Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great British Zombie Flick
This is a zombie film that ranks with Dawn of the Dead, Shaun of the Dead, and the 28 Days/Weeks films. The acting was good, the special effects were great, with original appearance and motion of the zombies/infected. It's not hokey, and the ending was good while leaving a possibility of a sequel. The British are definitely raising the bar for good zombie movies and are...
Published on November 4, 2011 by Susan Elizabeth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Devil's Playground......
You'd think, with a title like Devil's Playground, this movie would have some supernatural angle to it. That isn't the case with this movie. Directed by Mark McQueen, Devil's Playground tells the tale that flesh-eaters have taken over London. Humanity's last and only hope for survival lies in one woman's DNA. A mercenary named Cole is tasked with bringing her in but, not...
Published on September 11, 2012 by blackaciddevil


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great British Zombie Flick, November 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a zombie film that ranks with Dawn of the Dead, Shaun of the Dead, and the 28 Days/Weeks films. The acting was good, the special effects were great, with original appearance and motion of the zombies/infected. It's not hokey, and the ending was good while leaving a possibility of a sequel. The British are definitely raising the bar for good zombie movies and are on a winning streak. Hopefully more are on the way! I don't like spoilers or getting into a post-mortem of the movie, so I just recommend that this is a must-see for zombie fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, January 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just imagine the "zombies" of 28 Days Later on high doses of crank and performance enhancing drugs and you will get a good idea about this movie.
The acting is great and the action is non stop and extremely lethal! A very, very entertaining movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man, These Guys Can Move!..., May 9, 2013
This review is from: Devil's Playground (DVD)
Another plague has broken out in London, causing normal humans to become growling, flesh-chomping zombies w/ cat-like quickness (Ala 28 DAYS / WEEKS LATER). A small band of survivors seek refuge in a mechanic's garage, until forced to make a run for it. DEVIL'S PLAYGROUND is one of the better "runner" or "infected" zombie films. Those still insisting that all such creatures must shamble slowly, while moaning politely, will be disappointed once more. These biters are hopped-up on goofballs! Some of them jump like that maniac at the beginning of CASINO ROYALE! I loved the whole bloody thing!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, April 1, 2012
By 
This review is from: Devil's Playground (DVD)
I actually really liked this movie. I like how the Brits do the infection thing rather than just the plain old zombie thing. These bad boys can run and jump, which I gotta say is entertaining because you know that they can chase your butt down. I liked the fact that it had a backstory instead of just waking up and everyone being infected. The acting was really good too which is a plus in the movie's favor. I am definitely going to be adding this to my collection for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why oh why oh why!, April 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil's Playground (DVD)
Why do people who clearly hate zombie movies keep watching, let alone reviewing, them? One after another zombie movie gets shot down until only the absolute grossest are left standing? Apparently, unless every single aspect of every single zombie attack on every single victim is depicted in the most wrenchingly graphic detail, with full zoom in full effect, the movie's a bust. When I try to imagine the kind of zombie movie that would appeal to such zombie fans, all I can conjure up is a twelve year old with ADD picking his nose while he farts continuously and wails over and over "I'm bored! I'm bored! I want to see people getting torn apart every second! I'm bored!." Here's a news flash: there is such a think as suspense, and two thirds of any good horror movie consists of building the suspense so that when whatever it is that's going to happen happens, it's actually scary. Sorry, but the grossness of the attack is no substitute for the suspense leading up to it.

That said, "Devil's Playground" is a great zombie movie. Note that I didn't say "a great movie" but rather "a great zombie movie." If I want to see a great movie, I'll watch something like "The Mayor of Casterbridge." Face it, there are only so many plot devices possible in a zombie movie - the number one being which of the lead characters will make it, which will not. So it was with "Devil's Playground." Yes, you can pretty well tell who definitely won't make it - e.g., the elite couple who got rescued and tagged along with their rescuers looking for a chance to ditch them and save themselves; but you can't always tell who maybe won't make it - e.g., Steve, best friend of Angie' husband Joe; or Angie' brother Matthew or his wife (I never did get her name); or Cole, the only employee of N-Gen to survive, N-Gen being the biotech company whose experiments in marketing a new high-energy supplement created the zombies in the first place. In other words, in terms of zombie movies: who will get bitten, who will not.

One of the things that makes a great zombie movie great is atmosphere. "Resident Evil" had it, as did "28 Days Later" - and so, too, does "Devil's Playground" have it. First there's the sterile atmosphere of the company's lab; then the atmosphere of the city as Angie and her sister-in-law attempt to escape the madness; then the atmosphere of the countryside, where all zombies eventually congregate; and, finally, the atmosphere of the warehouse district, where a helicopter is known to sit. So, of course, all roads lead all characters to that enchanted rooftop where rescue for anyone who makes it is only a flight in a whirlybird away. Or not.

Along with the handling of the usual zombie elements, "Devil's Playground" has at least two trump cards: Danny Dyer and Craig Fairbrass. So don't anybody dare diss the acting! Dyer as Joe and, especially, Fairbrass as Cole are nothing short of superb! Oh, by the way, here's another news flash: if a movie - even a zombie movie - is lucky enough to get such actors as Danny Dyer and Craig Fairbrass, it has to put a little extra meat on the characters' psyches to better showcase their talent. Translated for twelve year olds: yeah, it's gonna get a little boring for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE FOR ZOMBIE FANS, January 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil's Playground (DVD)
This Movie was Excellent. It's like 28 days later Meets, Resident Evil, meets Dawn of the Dead....In Fact i enjoyed it more Than 28 Days Later? It's been along time since i enjoyed a good zombie movie until this Devil's Playground. This Film is worth every Penny.... for the die hard Zombie Fan.... I like the fact that they take their time with it,and explain how the Virus originated from...and takes us to the streets to see the chaos unfold... Very well written and Acted....Thumbs up to this one.... It should have had a wideworld Release........Don't miss out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, July 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I gave this movie 4**** this movie was great, you will not be disappointed when you watch this film .I'm a zombie movie fan and I haven't seen a movie this good since Dawn of The Dead and of course The walking Dead .I must say that British are really making great zombie movies. I think they need to merge with some of the film makers in the U.S and come up with a great zombie film. Until next time, I wilL looking for another zombie film that's worth watching over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Devil's Playground......, September 11, 2012
By 
blackaciddevil (in the USA somewhere.....) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil's Playground (DVD)
You'd think, with a title like Devil's Playground, this movie would have some supernatural angle to it. That isn't the case with this movie. Directed by Mark McQueen, Devil's Playground tells the tale that flesh-eaters have taken over London. Humanity's last and only hope for survival lies in one woman's DNA. A mercenary named Cole is tasked with bringing her in but, not only will he battle all manner of zombie to get to her, he's battling demons of his past as well.

While this movie was relatively entertaining, I'm afraid it felt too much like I'd seen this one somewhere before. It seemed like a cross between 28 Days/Weeks Later,the Resident Evil movies, and Children of Men to me. Course, I'm not the only one who sees that relation, lol. At any rate, I really wanted to like this one but there are so many other low-budget zombie apocalypse movies out there that do it much better with a new spin on things, to boot. The actors did a pretty good job of things. The cinematography and production were also good, so-for all intents and purposes- this movie should've kicked some tail...but it didn't do much, at all, for me. At times, it rocked. Then, other times, it didn't. Seems I was bored more than I was excited.

Devil's Playground is great for a rental but, as far as a definite purchase, I'd pass on that one. You'll be wishing you spent that money on something more deserving. Hopefully, Director Mark McQueen will get things right in his next movie. Providing, lol, it isn't a zombie movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, April 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil's Playground (DVD)
This movie was actually not bad. It takes itself seriously and is fairly interesting with decent special effects and acting. The biggest problem I have here is with the infected themselves. They are fast-moving creatures in the vein of "28 Days Later" but they also jump, spin, and roll around like a bunch of demented monkeys. It is supposed to be frightening but it really comes across as silly seeing zombies/infected jumping around like baboons on crack. Also the don't seem to have any consistancy on what kills the zombies and how they die. Sometimes the zombies seem to be killed quite easily, while other times they appear almost impossible to kill. Occasionally the British accents get a little hard to follow but that is a minor inconvenience. Overall an enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A TERRIBLE MOVIE FOR ALL IT IS!!!!!!!!!!, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hello, Terrible just is not a strong enough word for this movie. I think it taxed my brain just to watch it. Please pass on this one for you own good. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Devil's Playground
Devil's Playground by Mark McQueen (DVD - 2011)
$14.93 $10.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.