Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Equine Reference Texts in Print
Great text book for anyone wanting an indepth understanding of examinations for, anatomy/clinical signs of, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis of lameness in the sport horse. Text is written at a graduate level and assumes readers are vets in their final years of study/graduates OR the reader has an indepth understanding of equine anatomy, locomotion, pathology and...
Published on September 22, 2009 by T. Bremner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book, companion web site???
I have the 2d ed. for Kindle. I would give the book a very high review for the content itself, having long used Adams Lameness. I had to jump through some hoops with Elsevier customer service trying to get a PIN to be able to access the companion web site for the associated videos. [ultimately tech support solved the problem - try to get to them] One reason I chose this...
Published on July 10, 2012 by N. K. Diehl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Equine Reference Texts in Print, September 22, 2009
Great text book for anyone wanting an indepth understanding of examinations for, anatomy/clinical signs of, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis of lameness in the sport horse. Text is written at a graduate level and assumes readers are vets in their final years of study/graduates OR the reader has an indepth understanding of equine anatomy, locomotion, pathology and surgery. Book covers chapters with up to date info on alternative therapies including shockwave, laser, acupuncture, chiropractic, herbal and massage treatment as well as traditional medicine.

Indepth chapters are provided on diagnostic imaging (including ultrasound, xray, nuclear, CT, MRI) Gait analysis/software, arthroscopic surgery and thermography. Lameness examination is covered in detail including nerve block application, conformation, palpation, manipulation, neurological conditions, unexplained lameness, acute lameness and swollen limbs. Corrective shoeing is covered in some depth as well as various shoe types on the market, natural balance shoeing and barefoot trimming.

The lameness/conditions are split into easy to reference sections (Foot, hindlimb, forelimb, axial skeleton) and separate chapters are offered covering development of orthopedic lameness/disease, arthritis and soft tissue injury. The latest recommendations for surgery are also covered in each chapter. It also covers lameness/conditions most commonly treated/presented in the horse relating specifically to its sport. This section takes up approx one fifth of the entire book. Racing is covered in detail for both European and American thoroughbreds and European/American/Australasian Standardbreds including hunt, steeple, timber and point to point racing. There is also a section on cold blooded trotters, racing quarter horses and arabs. The western disciplines are all included in details for each specific event/sport. Gaited breeds are also covered as well as endurance, driving, specific show breeds, ponies, jumping, eventing, dressage, breeding horses, foals and even pleasure horses get a mention.

The CD ROM contains footage of lameness examinations under saddle and inhand both on circles and straight lines on both hard and soft surfaces. Horses used in this CD are mostly performance horses used for jumping and dressage exhibiting various degrees of lameness in the forelimbs, hind limbs, the axial skeleton or a combination of these. There is a commentary for each video including the patient's history, response to any analgesic blocks performed and a diagnosis is then given if known. There are CD icons throughout the book allowing you to easily cross reference to segments of the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to be a Classic, March 13, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This text is destined to replace "Adams Lameness in the Horse" as the classic text for musculoskeletal disease in the horse. It is well laid out with chapters on diseases of specific anatomical areas, chapters on traditional and non-traditional diagnostic modalities and therapies ,followed by chapters on lameness issues related to specific disciplines. The combination of academic scholars and experienced practioners as authors adds an extra dimension to this tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book, companion web site???, July 10, 2012
I have the 2d ed. for Kindle. I would give the book a very high review for the content itself, having long used Adams Lameness. I had to jump through some hoops with Elsevier customer service trying to get a PIN to be able to access the companion web site for the associated videos. [ultimately tech support solved the problem - try to get to them] One reason I chose this book was for the value of the videos along with the text. The publisher apparently did not think this through before creating an ebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome for equine vets, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosis and Management of Lameness in the Horse, 2e (Hardcover)
Great for vet students new to lameness or well-versed. Gives a thorough and complete explanation of what to look for and how to diagnose and treat. Great resource for equine vets and vet students. I wish I had gotten it sooner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great material, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosis and Management of Lameness in the Horse, 2e (Hardcover)
The best book about assesment of lameness. Gives a very good overview about that theme and has good illustrations. I have nothing bad to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good ! and cheap. Honnestly no problems, I'm happy., January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosis and Management of Lameness in the Horse, 2e (Hardcover)
good ! and cheap. Honnestly no problems, I'm happy, and I recommand you this book. Cheaper than any other website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful, comprehensive and up to date manual, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosis and Management of Lameness in the Horse, 2e (Hardcover)
Although there is no major change since the last edition in some chapters, this book is still to me THE reference in lameness in horses. I am an orthopaedist and a surgeon, and if I had 2 books to choose for my library, it would definitely be one of those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diagnosis and management of lameness in the horse, 2e, March 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diagnosis and Management of Lameness in the Horse, 2e (Hardcover)
It's fantastic improvement on what was already a very good book, the video links improve the whole experience. A must for any equine vet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Diagnosis and Management of Lameness in the Horse, 2e
Diagnosis and Management of Lameness in the Horse, 2e by Mike W. Ross (Hardcover - November 25, 2010)
$223.00 $135.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.