Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic but stylish, it's actually pretty neat
There's really nothing original about DHOOM. It's a slick-looking action thriller done up Bollywood style, and if you're prepared to go into this film with that Bollywood mindset, you won't be ambushed by the derivative plot, the sometimes broad humor, and the cheesiness, all these being standards of Indian cinema. Dhoom purloins moments from The Fast and the Furious...
Published on February 11, 2009 by H. Bala

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Watching
'Dhoom' is a classic cops-and-robbers movie slicked-up for modern audiences and jam-packed with speed and flash. The action dazzles, but the characters drive the story.

Workaholic police detective Jai Dixit (Abhishek Bachchan) is after a motorcycle gang of robbers in Mumbai. Jai is so determined to rid the city of the bad guys that he neglects his eye-popping...
Published on December 2, 2009 by Jennifer Hopfinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic but stylish, it's actually pretty neat, February 11, 2009
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There's really nothing original about DHOOM. It's a slick-looking action thriller done up Bollywood style, and if you're prepared to go into this film with that Bollywood mindset, you won't be ambushed by the derivative plot, the sometimes broad humor, and the cheesiness, all these being standards of Indian cinema. Dhoom purloins moments from The Fast and the Furious (Widescreen Tricked Out Edition), Mission: Impossible (Special Collector's Edition) [HD DVD], Ocean's Eleven (Widescreen Edition), and even from The Matrix. And, because this is Bollywood, there's also a smattering of musical numbers. With all that said, I'm actually recommending DHOOM. Yep, it's hokey and certain scenes made me groan. But it won me over.

At 123 minutes, DHOOM is weird in that it's shorter than the average Bollywood offering. Even before I saw it, DHOOM had already garnered some good will from me by having as its lead star Abhishek Bachchan, one of my favorite dudes in Indian cinema. Also contributing to DHOOM's likeability is the undeniable eye candy provided by two lovely ladies, Esha Deol & Rimi Sen (oh, mama!). Lots of fabulous skin are shown by the sexy ladies, as they both find occasions to get wet, thanks to a timely garden hose and the weather. Meanwhile, Bachchan and Uday Chopra demonstrate good buddy chemistry. Then, too, there is John Abraham's cool, villainous turn, proving himself a worthy nemesis for the supposed supercop Jai Dixit (Bachchan). DHOOM does provide several big, stylish action sequences. The stunts aren't anything we haven't seen before in American action movies, but they're polished and neat to look at, particularly in the climactic 15 minutes or so, as we check out quite a display of excess in vehicular stunts and a somewhat blatant plagiarism of THE MATRIX f/x. I got a chuckle out of the sequences wherein Bachchan and Abraham would, every now and then, execute a gaudy, slo-mo martial arts move only to have it degenerate into a vicious but basic slapfest.

Plot breakdown and SPOILERS now: Laconic and super-dedicated Assistant Commissioner of Police Jai Dixit is tapped to nab a gang riding souped-up motorbikes and pulling off daring robberies, one of which was carried out right in front of the befuddled police. Jai Dixit, thinking outside the box, hits on the idea of setting a crook to catch a crook. He latches onto the breezy but underhanded Ali (Uday Chopra), who is a whiz on a motorbike. Ali, you see, fixes motorbike races and also sells stolen bikes. Dixit and Ali immediately don't like each other (maybe because Ali was hitting on Dixit's beautiful wife Sweety - yes, her name's Sweety!), but the two muddle thru and eventually get a scent of the audacious biker gang. A television interview by Dixit incenses the gang's calculating, steely-eyed (and often shirtless) leader, Kabir Bhai (John Abraham), who sends out a personal challenge to Dixit, taunting him and unveiling the location of the next crime. What then follows is a cat and mouse game between the two, as they try to one-up each other and the clearly defined roles of hunter and hunted begin to blur.

The song numbers are pretty poppin'. "Dilbara" and the Latin-flavored "Salaame" were the ones I thought the catchiest. In fact, all the songs (even the first song "Shikdum," which I didn't initially care for) were tuneful. Highlights in the Special Features section include an alternate ending (involving a day in the life of Inspector Ali), sexy Tata Young's "Dhoom Dhoom" video, and a "Making Of" featurette (23 minutes long and mostly in English).

Having been a fan of Bollywood since '06, I'm not yet a connoisseur but I do think I've become more in tune with Indian cinema and its sensibilities. The main reason I first checked out this film a few years ago is that I learned Aishwarya Rai was slated to star in Dhoom 2 Back in Action. Aishwarya Rai happens to be the primary reason I got into Bollywood, and, frankly, the girl is so beautiful she makes the two lovely girls in here look like spat-out prunes. Anyway, as cheesy and goofy as DHOOM sometimes gets, I'm glad I saw it. It does go all out in trying to be entertaining. So give it a chance before you start nitpicking it to bits. I rate DHOOM 3.5 out of 5 stars because I believe the positives outweigh the negatives. Enough people apparently agree. Else, why the sequel, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Watching, December 2, 2009
By 
This review is from: Dhoom (DVD)
'Dhoom' is a classic cops-and-robbers movie slicked-up for modern audiences and jam-packed with speed and flash. The action dazzles, but the characters drive the story.

Workaholic police detective Jai Dixit (Abhishek Bachchan) is after a motorcycle gang of robbers in Mumbai. Jai is so determined to rid the city of the bad guys that he neglects his eye-popping wife Sweety (Rimi Sen), who wears next to nothing while doing housework in order to get his attention. But her efforts are for naught--she ends up alone in her negligee when duty calls him away. The frustrated-housewife routine and ball-and-chain jokes may be old, but they're groaningly funny nonetheless.

Because the thieves are expert motorcyclists and their bikes are high-end, souped-up machines, Jai forces Ali (Uday Chopra), a mechanic who fences stolen bikes, to help him infiltrate the world of motorcycle aficionados. Jai also needs someone who can ride as well as the thieves and Ali is the perfect man for the job. Ali is a little shady, but he's basically a good guy who wouldn't hurt a fly--and he's desperately looking for love. Chopra makes his character likeable in a pitiable sort of way, playing up his vulnerability with a cloying eagerness to please women and a smile that's too expectant and wide. His romantic hopes are repeatedly dashed--until he meets a mystery woman named Sheena (Esha Deol). When it comes to police work, Ali's a reluctant sidekick, afraid of his own shadow, the perfect foil to the tough, determined, and unemotional Jai.

Kabir (John Abraham), the leader of the motorcycle gang, and his fellow thieves are thrill-seekers--they race and steal for the rush. Kabir knows their crime spree will eventually end with their capture or deaths--which he makes clear to his gang with the cool, creepy acceptance of someone who is crazily self-destructive. A true adrenaline junky, Kabir needs to take bigger and bigger risks in order to get keep getting the same high. The death of one of the gang members in the course of a robbery leads them all to a casino in Goa for Kabir's diciest gamble yet.

The film borrows from Hollywood films 'Point Break' (1991) and 'Thelma and Louise' (1991), and those are the weakest parts of the plot. The immediately recognizable rip-offs are shoehorned into an otherwise solidly crafted story.

The film's sequel, 'Dhoom 2,' was released in 2006.

- The Bollywood Ticket: The American guide to Indian movies (Subscribe: The Bollywood Ticket)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!! WHERE HAS THIS BEEN ALL MY LIFE?, September 19, 2013
By 
Jon J. Jarmes (Pasadena, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I KNOW VERY LITTLE ABOUT WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE FOREIGN FILM INDUSTRY, BUT THIS FILM KNOCKED ME OFF MY FEET. BEAUTIFULLY PHOTOGRAPHED, DAZZLING EFFECTS, MUSIC BRILLIANTLY CHOREOGRAPHED, A JOY RIDE FROM START TO FINISH. WISH I COULD GIVE IT TEN STARS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silly Fun, January 30, 2014
By 
EBC (Wilmington, DE USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dhoom [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I purchased Dhoom and Dhoom 2 together (then went to see Dhoom 3 in the theater). Dhoom is just silly fun, filled with music, dance, and a lots of action sequences. Watch it before seeing the other movies as it sets up the character relationships between Jai and Ali, that carry over in all of the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, April 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dhoom was good but Dhoom 2 was so much better. At least Dhoom and Dhoom 2 will prepare you for Dhoom 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, see them all!, November 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie, Dhoom 2 is a great movie as well. I am looking forward to seeing Dhoom 3 when I get a chance.So far Dhoom and Dhoom 2 are equally as good. It's a great story line. In Dhoom 2 we have more high profile actors and actresses playing the villians and yes the stunts and storyline is a little better but I would still recommend seeing all of them. So far I have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally worth the money., July 7, 2013
Wow what can I say. This movie has it all. Action, comedy and a love story. And John Abraham was extremely believable as a baddie. But a sexy buddies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie. This is a great film even for those not very involved with Indian culture. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dhoom is a crowd pleaser., October 8, 2012
By 
Lori Bouchard (Milton Mills, N.H., US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I watched this, I wasnt sure what to expect. I watched w/my family,2-teens and husband. It has all thats needed for an enjoyable film. Entertainment to include humor, dancing,catchy music,who done it?, lots of action. And Very colorful. This was one movie purchase I am very pleased with. Its one we can all watch together and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay, August 3, 2012
This movie was alright. I did enjoy it, but I didn't think it was all that. I did find the sequel significantly better even with the glaring plot holes. Anyways, good times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dhoom
Dhoom by Sanjay Gadhvi (DVD - 2007)
$6.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.