Devil at Midnight (Novel of the Upyr) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $8.99
  • Save: $2.09 (23%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 16 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Devil at Midnight (Novel ... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by CWJBOOKS
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: exlibrary softcover book, usual library markings. and stickers has some reader wear,
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Devil at Midnight (Novel of the Upyr) Mass Market Paperback – November 2, 2010


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$6.90
$0.86 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$6.90 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 16 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

Devil at Midnight (Novel of the Upyr) + Angel at Dawn (Novel of the Upyr) + Catching Midnight
Price for all three: $17.62

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Novel of the Upyr (Book 4)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley; Reissue edition (November 2, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425237818
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425237816
  • Product Dimensions: 6.7 x 4.1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,203,220 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Launching a duology, Holly weaves together vampire lore, time travel, and uninhibited passion. 1950s teenager Grace Michaels is killed by her abusive father. She awakens in a place between life and death, from which a spirit guide sends her back in time to 1460. Mercenary Christian Durand is surprised by Grace's ghostly appearance, but that doesn't stop him from initiating unconventional sexual encounters with the generically innocent yet oddly worldly young woman. Her rival for Christian's attention is upyr (vampire) queen Nim Wei, who sexually manipulates Christian's band of warriors and makes a deal with Christian's cruel father in hopes of seducing Christian into being her undead companion forever. Explicit scenes of promiscuous sex and violence, sometimes in close proximity, will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris and Laurell K. Hamilton, but may put off readers of more traditional romance. (Nov.) (c)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Emma Holly lives in Minnesota where the winters are long and people will use any excuse to warm up. According to Emma, humanity’s best inventions are hot showers, the printing press, coffee, chocolate, and bicycle shorts for men. She can be reached at emmah@wavetech.net or P.O. Box 2591, Minneapolis, MN 55402-0591.

More About the Author

Emma Holly is the USA Today bestselling author of more than thirty very hot romantic books, featuring werewolves, faeries, and just plain extraordinary ordinary folks. Her favorite things are reading, coffee, long daydreamy walks, plus whatever show she's currently infatuated with on tv. She loves sinking into the worlds of her stories and hopes you do too!

Customer Reviews

Her lack of memory was unsatisfying and not explained.
Jane
Overall, the story was fast paced with a lot of passion, action and unique characters.
I. Cespedes
If you love any of these things don't walk, run to the bookstore!
Bookaholics Reviewer

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Mrs Dee on December 3, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
After looking through some of the other reviews, I'm not sure we read the same book. I'll preface this review by saying that I am a huge fan of Emma Holly's erotica and was thrilled when she began the Upyr series. I love erotic romance and paranormal romance, but all too often authors in both genres write predictable stories with stereotypes instead of characters, even if the sex between the main characters is sizzling hot. Holly writes smoking hot erotic scenes, but what makes the difference for me is that her characters have layers, depth and complexity, they behave in a realistic manner (aside from the magical-blood-drinking-creature of it all) and the dialogue is solid. Her heroes and heroines are far from perfect, and yet their flaws make them unique and give them a wonderful realism. This is why for me, this series is one of the best in the genre in the last several years.

And yet, I'm totally torn on how I felt about the book on the whole and where book #2 seems to be headed. I both loved and HATED it, and I'll tell you why.

SPOILERS AHEAD.

The only love that medieval soldier Christian Durand has known in his life is that of his friends and comrades in arms, until he is visited by a spectral young girl named Grace. Although she never tells him this, Grace is from hundreds of years in the future and her last memory before dying is of being battered by her angry, violent father because she kissed a boy. An 'angel' in a strange limbo realm agrees to show her someone who is her soul's dearest friend through time, and she finds herself stuck with Christian.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mary on August 25, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I just read this book and I seriously have no idea as to what happened. Time travelling, angels, ghosts, vampires, people are dead then not, their super powers suddenly change, "you don't have one true love," but wait "you only have one true love!" What the heck? To the author, try picking one theme and one central message. To everybody else, don't waste your brain cells.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Mass Market Paperback
STORY BRIEF:
In 1950 Ohio, Grace is 18. Her father beats her. The current beating causes her to go unconscious. Her spirit travels to 1460 Switzerland where she meets Christian. Grace is able to switch back and forth between ghost form and human form. She and Christian have a lot of sex.

Christian's father Gregori is evil and has Christian whipped for being kind to a puppy. Gregori is the leader of a group of mercenary soldiers including his son. Nim is an Upyr, an immortal race superior to humans who drink blood and avoid the sun. She hires Gregori's men to escort her on a two-week trip. She wants to seduce Christian, but he's not interested. Therefore she has sex with various other soldiers. When she drinks their blood, they become stronger for a while.

REVIEWER'S OPINION:
The plot didn't do anything for me. I wasn't engaged or entertained. It was plodding rather than interesting. There are bad guys and bad things happen. Grief causes the hero to do certain things. One storyline was evil dad wants son to be subservient to him so he kills everything the son loves. It's not a bad idea, but it wasn't developed well. It needed more.

Nim had an odd role at the end. We don't understand her thoughts and feelings and why she did what she did at the end.

Grace's last name was Gladwell in the beginning of the book. At the end it was Michaels. Was this a typo? It wasn't explained.

There is a lot of sex, including rear door activity. There are also gay men with each other.

CAUTION SPOILERS:
Gregori asked Nim to seduce his soldiers to give them strength. He said he would then kill Christian's soldiers and give Christian to Nim. She does this.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By HS on November 18, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I read most of the book, but couldn't bring myself to finish it.

The beginning drew me in. I loved the time traveling ghost idea. The early sex scenes are hot!

But the plot goes nowhere from there. Mistress Wei should have seduced the soldiers in a couple of chapters, not dragged out chapter after chapter. Worse, Christian and Grace seem to exist on the outside, watching the plot unfold but taking very little active role in it. The hero and heroine should advance the plot, not secondary characters. It's difficult to care much about Charles, William and Phillipe. They have no back stories and aren't complex characters.

The emotional conflict also stalls. The only sticking point between them is whether Grace will remain a ghost or not. With the plot going nowhere, the book really needed more emotional conflict to keep the reader interested.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Devil at Midnight by Emma Holly
Paranormal Romance -Nov 2nd, 2010
5 stars

Devil at Midnight is an amazing new installment to Emma Holly's Upyr series. In this book the author explores reincarnated love between 2 touching and abused characters which this reader did not want to end!! But even if you are new to this series this book can easily be read by itself.

Grace Gladwell is young and beautiful but she has a terrible secret. Her father is abusive and demeaning and in a fit of rage he kills her. Grace finds herself in heaven where an angel tells her she has the chance to meet her best friend/soulmate. Grace jumps at the chance even though she finds herself meeting him for the 1st time as a ghost. She discovers he is a lonely and honorable young man named Christian Durand who lives under the brutal and watchful eye of his mercenary father in Medieval England. Together they find a rare connection that leads to a sweet and poignant love. But their budding love and sexual attraction are hindered by Grace's incorporeal form and a dangerous immortal named Nim Wei who wants Christian for herself. And is willing to do anything to keep him.

I simply LOVED this book. Emma Holly has written a steamy romance that made me blush as Grace and Christian try to make love although they can't really touch each other. This only added to the sexual tension as I really wanted them to be together. The villains were diabolical and ruthless and I was surprisingly sad for the lonely Nim Wei. The only disappointment for some readers will be that this book does not conclude! In the next book called Angel at Dawn Grace and Christian will continue their story. But while I would usually be upset with this I can only be glad!!
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?