Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Colt Legacy Continues
The Devil's Right Hand is a treat for those interested in a historic look at the Colt legacy. John Colt, Sam Colt's brother is brought to life in Phelp's book. The reader will become immersed in John the person, not so evil or diabolical and for that matter "just maybe" not even guilty. Did public opinion convict and sentence John Colt to die, or was it the crime itself...
Published on January 13, 2012 by Colt Employee

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Right Hand
The material was interesting enough, but the writing was labored and somewhat disjointed, and the theme difficult to follow. I think this book would have benefitted enormously from rigorous editing.
Published on December 15, 2011 by GBM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Right Hand, December 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The material was interesting enough, but the writing was labored and somewhat disjointed, and the theme difficult to follow. I think this book would have benefitted enormously from rigorous editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, February 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was a little disappointed. M. William Phelps is one of my favorite authors. But it was more like a textbook than a free-flowing story. I wish that I had known that, then I probably wouldn't have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Colt Legacy Continues, January 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Devil's Right Hand is a treat for those interested in a historic look at the Colt legacy. John Colt, Sam Colt's brother is brought to life in Phelp's book. The reader will become immersed in John the person, not so evil or diabolical and for that matter "just maybe" not even guilty. Did public opinion convict and sentence John Colt to die, or was it the crime itself? It is amazing to read the similarities that exist today as they did in the past...need I say more, did the press, gossip and mistruths convict John Colt. After John Adams was killed, did John Colt hide the body to protect his brother Sam and cover up a murder? Did he hide the body because he was an insecure person, thinking no one would believe it was self-defense? In the end, who was the victim? Not even the great Sam Colt could protect his brother from his eventual fate. The Colt family story is a tragic one. At the time of John Colt's death, Sam's gun business in Patterson was a failure and his brother now dead who would have thunk then that Sam Colt would go onto greatness in Hartford, CT. Even today, the Colt Legacy continues! .

A long-time dedicated Colt employee...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Period intrigue !!, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like this period of history you will be intrigued by this carefully researched and well
Written tale of the Colt family. Amazon is my Go-to source for hard to find titles at a Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Public & private lives of the Colts, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The majority of the book deals with the murder committed by JC Colt & the resulting trial. There is also quite a lot about Samuel Colt's (JC's brother, founder of the Colt gun manufacturing company) rise in business. Only about the last twenty to thirty pages deal with the tragedies afflicting Samuel Colt's family. I was expecting much more detail on the tragic side of Samuel Colt's life. In addition, the author occasionally forgets the period he is writing about (the mid to late 19th century) & uses slang expressions, i.e., "slap upside the head," "hook up with," "kids,", which are quite jarring in context. However, the premise of "The Devil's Right Hand" is quite interesting & the resulting book does follow through in supporting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay But......, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Right Hand (Kindle Edition)
This book just was not what I had expected from this Author.It was just too long and drawn out with too much useless facts that were repetitive.In a nutshell I finished this book but with effort.Don't get me wrong though.This is a good book with a lot of information on the Colt family.It just was not something that I was expecting.The book could have been made much shorter and given the information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Right Hand (Kindle Edition)
We read this as a bookclub and absolutely were entralled with the family and their endless tragedies. We all drive by the Colt building almost daily and never knew the whole story behind the building, Church, people and parks in the area that Mrs. Colt was responsible for developing which are still being used today! Author gets a little long winded at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Devil's Right Hand
The Devil's Right Hand by M. William Phelps
$9.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.