Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 10, 2011
I LOVED Vicki Myron's first book, Dewey. I wiped away numerous tears the first time around. This second book however did not do it for me. It seems rather haphazard and carelessly written. Most of the cat stories are not endearing but rather portray crazy behaviors exhibited by some cat owners. I felt sorry for a lot of the cats in the book. One subject even admitted to making up parts of her story. Another discrepancy that I noted was that she states on page 4 that Dewey only liked to sit on someone's right shoulder, but on page 290 (and in the original book) it states only the left shoulder. I could have done without the drawn out introduction to Vicki's new significant other. The best read and written material in my opinion was actually not even done by Vicki but was authored by Kristie Graham about her cat, Marshmallow. That chapter was humorous and delightful to read.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2010
truly a delightful book. stories of cat and their owners, or should i say people and the cats that own them. i do think you have to be a cat person to like this book. i enjoyed all the different stories of how cats and their people connect. our pets do become part of our family and can often bring family members together. i believe Vicky Myron took the best of all the stories and again, has written a very funny, witty and fascination book.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2010
Nine stories about cats of all kinds are told in DEWEY'S NINE LIVES. Author Vicki Myron responded to the overwhelming reaction to her first book, DEWEY, by compiling and sharing these stories of other unique cats and their owners. Each tale is different --- depending upon both the individual cat's personality and the circumstances of the owner --- but shares many similarities. In several instances, the cat owner experiences difficulties of some sort --- whether poverty, post-traumatic stress disorder, alcoholism, unemployment, or alienation and loneliness. It doesn't matter if the cat is a cuddler, a watcher, a clown, a hunter, or a lapcat. Each holds an important role in the life of its owner or companion. And each human readily acknowledges the value and importance of the cat's companionship and affection.

The felines include, but are not limited to, Mr. Sir Bob Kittens, who does a strange karate-type dance while standing on his hind legs; Tobi, a very timid cat who remains in hiding unless her owner Yvonne is nearby; and Spooky, who likes motorcycle rides --- under 25 miles per hour, that is. Although cats are carnivorous, Cookie loves broccoli rabe. Rusty, a rather large cat, has a taste for people food and loves relaxing in a bathtub full of water. Anyone who has ever owned a cat will confirm that no two cats are alike, and the stories in this book are certainly proof of that.

At a resort on Sanibel Island, Flordia, Tabby rides in the basket of Mary Nan's bike. In the 1980s, Sanibel Island has an abundance of feral cats, and many of them end up at Mary Nan's. First, one cat shows up. Then another. Before long, she and her husband are running an unofficial feline shelter.

As a farmboy, Bill rescues animals and owns a pet raccoon. He volunteers for the army and serves in Vietnam, where he encounters the unspeakable side of war. He returns with post-traumatic stress disorder, which plagues him for many years. The only constant in his life is the little kitten that had somehow escaped the grip of an owl in flight and landed on Bill's car. He rescues the kitten, which he names Spooky. Many years later, Bill adds another kitten, Zippo, to the family. Both have feline AIDS.

Glenn is under the dashboard working on his old 1953 Studebaker Commander when he feels something land on his chest --- a small orange and white kitten. Glenn pets the kitten, which stretches out on his chest. It isn't frightened by the banging of tools, so Glenn continues to work on his car. An immediate bond is formed.

The stories here are as varied as the cats and their people. Also included is information about Dewey and Vicki's lives. The final chapter contains a very happy ending for Dewey's mom. And it's no great surprise that a cat is part of that story, too.

--- Reviewed by Carole Turner, cat lover
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2010
Just so you know...I cry a lot through books about how an animal can make you feel, their inspiration, and their complete and total unconditional love to us, but it's such a good cry. I just love to be reminded of how incredibly important animals can be in our lives and how they deserve our mutual love, respect, and protection. An animal can't speak for themselves and tell you what's right and what's wrong, or what hurts. We have to do that for them, to help them, and care for them, to stand up for them when something is wrong or inhumane. But sometimes it's forgotten what an animal's love can do for them, the inspiration that they can provide.

Dewey's Nine Lives reminds you that the magic of an animal's love and devotion can be found everywhere, not just in one library in Spencer, Iowa -- but one little cat named Dewey had such an amazing story that it brought out the personal stories of people with their own cats, in such an incredible outpouring of love, inspiration, and most especially, the amazing bond one can have with their precious pets.

Dewey's Nine Lives is such a feel good book that reminds us of the importance of animals in our lives, perfect for the holidays!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 2, 2013
DEWEY'S NINE LIVES is a collection of personal essays that Vicki Myron and Bret Witter received after the publication of Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World. It consists of nine personal essays from people whose lives have been enriched by cats, a prologue and an epilogue.

These essays are very heartfelt. The owners (if one really does own a cat!) make readers laugh, cry, and cheer for them. Readers feel what the authors feel and want to keep reading to see how things will turn out.

I regret, though, that I have to stop at a high three-star rating in this case, no higher. Granted, the concept of the story was to show how Dewey and other cats reached people's hearts and saw people through hard times; in some cases the cats even saved people's lives. These people sent their personal essays (and that is what these are!) to Myron and Witter after reading about Dewey in Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World. However, Myron and Witter seem to step in during these essays to mention how similar the cat(s) being highlighted in a particular essay are (or are not) similar to Dewey. I would have liked this book better if Myron and Witter had backed off more and let readers see for themselves. It would be reasonable to assume that people who selected DEWEY'S NINE LIVES have probably read Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World.

Also, though it's a picky-picky editing problem, I found too many confused words (such as "peak" the noun for "peek" the verb) that should have been corrected by the time the book was released to the public. Confused words and typographical problems can be common problems in advance reader copies, but not in the final copy to the public.

Who am I: A college composition instructor who also has a library science degree.
How I acquired this book: It was a remainder (on the clearance table) at my college's book store.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2011
Vicky did a great job of finding out the details in the stories she put in this book. It really is a great follow-up to the original Dewey book, and I enjoyed hearing more about him from a different perspective.

Reading about the people talking about their animals in the most heartfelt way really resonated, especially since I'm such an animal lover myself. And, I'm really glad I got just a little more Dewey, since he seemed like such an awesome cat!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
Having heard about Dewey, the library cat, I was curious. This book, not the original, is both a sequel in that it follows other cats similar to Dewey insofar as they changed their humans' lives; however, it also is something of an autobiography of Vicki Myron, in that she weaves other details of Dewey's and her own life into the stories she tells of these other cats.

Cat lovers will enjoy these stories and see their own special animals in the events that are covered. What I enjoyed most was the creative names Vicki gives her special "library" cats, and the uplifting manner in which the book moves from the difficulties all experienced, often as kittens, before being adopted by--or adopting--the humans who came to be so much a part of their lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After reading Dewey and crying like a baby at the end, I was so excited to learn of this new Dewey book. Once again, Vicki has brought tears to my eyes with such wonderful stories of the most unlikely people and their cats. I've been a lover of all things cat all my life and can honestly say that without my furrbabies in my life, life wouldn't be worth living. Vicki has certainly validated that thought by the stories she shares in her book. I can only hope that Page Turner will be with her for many years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
I will read anything about cats, which is why I refer to myself as a Cat a holic. I wrote it out that way, otherwise it looks like im saying Catholic, which I am no longer. Cataholic. See?
Anyway, Myron knows how to perfectly describe tje relationship between human and feline. It is a special relationship; unlike that of a canine and human, one has to work to build a relationship with a feline, whereas with a canine, a good chew toy or snack will get a human a canine companion for life.
As with her previous book, Myron is able to showcase these special relationships between humans and their feline masters, without being sappy or dry.
I suppose a review from a non Cataholic (why would such a person exist? What would the meaning of existence be without a feline? I shudder at the thought.) would be a lot more interesting as one would be able to surmise whether or not she has truly been able to display the unique relationship between human and feline.
I look forward to reading more of her books. And I think it's wonderful that she found love with another Cataholic. A man who loves cats is defintely a catch!
Here is a picture of my most recent rescue, Simba, a 7 year old altered male who was found in a zippered canvas bag in a parking lot in San Francisco. He had 48 hours left to live before being euthanized only because he was not adopted.
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2012
Taking inspiration from her beloved Dewey, Vicki Myron reached back to the people who reached out to her when her furry friend passed away. She listened to their stories, and the stories of the cats in their lives, and honored the memory of Dewey by re-telling them in a book. Dewey's story touched people across the world, and now the stories of these other amazing cats can be shared. Each story is just as inspiring, and as whimsical, as Dewey's story. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse