Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different but as good as davenport
At his home in Dallas, John James Morrison knows he is in trouble by the nocturnal visit of the security agents. They escort John to AmMath where St. John Corbiel plays a tape in which they caught John violating company policy. John tries to bluff but Corbiel kills him. The security agents arrange a cover-up to make it seem like a night guard shot John while...
Published on October 5, 2000 by Harriet Klausner

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I basically liked it
I'm a "Prey" fan, and was happy to find an additional series by the same author. I read the other two Kidd novels in paperback, and enjoyed them both. This one is written intelligently, like all of Sandford's novels; I can't stand books that are written for 5th graders.
I confess to being in the computer field, which I think would make a difference in this...
Published on October 29, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different but as good as davenport, October 5, 2000
At his home in Dallas, John James Morrison knows he is in trouble by the nocturnal visit of the security agents. They escort John to AmMath where St. John Corbiel plays a tape in which they caught John violating company policy. John tries to bluff but Corbiel kills him. The security agents arrange a cover-up to make it seem like a night guard shot John while discovering him in a forbidden area late at night.

John's sister Lane Ward believes the official interpretation of her sibling's death rings false. She asks John's former partner Kidd to investigate her brother's death. Kidd, an expert on stealing data traveling along the information highway, agrees. He learns that John uncovered something major that led to his deliberate murder. Kidd and his partner LuEllen begin to uncover a monster conspiracy involving AmMath and the Feds using technology to hide murder and blackmail. That knowledge could make Kidd the next dead person.

It has been about a decade since John Sandford wrote a Kidd novel (see THE FOOL'S RUN and THE EMPRESS FILE) having switched to the popular Prey novels. Perhaps the earlier Kidd tales were ahead of the times, but with the Internet, Intranet, and Extranet explosion, THE DEVIL'S CODE plays like a modern day electronic thriller. The tale is well executed due to Kidd's intellect, witticism, and ethical beliefs. Although it may seem hard to accept an electronic thief has scruples, Kidd does and that propels his compulsion to investigate. Best selling author John Sandford has returned with one of his great characters in a story that will please more than just net conspiracy buffs because of its fast-paced, gigabit loaded hard driving plot.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I basically liked it, October 29, 2000
By A Customer
I'm a "Prey" fan, and was happy to find an additional series by the same author. I read the other two Kidd novels in paperback, and enjoyed them both. This one is written intelligently, like all of Sandford's novels; I can't stand books that are written for 5th graders.
I confess to being in the computer field, which I think would make a difference in this novel. It's kind of odd: if you don't enjoy the details you might not be able to follow it, but on the other hand I don't think it has the kind of hard-core details for the true techies.
The characters are kind of lightly drawn; I thought that LuEllen started sounding like the woman assasin in the last Prey novel. I also felt that the novel wandered somewhere in the middle; not quite enough involvement in the characters and not enough plot to go around. I might have been happier with this novel if it had been published in paperback; with lower expectations I think he would get a better response.
You might be happier waiting for the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and funny, October 3, 2000
By 
Conspiracy galore here in this new novel by John Sandford. I'm not too familiar with the author's "Prey" novels, but I certainly enjoyed this one. The main character, Kidd (no first name) and his cohort, LuEllen, investigate the murder of one of Kidd's computer colleagues. The story moves extremely quickly - the crackling conversation between Kidd and LuEllen is a breeze to read and very enjoyable. Now, I have to go find the two previous Kidd-LuEllen novels! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Departure From The Prey Series, October 17, 2000
John Sandford's Prey Series has been becoming more and more stale with each book. Easy Prey which was released earlier this year was by far the worst book yet. That is why I was amazed to hear that Sandford was releasing another book so soon. I was expecting the worst. However, I was pleasently surprised to learn that The Devil's Code was actually the third Kidd and Luellen book. I grant you that this one was not as good as the first two(The Fool's Run and The Empress File) but it was still enjoyable. This kind of book is exactly the kind of change of pace that all authors who write a series should write. I agree with some of the other reviews that Lucas Davenport is a better character, but let's be honest have any of the recent Prey novels come even close to some of the earliest books like Rules Of Prey and Eyes of Prey? Take this book for what it is, a very good departure form a great author. The plot drags at some points but overall it is an interesting suspense story. Now let's hope Sandford breaths some life into that other series or we all be hoping for more Kidd novels instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as satisfying as most Sandford books...., November 16, 2000
By 
Ree Mancini (San Diego, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being an avid fan of the 'Prey' series this book was a bit of a disappointment. I have read the two previous Kidd books and liked them better than this one as well. I kept expecting something more to happen here. I would agree with other reviewers about the characters not being as well drawn as they could have been. The most I can say is this is not a bad book but neither will you stay up late to finish it either. A luke-warm review for a luke-warm book. <Ree-views>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE KIDD NOVELS AREN'T NEARLY AS GOOD AS THE PREY ONES!, October 7, 2000
I hope "The Devil's Code" is John Sandford's last Non-Prey novel because it just doesn't compare to Easy Prey and the other Prey's. "The Devil's Code's" plot is so much different than the Prey series that it is hard to enjoy it. I did not like the characters at all in this novel. One of the main characters is a professional criminal and the other one (his girlfriend) is a cocaine addict, AND THEY'RE SUPPOSED TO BE THE GOOD GUYS. The plot is quite interesting but confusing in some parts. The plot: Clipper II is a software program created by AmMath Industries, that the U.S. Government wants so intelligent hackers can not hack in to the United States's private and confidential files. The leader of AmMath, St. John Corbeil, is not a good man. He is using the millions of dollars provided to him by the US to create and run Clipper II for satellite spying activities. He then takes pictures of certain activities going on in those countries and uses them to his advantage. This is highly illegal and only Corbeil and his two goons, Hart and Benson, know about it. In order for the government not to find out about their illegal practices, Corbeil and his men create "FIREWALL," a fake group of hackers that are creating havoc on other govermenent organizations and the IRS. The government thinks that they are hackers doing the damage and they go off looking for them, but the truth is that it is Corbeil just creating a distration to throw off the NSA. Jack Morrison, a computer genius and Kidd (the main character's old friend), is hired to work on a separate computer for AmMath. Morrison and his partner, Lighter, are both killed because they end up uncovering what AmMath is doing. Lane Ward, Morrison's brother, Kidd and his girlfriend LuEllen, aka Mrs. Cocaine, are on the hunt to try and stop Corbeil and discovering how to bring his evil plan down and out of the open before more lives are destroyed. If you are a fan of LUCAS DAVENPORT, and don't like computer/hacker murder mysteries, then I can almost guarantee you that you will not like this novel. It is quite interesting (especially if you work for a computer company), but if don't like these kinds of novels then... wait for CHOSEN PREY to come out in MAY 2001.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light Hearted Romp, November 20, 2001
By 
I decided to give The Devil's Code a whirl because I am a big fan of John Sandford's Prey series. I'm glad I did. If you enjoy a light hearted romp through intrigue, mystery, suspense, sex and high tech complexity, you would be well advised to do the same.
Granted, The Devil's Code doesn't have the intensity of the Prey series. This is the story of a part time artist, part time criminal and part time computer hacker who gets dragged into a high level political investigation that involves the FBI, CIA and other law enforcement agencies. Although he is completely innocent of any involvement, Kidd -- the book's main character - needs to find the real criminals before the investigation leads to him. His mysterious and talented sometimes partner, LuEllen, shows up to help him and add spice to the narrative.
While the Prey books deal in realism, The Devil's Code is pure escapism. One of Kidd's hacker friends is murdered and his (the friend's) sister asks Kidd to help her find the murderer. This sets off an action-packed chain of events involving espionage, conspiracy, violence and suspense. But it's all fairly superficial. From virtually any phone booth or motel room, Kidd is able to access a complex network of computer hackers to get the information he needs. No dial-up problems, no slow network speeds, no disconnects - just instant response with the answers Kidd needs. For a heavy Internet user this seems a bit fictional, but that is what this is, fiction.
And the criminal plot that slowly unfolds before us is truly ingenious. The bad guys have devised a way to access highly sensitive government information for great monetary gain. But I won't reveal what this is because it would ruin the story. Read it, and have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed In John Sandford, November 25, 2000
By 
I felt t was a waste of money and time - I did not finish this book - first time in many years. I have read most of Sandford's books - but could not follow this one - It was just very, very boring. The only little flavor in the book was reading about LuEllen - did not even turn to the last page - couldn't care at all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for my first look at the 'Kidd' series., May 27, 2004
Most readers of John Sandford are fans of the 'Prey' series featuring Lucas Davenport, but the Kidd series is a change of pace but still features the same action-packed pace that we've come to expect from Sandford (with a higher concentration on technology).
This was my first taste of the Kidd series and it was actually a good read. Kidd, the lead character, is a part-time painter, part-time hi-tech hacker/thief, who always seems to get dragged into the government's business...and not the good part of the government. Along with his partner, and sometime lover, LuEllen, they get in and out of messes several times over.
While there are a couple of lulls in the action, this is still a very well written book with an interesting, hi-tech plot that remains very easy to follow whether you're computer literate or not. THE DEVIL'S CODE may not be at the top of you "to read"
list, but it should be there somewhere. If nothing else, read it so you'll have a good level of familiarity with the Kidd series before you start on one of the great books of the last couple of years, and the fourth Kidd series book, THE HANGED MAN'S SONG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Popcorn Read, March 23, 2004
By 
C. T. Mikesell (near Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Devil's Code is the equivalent of an early-summer movie: long on special effects and action; character development and thoroughly coherent plotlines, not so much.
Although I'm a long-time fan of Sandford's Prey series, this is the first of the Kidd novels I've read. I must say I really liked it. (...) Kidd has a more upbeat outlook on life than Davenport, although both share a dry, sardonic wit. Davenport and Kidd also share uncanny instincts and surround themselves with colleagues who excel at what they do - Davenport: police-work; Kidd: crime. Minneapolis-St. Paul only briefly provides a setting for this book, then it's off to sunnier, warmer climes in California and Texas.
For the most part Sandford does well in crafting this departure from his normal fare. He slips here and there (Santa Cruz, for instance is on the other side of a mountain range from Silicon Valley), but does a pretty good job of getting most things right. I liked the detail he went into as Kidd and LuEllen went on their heists (whether he got everything right or not, I don't know; it sounded convincing at any rate). The light tone and humor are well balanced, never crossing over into Carl Hiaasen absurdism (I'm not knocking Hiaasen, he pulls off that style exceptionally well).
I look forward to reading the other Kidd novels. Several reviewers here have suggested the earlier books are even better than this one. If that's the case they must be very good, indeed, as this book was quite a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Devil's Code (Kidd)
The Devil's Code (Kidd) by John Sandford
$5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.