewhere because even though the game has challenging moments, anyone who beat DmC3 or DmC on a harder difficulty will stomp most of the bosses into the ground their first try. Another problem I have is Nero's gameplay. They went for something new and by no means did they fail but the outcome was a character that can literally rushdown and slaughter even the most intimidating of enemies (with little to no advanced tactics). While Dante who is a more well rounded charcter to play as is overall better but FAR more difficult to use. So the first 11 missions in which you play as Nero will stunt your ability when you finally get Dante. After some time your used to him and then what happens? THEY TAKE HIM AWAY FROM YOU AND GIVE YOU BACK NERO. I could on a rant as to why they did this, but it would take to long. Long story short if you like DmC you'll like this game but will yern for DmC3 the second you realize how neutered Dante is in terms of combat complexity (though the new style system does contribute to new and interesting tactics). So yeah the game will get boring for old school fans but anyone new will probably find it awesome, and to those people I say please go play DmC3 so you can see what I'm talking about. Also the story is good :/
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed

DMC: Devil May Cry
DMC: Devil May Cry by Capcom (Xbox 360)
$10.29

Bayonetta - Xbox 360
Bayonetta - Xbox 360 by Sega Of America, Inc. (Xbox 360)
$22.36
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.