Customer Reviews

221
4.6 out of 5 stars
Diablo III: Ultimate Evil Edition - Xbox 360
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Change
Price:$19.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on August 25, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
This is my first experience with Diablo III, and I'm having a blast! I haven't had this much fun with a hack-n-slash dungeon crawler since Diablo II claimed my soul over a decade ago (Torchlight came close, but it fell short for me).

The transition from PC to console is flawless -- many people, myself included, would argue that the controls are even better with a gamepad than with a mouse and keyboard. We get an additional "roll" action, which is performed by moving the right analog stick in the desired direction.

If you like leveling up and customizing characters, killing hordes of cool enemies, and collecting/crafting a vast wealth of loot, alone or with friends, online or offline, it doesn't get better than this. The game has a large number of difficulty settings that can be changed at any time, making it accessible to anyone.

Whatever problems Diablo III had at launch seem to have been addressed with the Reaper of Souls expansion because I'm at a loss for complaints. It even includes a new character class, the Crusader, which I decided to try first (so far without regret). And at $40, the 'Ultimate Evil' package is just a great deal.

Note: If you decide to upgrade to the Xbox One or PS4 version at a later time, you can transfer all of your characters to the new console.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
This isn't a 3 star game. The game, itself, would rate higher. However, Blizzard is not supporting the XBox 360 or PS3 versions of the game. Patches and content updates are only going to the PC and 'new gen' console players.

There is absolutely no warning provided on the product page that this is the case. Why not? They shouldn't even be on the same product page if you're not receiving the same product, with the same support. It's not right that anyone should have to find this out after they purchase the game. Many of us could have bought it for the PC instead, had we only known. Instead, all we got was ripped off and a giant middle finger from Blizzard.

From Blizzard Entertainment on 8/11/2014 "There are no plans, however, to provide ongoing patch support for PS3 and Xbox 360 post-launch.
While we'd like to regularly deliver updates to the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions as well, there are enough differences between console generations that it's not feasible to do so without impacting our ability to deliver high-quality updates in a timely fashion."
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on August 23, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
I was skeptical to purchase this for Xbox 360 as I already own it for PC but also wasn't sure if I was going to upgrade to a PS4 OR Xbox One.

After playing this game on console, you really can't go wrong. In my opinion it vastly improves upon the gameplay of Diablo 3. Upgrading gems is easier, plenty of NPCs to talk to, and a handy little mailbox to mail items to friends rather than storing it in your stash to wait for them when they next play with you.

Whichever console your on, if you even remotely enjoyed D3 you will really enjoy this game. It does suck that you now have 2 copies of D3, but to me, it is worth it. This game is much better than the standard Diablo 3.

*If you do purchase this and already own Diablo 3, be sure to use ALL of your pages of blacksmithing/jewelcrafting and the tomes as they are removed in Reaper of Souls
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
Amazing game and value. I would have paid the full $60 but i'm happy not to. The main game and expansion are both tons of fun both alone and when played with a friend. Couch co-op is where this game shines, I miss the days of friends sitting around a room playing games together. Online can be fun but its just not the same. This game has a lot of replay value with the different characters. The console updates included with Reaper of Souls have been great so far with adding new content and balancing existing. The story is a little weak but not enough to warrant less of a rating. This is definitely on my best of the year list.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
Diablo III's Ultimate Evil Edition includes Diablo III and the Reaper of Souls expansion. It's a fun hack and slash, that can be enjoyed solo or with friends, online or in your living room. However, in an effort to simplify the game to appeal to a wider audience, Blizzard created some flaws.

Gameplay: 7/10
When the game is fun, it's great, but there are times when I actually died because I was falling asleep. Choose from 6 Character classes with a variety of special attacks and a nearly infinite array of weapons. Then you slash and cast your way through dungeons filled with hordes of demonic creatures. As you're slaying them, they'll drop loot in the form of new armor, weapons, gold, and magic gems. If you find better loot than what you are using, equip it, and become more bad ass. It's fun, easy, and rewarding!

Unfortunately, the enemies that you encounter in the earlier part of the game are too similar. You'll either fight 3 tough guys or 10 weak guys, all of which can be defeated by holding A (attack), and occasionally unleashing a spell with X, Y, or RB. You also generate health per hit or kill, so you rarely need to heal. The gameplay feels like you're a bug zapper and the enemies are mindless moths flying into you. It's so easy and the enemies are so similar, even in Hard Mode, that you won't have to make any strategic decisions during combat until much later in the game. I fell asleep 3 times playing as a barbarian.

The later Quests vary the speed, damage, and powers of the enemies, and you'll have to make quick decisions during combat, which is great. And they're tough, so you'll need to dodge and heal as well.

Graphics: 9/10
For this type of game, the graphics are really good. Blizzard took a lot of heat when they announced that the dungeons were not going to be randomized like the previous Diablo games, but the decision to not randomize them allowed the developer to optimize them. The landscapes look great. Diablo is all about killing and looting, and not cartography, so this was a pretty good move.

Story: 9/10
The story is a good one and it actually has some emotional appeal. It's told in amazing cutscenes and in game dialogue. It's the best story I've seen in a hack and slash.

Sound: 10/10
The combat FX punctuate the action and the music is a blend of heroic and creepy. It's idea for an action horror game.

The Upgrade System: 7/10
The Skill Trees are gone and have been replaced with a perk system. If you reach a certain level, you unlock a new attack. If you keep advancing you unlock optional properties for that attack (more damage, stun enemies, gain health when attacking...)

The problem with Diablo's old skill trees was that they didn't level up with the character. So, if you spent skill points on Magic Missile, which does 10-20 damage, this skill became useless when you were at a high level and enemies had 1000 hit points. In order to address this, all of your skills and special attacks are based on the weapons that you carry. If you have very powerful weapons that deal out a ton of DPS, damage per second, all of your offensive spells are great. If your weapons are weak, all of your offensive spells will be weak. Unfortunately, this makes your DPS the most important character stat by far. It simplifies the game too much.

There are 4 types of Attributes:
Strength gives the character +1 Armor and +1% Damage for the Barbarian.
Dexterity gives the character a chance to Dodge, and +1% Damage for Monks and Demon Hunters.
Intelligence gives the character +0.1 to all Resistances and +1% Damage for Witch Doctors and Wizards.
Vitality gives the characters more health.

Because DPS is so important, the only stat that really matters to your character is the one that gives you a damage boost. If a Barbarian finds a powerful item, but it has no Strength bonus, but a pretty good Dexterity and Intelligence Bonus, it's pretty useless to that character.

Loot: 6/10
You find loot everywhere. Unfortunately, most of it is Junk, and will be much weaker than what you have. You'll end up selling most of it in bulk back in town.

Later in the game, you can melt down the loot and have a blacksmith craft you powerful items, or visit the enchantress who can change a stat. So, if a Barbarian finds a great item that has +500 intelligence, he can change it to +500 strength. The loot has lots of stat bonuses associated with them. More damage, find more gold, randomly cast a friendly guardian to help you, gain more experience per kill, etc... If you have a great weapon and want to swap out one of these stats to make it even better, you can.

The loot is also classified by a simple icon system. At a glance, you can tell if a sword is better or worse for your offense, defense, or special stats. A green triangle = better in that category. A red triangle = worse in that category. 2 triangles = even better or worse. 3 triangles = a whole lot better or worse. This system is great because you don't have to spend 5 minutes deciding if the new gauntlets you found are worth picking up by comparing all of its stats to the gauntlets you are wearing.

Maturity: M for fantasy violence and gore, no sex or swearing though.

Value: 10/10
It's only $40 and if you want to play through all of the character classes on the 10 different difficulties with your buddies online, there's 1000 hours of gameplay here.

Once you finish the main quest, you unlock Adventure Mode, where there are bounties placed on the bosses. You can teleport to their lairs, skipping all of the story elements of the game, and take out the boss for tons of experience, gold, and loot. This is a great way to keep advancing your characters even after you finish the game.

A paragon system also becomes unlocked after you break level 70. This allows you to customize your stats and fine tune your characters. You can add more health, more damage, more magic, more speed, etc... And the beauty of the paragon system is that if one character goes up 10 levels in the paragon system, those skill points are available for every other character on your account and every new character that you create. Your gold, magic gems, and stored items are also available for every character that you have.

Overall: 8/10
Diablo 3 is very fun at times, boring at others. If you want hours and hours of mindless hack and slash fun with your friends, then you can't go wrong here.
Buy it if you love games like Borderlands, Diablo, Titan Quest, etc...
Buy it if you're going to take advantage of the coop modes.
Rent it if you have about 20 hours to blow through the main quest.
Avoid it if you are into tactical RPG combat like Baldur's Gate, Divinity, or other D&D style games.
Avoid it if you want really deep character customization like the Witcher 2, Dragon's Dogma, or Skyrim.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
While I really enjoy the game, it does have one major potential flaw. The new class is really fun to play and has some nice skills. I do like the fact that they removed the need to play through the game each time to unlock the next difficulty level. The new adventure mode with its rifts and bounties as a new twist that makes it feel like less of a grind than traditional Diablo. The one flaw, for the 360 and PS3 versions, is that Blizzard has no plans to support it in the future. That means the 2.1 patch that just came out for PC, with all it's new features, will never be seen on the 360 and PS3 versions. That really takes away from the future of the game, but is still playable and I enjoy it very much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 12, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
Amazing game! Having been a major fan of the previous games, I knew I'd greatly love this sequel. So when I was it on Amazon for an incredible price PLUS the expansion; I knew my time to snap it up had come.
Game play is standard fair for anyone who's played the previous offerings, but they've made some tweeks this time around.
No more having to huck around identification scrolls / town portal scrolls OR pesky health potions that always took up a ton of space in your inventory. Now they're all easily used by a button press and you're good to go.

Highly recommend this as a purchase for either fans of the previous games or as a starting point into the games.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on August 21, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
A littlemisleading that it says you get a copy if the original Diablo 3 game as a bonus, figured out that they revamped the original and added the expansion pack. All in all a very awesome game they made it more fun by adding new enemy's so it is not easy as the original added a new character. Very enjoyable game looking to spend a lot of time playing
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 31, 2015
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
After playing this on my PS4, I have to admit being shocked at how good the Xbox 360 version looks and plays. The gameplay is identical to the PS4, and the graphics, while not quite as sharp and clearly at a lower framerate, nevertheless look and feel pretty close to the same. You'd notice a good bit if you played back to back, but if you only own a 360, don't hesitate to pick this up. It's really something pretty darn cool.

The game includes both the original full game and the expansion pack, and while neither has an especially groundbreaking story (if you've played Diablo or Diablo II, this is basically the same game, just way prettier), it's a lot of fun to play.

Play through the first time on normal mode, and explore like crazy. You'll easily hit level 50+, and have a ton of great gear. Then, move up to the next level and play again. You'll get even more good stuff and continue leveling *from* the 50+ you started at, unless you start a new character. And even if you DO start a new character, you're still pretty darn hooked up, because your main character can share money and loot with your secondary characters via the in-game "stash" treasure chest.

The game is also a ton of fun for people to play together. My fiancee and I are having a lot of fun playing Diablo III together, kicking butt and taking names. Okay, I lied. We take no names, we just kill bad guys indiscriminately. It's how we roll.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
I fricking LOVE playing the Demon Hunter! The combat is so SMOOTH! And the Xbox controller scheme actually works MUCH better than a keyboard and mouse (and I've played 10 hour intervals of both Path of Exile and Torchlight 2, so the wrist pain is real...), although the PC version has a better inventory management interface.

Gripes? Sometimes the field mobs will beat the living snot out of you, while the boss fights are a boring cakewalk (beat Diablo MUCH too easily, but died about 14 times on his elite mob crew outside his chambers).

With the removal of the marketplace, gold is pretty much worthless beyond upgrading your caravan crew. You'll find all of the useful items from monster drops, so buying anything other than potions is a waste of time since it will offer you nothing that helps you in your quest. PERIOD.

TIP: If you're just starting the game, and have some skill + brains: START ON EXPERT. Normal is EASY, Hard is EASY, EXPERT is EASY, and you can't start on Master until you complete the game at least once...so you're best to start at the highest you can and stay on your toes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 30 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Diablo III - Xbox 360
Diablo III - Xbox 360 by Blizzard Entertainment (Xbox 360)
$21.00

Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - PC/Mac
Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - PC/Mac by Blizzard Entertainment (Mac OS X 10.7 Lion, Windows 7 / 8)
$27.99

Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor - Xbox 360
Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor - Xbox 360 by Warner Home Video - Games (Xbox 360)
$31.49
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.