Customer Reviews


891 Reviews
5 star:
 (707)
4 star:
 (113)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


185 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How are they able to do it?
I began watching the 7th Season with low expectations. I became disappointed with Dexter after Season 4 as some of the murders became inplausable and I thought the series lacked the creativity and suspense of the first two seasons. The show's pattern of watching Dexter stalk other serial killers became too familiar with less attention focused on character development...
Published on November 1, 2012 by B. Law

versus
56 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show, fantastic season, but worst dvd sets I've ever seen
It hurts me to give Dexter less than Five stars, and the show itself deserves five stars. This season is fantastic too. What I am commenting on here is the poor dvd sets Showtime produces. The Dexter DVD sets have no, or next to no, extras on them that actually relate to the show. Instead, they make you go online to find any extras. Then they load the set you are...
Published on November 20, 2012 by RMB


‹ Previous | 1 290 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

185 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How are they able to do it?, November 1, 2012
By 
B. Law (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dexter: Season 7 (DVD)
I began watching the 7th Season with low expectations. I became disappointed with Dexter after Season 4 as some of the murders became inplausable and I thought the series lacked the creativity and suspense of the first two seasons. The show's pattern of watching Dexter stalk other serial killers became too familiar with less attention focused on character development. In my experience, it is *character development* that makes a series like this so watchable. With Season 7, the show has restored itself to a level of viewership found in earlier seasons.

In Season 7, while Dexter's character continues to evolve, the show focuses more on Deb's character. Watching Deb and Dexter interact is fascinating - they both evolve in their relationship as each learns more about one another. As Deb learns more about Dexter, we watch with anticipation how she reacts as she battles her own demons. The evolution of Deb's character takes center stage in this season, a break in the series. Dexter's new nemesis - the head of a crime family played with charm and great intensity by Ray Stevenson - is far more complex than the killer in Season 6.

Yvonne Strahovski does a terrific job playing Hannah McKay - a mysterious and cunning character who has the rare opportunity of getting close enough to Dexter to earn some of his trust. One of the more philosophical questions this season poses is the cost/benefit of making yourself vulnerable in relationships. And Erik King makes a welcome and sometimes humorous return playing Doakes during flashbacks - the only person who was on to Dexter from the beginning.

A great show like Dexter takes the audience to a place it's never been before. In season 1, we had a glimpse for the very first time how a serial killer might think and feel on an intimate level. In Season 7, the audience is taken to another place we can only try to imagine: what would it be like to learn your brother was a serial killer? How would you feel? And what would you do if your job was to protect the public from the very kind of person your brother had become? Watching someone work through the complexity of these emotions makes great television. To keep this series fresh after 6 seasons, the show had to do more than its already done.

The producers have made wise decisions by taking the audience back into new territory. So if you've watched the other 6 seasons and are thinking of quitting, give this season a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW - Season 7 is one of the best yet!, December 29, 2012
This review is from: Dexter: Season 7 (DVD)
I have to admit I almost lost interest in the show after Season 5. Season 6 was pretty good I thought (Edward James Olmos in a villainous role was kind of fun and I thought he did a good job). But Season 7 has just been great and for so many reasons. First of all there are lots of very poignant jewels of wisdom in Dexter's reflections on life and these ring true even for those who are not serial killers. Second, they shifted the plot up in season 7 - it's not just Dexter against some new psycho, but rather Dexter in love with the new psycho, not to mention other interesting subplots, including one that develops in a big way and will lead us with great anticipation into the next season. This anticipation for the next season was something I didn't experience after season 5. But it's here in spades at the end of season 7! OK, and finally, the last reason I like this show is that it's often darkly humorous. Among other things, it's kind of funny bringing Sgt Doakes back into the picture - every time Doakes comes into the picture I just gotta laugh.. He's like a smaller version or Mr T, but on steroids!!! I really started enjoying this show once I accepted it for what it is - a show!! I don't demand perfect logic or beleivability in every scene, though I appreciate them when they're there.. but rather I am happy to enjoy the show in the same way I might enjoy a comic book. It has that quality about it, and it doesn't make it any the less enjoyable. Great screenplay writing in this season - very imaginative and creative and good on many levels. Now let's see how far they can push it! They've certainly crossed into new territory and seem to have backed themselves into a corner - well, that's what a good cliff-hanger's all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 7 is the best season yet for this Award-Winning TV Drama Series!, November 12, 2012
This review is from: Dexter: Season 7 (DVD)
Dexter is my favorite tv series and this season 7 is absolutely the best ever!

First of all, Hannah McKay (played by gorgeous and playful Yvonne Strahovski of "Chuck") is the most exciting sexual interest for Dexter ever! Goodie-2-shoes was done seasons 1-4 by girlfriend-turned-wife Rita (played by Julie Benz) with the relationship being mainly focused on Dexter having a cover for his true self which he hid from his family. He was able to share more of his "dark passenger" with Lumen (played by Julia Stiles) in Season 5 which is by far my second favorite season after this season 7 with Dexter's sexual encounters with an experienced killer.

I also love the development of Dexter's adopted sister and current boss Debra (played by Jennifer Carpenter) as she learns her adopted brother is a serial killer (in season 6 cliff-hanger ending) and begins her processing of this startling information this season 7. Other law enforcement characters of the fictional Miami Metro Police Department (based on the real life Miami-Dade Police Department) must also make choices in how to deal with law enforcement / law breaking.

While the writing of season 6 was too philosophical IMO for any tv drama series, the writing of this series over-all is so creative and characters are so forthrightly portrayed. Also the nemesis in season 6 seemed more annoying than dangerous and challenging, yet season 7's nemesis is more dangerous than ever with the head of a Ukrainian crime syndicate (played by all-so-handsome and debonair Ray Stevenson) targeting Dexter for revenge. Will Stevenson surpass the bar set by John Lithgow in season 4?

Michael C Hall continues with outstanding acting beyond imagination. Dexter is in danger from all directions - the mob, the police department including his sister, his new girlfriend, and even from within by a critical father voice as well as his own self-image - and all while managing to be a single parent working full-time. How will he handle it all?

It is no surprise that Dexter has been nominated for 19 Primetime Emmy Awards, in the category of Outstanding Drama Series 3 times in a row, from 2008 to 2010 and Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series (for Michael C. Hall) 4 times in a row, from 2008 to 2011. Dexter has also received over a dozen Creative Arts Emmy Awards. It has also been nominated for 7 Golden Globes (winning 2), 14 Satellite Awards (winning 7), 18 Saturn Awards (winning 5), 8 Screen Actors Guild Awards (winning 1), and 5 Writers Guild of America Awards.

I can't believe Season 8 will be the last season. How can life go on without our Dexter fix?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show, fantastic season, but worst dvd sets I've ever seen, November 20, 2012
By 
RMB (Laredo, TX, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dexter: Season 7 (DVD)
It hurts me to give Dexter less than Five stars, and the show itself deserves five stars. This season is fantastic too. What I am commenting on here is the poor dvd sets Showtime produces. The Dexter DVD sets have no, or next to no, extras on them that actually relate to the show. Instead, they make you go online to find any extras. Then they load the set you are actually paying for down with single episodes of other Showtime series they want to try and get you to buy, most of which you will have no interest in at all. Then, for the past two seasons, they have put ads for their other shows, several minutes worth, at the start of every disk in the set,and engineered it so you cannot skip or fast forward though the ads to get to the menu. This means that forever, every time you load a disk, you will have to sit through the ads with no way to avoid them. It really shows Showtime's total disrespect and distain for their customers. I would advise waiting on ordering this set and see if Showtime is going to pull the same shoddy tricks with their viewers and customers they have pulled on the last two DVD sets. At that point decide if you are willing to put up with Showtime's dirty tricks. Will I still end up buying this set? Probably,since I love the show and this season. But by not preordering so far in advance I hope a message is sent to Showtime that they are abusing their customer loyalty and to let them know that their tricks are alienating their customers. I for one will never by a Showtime dvd set other than Dexter, that is for sure. Showtime cannot be trusted.

Adding this to my entry here on 04-19-2013: I just learned that there will be no Dexter extras other than the biographies of the actors again. What is being put on the disks are as follows:

Special Features:

Ray Donovan (Pilot Episode) on Disc 4 on DVD; via UltraViolet on Blu-ray
First two episodes of the Second Season of The Borgias (DVD only)
First two episodes of the First Season of House of Lies (via E-Bridge Technology on DVD)
Biographies (DVD only)

As far as I am concerned, these are not "Special Features". They are advertising to try and get you to buy their other series as well as Dexter. Special Features, in my opinion, are extras that relate to the show you are buying. Since this follows their same pattern as the previous couple of years releases for Dexter, I fear they will also treat their customers and fans as idiots and include the forced advertising at the start of every disk as well. At the price they are asking, I for one am going to hold off buying this season of Dexter for a year and see if the price drops to something more reasonable for a bare bones release loaded with annoying forced ads and unrelated episodes of other shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limping to the finish line?, July 10, 2013
This review is from: Dexter: Season 7 (DVD)
Dexter has generated so much good will during its first five seasons, that it's easy to overlook the shortcomings of last season as well as this most recent one since we're so invested in how things are going to end for everyone's favorite serial killer. And let's face it, season 7 has a lion's share of flaws to forgive. The writing is inconsistent and lazy at times, there are too many uninvolving plot lines, way too much padding in terms of the story lines of the supporting players and the whole season feels like it is about twice as long as it needs to be. Thankfully Michael C. Hall and Jennifer Carpenter continue to give excellent performances in this penultimate season.

The action picks up following the bombshell that ended season 6. Debra witnessed Dexter murdering one of his victims thus opening up a fascinating new venues for the series to explore. Unfortunately, not enough time is devoted to the quandry of how Dexter and Debra can reconcile the dark passenger with their complicated relationship. The best moments of season 7 focus on Debra's conflict over her response to Dexter's secret and the residual effects it has on her physically and emotionally. The rest of the time the show spins its wheels with underwhelming storylines such as the romance between Dexter and a fellow murderer, Quinn's involvement with a stripper, Bautista's retirement, and a serial killer who hunts down his victims in homemade mazes. One saving grace is the dynamic that is explored between Dexter and a Ukranian mob boss who start out as enemies but come to respect and understand one another.

Thankfully, the season ends with a bang and puts things in motion for the eight and final season which will ultimately reveal Dexter's fate. Will his humanity win out over his dark passenger? Can he ever be forgiven for his actions? Should he be? Will he lose everything that he holds dear? These are the fascinating questions that I'm look forward to mulling over and they are what make the show worth sticking with until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great season, exceptionally good image quality/sound, lousy "special features", May 14, 2013
Dexter gets no respect. Showtime has continued to offer little to nothing in the way of "special features" for the series. While that might not be a big deal for some, it is, for others, one of the reasons that they buy a DVD or Blu-ray. In this instance, the DVD has better "special features" because you get access to the episode from other Showtime series ("The Borgias: Season Two-episodes 1 & 2 and the pilot for the series "Ray Donovan", biographies--something that was out of date a decade ago). Blu-ray buyers get only the pilot for "Ray Donovan". Oh, and to add insult to injury the pilot episode is only available as a Ultra Violet Download.

Four stars for the season, no stars for the special features.

I digress.

The seventh season proved that there was still some life in "Dexter". The previous season showed promise but it fully flowers here on the seventh.

SPOILERS:

Dexter is caught just after a kill by his sister Debra. She becomes complicit in Dexter's activities because she chooses not to turn him in. She also believes that she can help Dexter control his impulses. Dexter himself becomes involved with a woman who went on a killing spree as a teenager and now quietly runs her own gardening business--except she hasn't exactly given up killing.

She suggests that Dexter doesn't have a Dark Passenger at all--that it's all part of HIM which forces Dexter to re-evaluate who he is.

END OF SPOILERS:

The Blu-ray for Dexter looks exceptionally good. The early Blu-rays released by CBS for Showtime were a mixed bag with nice detail but had issues with noise. "Dexter: The Seventh Season" looks darn near perfect with skin tones spot on, solid blacks and exceptional detail.

The lossless 5.1 mix sounds marvelous as well with excellent use of the format to immerse you in the action. It's an amazingly detailed soundtrack with sounds everywhere. There's also the option for 2.0 surround as well as 5.1 French and Spanish audio tracks.

Unfortunately, subtitles are ONLY provided in English which, given that this also has French & Spanish 5.1 mixes available is an odd choice, indeed.

We spoke about special features earlier. This continues to be a failing for "Dexter". Curiously, Jennifer Carpenter tweeted earlier this year that she had completed a commentary track for the seventh season which begs the question--where is it? My guess is that once the show wraps up, CBS will release a boxed set complete with commentary tracks and other special features forcing the hardcore "Dexter" fans to pony up yet again for something they may have already purchase. If that IS the case, shame on CBS/Paramount/Showtime.

We get the pilot for "Ray Donovan" but that's all folks. It's somewhat embarrassing that what used to be Showtime's flagship series (winner of multiple awards)is treated so shoddily on Blu-ray and DVD.

For those fans who watched the original run on Showtime and want to own this on Blu-ray, the only advantage is that this looks better here than the compressed high def version that ran on Showtime. Aside from that't there's not much else to entice fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Going through the motions, September 12, 2013
This review is from: Dexter: Season 7 (DVD)
"Dexter: The Seventh Season"
(HBO, 2013)
NOTE: There might be small spoilers below. don't kill me.

. . .

Sigh. My wife and I have been big "Dexter" fans for several years, but Season Seven was really a chore to get through. The stories and character motivations seem strained, the plot devices spawned many unlikely, impractical scenarios, and numerous characters (not just Dexter) pursued courses of action that seemed improbable and ill-advised. Deb, in particular. The emergence of yet another love interest for Dexter held its share of tedium, as well as potential psychological angles that could have been better explored... Numerous supporting characters were thrust into situations that weren't that involving and in general the show seems to be going through the motions, occasionally peppering the landscape with HBO-style sex and gore to keep viewers titillated. Or so they think: it's starting to get old.

One bright spot, and I mean a HUGE positive for this season was Irish actor Ray Stevenson who was AMAZING as the bad guy Isaak Sirko. Stevenson, who previously played the soldier Titus Pullo in HBO's "Rome," is intensely magnetic and subtle, and steals every scene he's in. Our recommendation: cast this guy as James Bond. Immediately. In the meantime, this was a great performance, and one of the only real highlights to what was otherwise a rather sluggish, repetitive season of "Dexter." I guess Season Eight is the series finale... hopefully they are renewing their creative juices to make that final season a real winner. (Axton)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still has interesting story, May 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dexter Season 7 (Amazon Instant Video)
many of these series get old and predictable after a while but Dexter is still engrossing and offering twists that you will not see coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Dexter, December 22, 2013
By 
JaxCat (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dexter Season 7 (Amazon Instant Video)
Being a Dexter fan forever, I was really disappointed with the last season. Did they get a whole new group of writers? I'd say it was a disservice to the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Not in good way!!, September 23, 2013
This review is from: Dexter: Season 7 (DVD)
Just saw the last episode and watched final season... I gotta say Season 8 must be the WORST of them all. I'm not sure if the writers quit, or they just wanted to get this show over with, but the creativity was just not there. Highly disappointed with the final season, so much that I probably won't even purchase that one. I'll just stop it at Season 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 290 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dexter Season 7
Dexter Season 7 by Michael C. Hall
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.