Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understanding organizational culture and personal management competencies
In the introduction to this book, the authors share the familiar Tom Peters quote, "If you're not confused, you're not paying attention", because the purpose here is "not to offer one more panacea for coping with our turbulent times or to introduce another management fad." In the words of the authors, this book "provides a framework, a sense-making tool, a set of...
Published on December 17, 2011 by Erik Gfesser

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's All About Culture!
Cameron and Quinn do an excellent job of laying out how to diagnoise and change organizational culture. Importantly, they also provide methods and rationale on measuring culture given the competing values framework. One dissapointment was that the authors did not update the performance of many companies discussed in the 3rd edition. However, overall I am pleased with...
Published on October 30, 2011 by P. Duncan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understanding organizational culture and personal management competencies, December 17, 2011
By 
Erik Gfesser (Lombard, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
In the introduction to this book, the authors share the familiar Tom Peters quote, "If you're not confused, you're not paying attention", because the purpose here is "not to offer one more panacea for coping with our turbulent times or to introduce another management fad." In the words of the authors, this book "provides a framework, a sense-making tool, a set of systematic steps, and a methodology for helping managers and their organizations adapt to the demands of the environment. It focuses less on the right answers than it does on the methods and mechanisms available to help managers change the most fundamental elements of their organizations" at the cultural level.

While the authors also state that other proposed approaches to measuring organizational culture have been proposed, and that their intent is not to provide an extensive review of this literature, they also provide what I consider important background information to the Organizational Culture Assessment Instrument (OCAI), which includes the facts that the OCAI (based on the Competing Values Framework) is probably the most frequently used instrument for assessing organizational culture in the world today, and that although some versions are longer, some including up to 24 items that together describe organizational culture, the 6 items that are used in this book provide a simpler synthesis that addresses fundamental manifestations of organizational culture.

After walking through the OCAI current profile worksheet, which addresses basic assumptions (dominant characteristics, organizational glue), interaction patterns (leadership, management of employees), and organizational direction (strategic emphasis, criteria of success) that typify the fundamentals of culture, the authors present the two major dimensions organized into four main clusters that define organizational effectiveness. The first dimension differentiates effectiveness criteria that emphasize flexibility, discretion, and dynamism from criteria that emphasize stability, order, and control. The second dimension differentiates effectiveness criteria that emphasize an internal orientation, integration, and unity from criteria that emphasize an external orientation, differentiation, and rivalry.

These four main clusters can be visualized as the Clan, Adhocracy, Hierarchy, and Market quadrants of a graph. Because these quadrant names were derived from the scholarly literature, the authors also conveniently provide counterpart names to which they think business executives and other nonacademic audiences might better relate (Collaborate, Create, Control, Compete). The authors note that while designed to assess organizational culture, these clusters can also be used to assess leadership roles, organizational effectiveness, and management roles, and provide several examples that demonstrate applicability to these other areas. In chapter 6 and Appendix B, the authors even provide an extension to the Competing Values Framework based on the Management Skills Assessment Instrument (MSAI) to address the personal behavior change on which a change in organizational culture depends.

In my opinion, the nine managerial competencies addressed for management across the four quadrants are more tangible (Clan = managing teams, managing interpersonal relationships, managing the development of others, Adhocracy = managing innovation, managing the future, managing continuous improvement, Hierarchy = managing acculturation, managing the control system, managing coordination, Market = managing competitiveness, energizing employees, managing customer service), although while the authors present at length the fact that the four quadrants for organizational culture depend on a "Means-Does Not Mean" analysis to be completed by stakeholders in order to determine what chosen future state organizational culture actually means in a relative sense, this analysis is not provided in the context of managerial competencies directly since these are intended to lead to the desired future state organizational culture.

Overall, however, Cameron and Quinn present the process to diagnose organizational culture extremely well, and they do note repeatedly, as can be expected, that it is not possible to present a cookie-cutter approach because of the continuum nature of culture. From the perspective of a consultant, I especially appreciate the many examples that the authors provide that demonstrate example company profiles and shifts in company culture over time. The average culture profiles for various industry groups that the authors present are also well received, although it is important for potential readers of this book to realize that the categorizations for these groups are very broad.

For example, consulting services might technically fall under the "services" group, which obviously encompasses a wide spectrum of companies, although in such a case it might be beneficial to look at cultural profiles of client industry groups. As a consultant in the software industry, I could not help but notice that this book ties in well with a book I read several years ago entitled "Balancing Agility and Discipline: A Guide for the Perplexed", by Barry Boehm and Richard Turner. While that text is narrowly focused on choosing a software development methodology, a culture dimension of plots reminiscent of those seen in the book under review here can be seen as output from what Cameron and Quinn provide.

Interestingly enough, while the term "changing" sits alongside "diagnosing" in the title of this work, it is really not until Appendix C and Appendix D that the former is addressed with any substance. It is actually understandable why this is the case - change is multifaceted and covered by numerous other titles - but I would personally like to see the authors expand on these appendixes in another book, because the content provides hints for initiating organizational culture change and improving personal management competencies that specifically address the quadrants discussed in the book. Well written and focused business text recommended to anyone seeking understanding of organizational culture or personal management competencies as they relate to their own situations or to situations of customers and clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on organizational culture, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
This is the best book in diagnosing and changing organizational culture that I have ever read and bought. It offers practical steps to diagnose the culture in quantitative measurements for various organizations and industries. It also shares steps for executives in the companies on the types of training needed to grow the culture the companies wish to obtain. Highly recommended for executives and leaders working in the field of organizational development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's All About Culture!, October 30, 2011
By 
P. Duncan (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
Cameron and Quinn do an excellent job of laying out how to diagnoise and change organizational culture. Importantly, they also provide methods and rationale on measuring culture given the competing values framework. One dissapointment was that the authors did not update the performance of many companies discussed in the 3rd edition. However, overall I am pleased with this scholarly publication that explains organizational culture in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's All About the Culture, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
Kim Cameron and Robert Quinn, colleagues at the University of Michigan’s Ross Business School, have created a change model for the ages. Their Competing Values Framework (CVF) is used extensively by organizations, consultants and other change agents. Business is hyper-charged with change, and failure rates of corporate change are as high as 70%—caused by ignoring culture. Research indicates that profitability is predicted by certain market forces like high barriers to entry, having a large market share, and other elements traditionally offered as reasons for success. However, the authors note that Southwest Airlines, Apple, Walgreens, Walmart, and Pixar had none of these but still succeeded. What made the difference? Their organizational culture—their company values, personal beliefs, and vision, not market forces. Great corporate culture reduces uncertainty, increases social stability, and develops values, norms, commitment and a vision for all member generations to strive toward. Culture impacts mightily on employee morale, commitment, productivity and other key indicators. Finally, culture and corporate change is joined at the hip to individual change. No change in leaders, no culture change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expands your insights to working with the Competing Values Framework, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
I was in need of updating my library, and Kim's book was originally recommended by a colleague.. Although I have found that change often occurs at a much more superficial level than most practitioners care to admit, the authors are quick to acknowledge that their 4-frame analysis is not meant to be all inclusive. I tend to read research-centrictomes with an eye to balancing my own more intuitive work which comes from experience on the end of "Not everything that is good -- or that works -- is quantifiable". I REALLY valued the question sets - good tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellend resource, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
Highly recommend to learn principles about your organization. I liked it so much I bought a copy for my assistant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sense making and concrete!, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
This book was splendid with its many concrete examples about organizational cultures and providing cues to change organizational culture to the preferred direction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
I bought this book on my own, though I found that I referenced it very frequently in my PhD Organizational Change class. I found it to be cutting edge for 2014, as this field is changing rapidly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Information & Insights, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Authors Cameron & Kim give the practitioner useful insights into what an organizational culture is and how it can affect the bottom line. Useful techniques and modalities of assessment are provided and explained. A good prerequisite and companion to Kotter's Leading Change text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Study on how to diagnose and change cultural elements, July 9, 2013
By 
Russell G Davis (PLeasanton, California USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework (Paperback)
Outstanding book, I will cite many of what the book covered in my research. Excellent.... simply excellent. Competing Value Framework is powerful. Dr. Davis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Diagnosing and Changing Organizational Culture: Based on the Competing Values Framework
$48.00 $42.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.