Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An angel with fangs helps give the devil his due
Blake's life is a living hell, possessed by a demon who has turned Blake into a killer, Blake knows that he must die so that the demon will never hurt anyone again, but with the demon calling the shots it's not going to be easy. When loner vampire Elise witnesses Blake's suicide attempt, the hopelessness of his situation stirs her long lost humanity and as Elise gets to...
Published on August 23, 2011 by melindeeloo

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun, quick visit to the wonderful Night Huntress world
After a traumatic past, Elise, a vampire, has become a virtual recluse, living in abandoned subway tunnels, and avoiding humans and other vampires alike. Her life takes a rather sudden turn for exciting when a demon-posessed man with a death wish turns up on her doorstep.

A fun, quick, read for Frost fans, fan favorites Cat, Bones, and Mencheres all make...
Published on August 28, 2011 by sazbah


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An angel with fangs helps give the devil his due, August 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
Blake's life is a living hell, possessed by a demon who has turned Blake into a killer, Blake knows that he must die so that the demon will never hurt anyone again, but with the demon calling the shots it's not going to be easy. When loner vampire Elise witnesses Blake's suicide attempt, the hopelessness of his situation stirs her long lost humanity and as Elise gets to know Blake and is touched by his selflessness, Elise discovers that even though she's immortal, by isolating herself to protect her heart from further hurts, she's forgotten how to live.

Set in the Night Huntress world, with a short appearance by Cat and Bones and a longer one by Mencheres, Devil to Pay works much better on its own than it did sandwiched in between regency romances in it's original release in Four Dukes and a Devil. Storywise, Devil to Pay manages to get the job done even in the shorter space, the leads are both likable and sympathy stirring, and there's nothing like impending death to spur a relationship along. I liked the ending but wouldn't have minded getting to bask in the afterglow of the happily ever after just a bit - but then that's the nature of shorts.

On the whole, Devil to Pay ends up being a nice little tidbit for Frost fans who missed it in its first incarnation, but Frost brings in just enough of her world so that the story will still work for fans-to-be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honorable End, October 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
I have read most of what this author has put forth and love her work. But I found in this short story that she exceeded my expectation. It has a few of the usual characters in the Cat and Bones world, but it is a beautiful stand alone.
A female vampire who is content merely to exist because of tragic past circumstances comes across a human controlled by a demon who seeks to end his life to end the destruction and evil the demon is capable of. The vampire takes an interest that even has her surprised and searches for a way to save this honorable man who though he has come to care deeply for her will do what he feels is his duty to mankind. It has the elements of a beautiful tragic love.
I found it poignant and touched something deep as doomed love affairs do.
I cannot add anything about the plot and the main characters beyond several more super-adjectives of how good I found it.
There is only one tiny thing that struck me and it was truly no biggie. I found the inclusion of Cat and Bones superfluous (I know- what am I saying), but that is because these new characters are that well written.
Recommend this with no qualms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun, quick visit to the wonderful Night Huntress world, August 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
After a traumatic past, Elise, a vampire, has become a virtual recluse, living in abandoned subway tunnels, and avoiding humans and other vampires alike. Her life takes a rather sudden turn for exciting when a demon-posessed man with a death wish turns up on her doorstep.

A fun, quick, read for Frost fans, fan favorites Cat, Bones, and Mencheres all make appearances in this novella. I'm used to strong, kick-ass heroines from Jeaniene Frost, but Elise isn't. She's suffered a lot in both her life and afterlife, and she doesn't live, so much as exist. She's going through the motions, not wanting to dissapoint the only person left she *does* care for, Mencheres. She shakes her self from her apathy and ennui, but it makes her a little less interesting to read than Cat/Denise/Kira, and Isa (from Happily Never After). There's not much space to get to know her in this short read, and I felt it got in the way.

More a look into the protaganists minds and changing internal characters, fans used to Frost's normal non-stop action approach may be dissapointed.

I didn't enjoy this quite as much as Happily Never After, which felt like it fit a lot into a short space, but it's still an entertaining read, and a visit to the Night Huntress world is always a good one, regardless of any faults. It works well enough as a standalone, so may be enjoyed by folks new to Jeaniene Frost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's hard to believe Jeaniene Frost wrote this, July 11, 2012
By 
Liz James "oz-zie" (Overland Park, KS USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
Jeaniene Frost writes lively, witty novels with sharp, complex, characters. This book was so lacking in all those features, it's easier to believe this was fanfic published under her name than to believe this was JF's own work. This genre inherently requires a willing suspension of disbelief on the reader's part, but not when it involves shallow motives & inane actions. I still look forward to another fun time immersed in the characters & situations JF usually creates through her books, and hope not to be as disappointed as I was with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!, July 22, 2014
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
There are very few book series that make me want to seek out every single piece written just so I can keep living in the characters' world with them. Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress Series is one of them. As many know, the series has ended but there are plenty of short stories/novellas available for fans. Devil to Pay is #3.5 of the series, and it's an entertaining short story featuring characters fans know and some that fans will meet for the first time. The characters are likeable and complement this story as well as the series well. If you are a fan of this series, don't pass this one up!

My favorite quote:
“Sometimes you have to lose everything to know what you had.”

The Night Huntress Series includes the following installments:
#0.5-Reckoning
#1-Halfway to the Grave
#1.5-Happily Never After
#2-One Foot in the Grave
#3-At Grave's End
#3.5-Devil to Pay
#4-Destined for an Early Grave
#4.5-Magic Graves
#5-This Side of the Grave
#6-One Grave at a Time
#6.5-Home for the Holidays
#7-Up From the Grave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Short Side Story Involving Mencheres And A Little Bit Of Cat And Bones, August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this novella much more over the preceding ones. It involves a couple no names but it also greatly involved Mencheres and a small amount of Cat and Bones. It was nice to read a story about Mencheres as a sire and how he comes through for and truly cares about his "children". This story is about demonic possession and how it's possible to overcome it. True love always prevails right?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't get enough, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
I love this world that Frost has created. I can never seem to get enough. As a fan I'm grateful to her that she keeps the world going through spin offs and short stories that tie directly into the overall story line. Frost is a must read author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Short Story, May 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
Blake and Elise are new characters to the Night Huntress world. There's a brief appearance by Cat, Bones and Mencheres. I hope there is a follow-up to Blake & Elise's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short & Sweet, April 24, 2014
This review is from: Devil to Pay (Night Huntress) (Kindle Edition)
I am a sucker for a book by Jeaniene Frost. So of course I had to buy and download this novella by her.

This novella was short and sweet and contained everything I love about paranormal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Devil to Pay (Night Huntress)
$1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.