Customer Reviews


716 Reviews
5 star:
 (593)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could I NOT give it 5 stars?
Simply speaking, Lady and the Tramp is my favorite Disney film of all time! In my opinion, it is a 5 star masterpiece, and I would give it more if I could! I remember when I was just 4 years old, watching the characters Lady, Tramp, Jock, Trusty, and the Siamese Cats light up my eyes, as well as my TV screen, as no other movie (except maybe Pete's Dragon or...
Published on June 18, 2000 by William J. Siard

versus
100 of 124 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inexcusable lack of extras, while the pricing remains high
The movie's great. The lack of stars refers to the current Disney administration's poor presentation of their titles on DVD (no doubt because they're going to release them AGAIN down the road with extras and try to charge their customers AGAIN. What villains!
According to a review at dvdfile.com, this classic as actually filmed in two aspect ratios. Disney did...
Published on November 23, 1999 by PatrickO


‹ Previous | 1 2 372 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aspect Ratio Info, January 31, 2012
This review is from: Lady and the Tramp (Diamond Edition Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in Blu-ray Packaging) (Blu-ray)
For True Film Collectors Of Classic Disney Animation, you can put your mind to rest. I have seen a review from someone on the internet that assures us that the Video Is In It's OAR of 2:35:1 cinemascope, not 1:85:1 like the the specs say at the top of this page. I had to search hard to find this information. I had to know. It had to be in its OAR of 2:35:1 cinamascope for me to consider perchasing it at all. The way I knew it was in Cinemascope was the fact the person mentioned that the aspect ratio had black bars on top and bottom of the picture even when it filled the screen due to being enhanced for 16:9 TV. I even saw previews of still frames from the Cinemascope version from the blu-ray showing proof that the film is indeed in its OAR version of 2:35:1 cinemascope. This is indeed great to find out because I am a movie purest. I want the best quality and I want the OAR shown in theaters or I wouldn't consider buying it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady and the Tramp shines!, August 1, 2004
This movie is about a purebred Cocker Spaniel, who is later named Lady, that is given to the wife of, as Lady refers to him, Jim-dear. She has 2 neighbor dog friends, Jock and Trusty whom she confides in often. As she gets older, Lady's owner is expecting a baby, in which Lady feels like she is no longer a part of the family. She meets a mutt from the streets, Tramp, who comes by after being chased by the city dog catcher. They meet again after Lady escapes the arms of Aunt Sarah in a pet store because she is buying a muzzle to avoid Lady harming her cats. Tramp comes to her rescue to get the muzzle off and they go for a romantic dinner at Tony's (spaghetti no less!). They spend some time on the streets, get to know eachother, and come to find they like eachother. Lady realizes that she needs to return home, she does so, and is caught by the city dog catcher, tossed into the pound where she meets Tramp's "friends", and is told everything about his street life. When Aunt Sarah retrieves her from the pound, she is then chained up outside to a leaky dog house. Tramp comes by to see her some time after, and she tells him she doesn't ever want to see him again. Shortly after, Lady notices a rat come into the yard. It goes upstairs into the baby's room, and Lady tries to stop it, but is still chained up. Tramp hears her barking and comes to see what's going on. She tells him there is a rat in the baby's room, he goes into the house, up to the baby's room, and fights to keep the rat from the baby. He makes a lot of noise in doing so along with knocking over the baby's crib. Lady gets loose, runs upstairs after Tramp, but Aunt Sarah soon shows up, calling the dog pound to retrieve Tramp, and throw Lady into a room where she cannot get to the baby. As soon as Jim-dear and his wife return from their trip that very same evening, they notice a dog pound carriage outside their house. They run home, ask what happened, let Lady out of the room she was trapped in, and they all go after the dog pound carriage to save Tramp (Trusty getting hurt in the process by following the carriage and knocking it over to save Tramp). Tramp is saved, given a dog license, and a home with Lady and her family. Then they all live happily ever after!

This Disney classic is one you HAVE to own! I've loved this movie since I was 2, and I still love it today at the age of 19! There is no better cartoon about dogs than this!! This is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie!, January 30, 2012
This review is from: Lady and the Tramp (Diamond Edition Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in Blu-ray Packaging) (Blu-ray)
I had not seen this movie in some time so when I got this sent to me I was excited to see it again and to share it for the first time with my girls. The Blu-ray version of this movie was just remarkable. The colors and sounds just jump off the screen and you get drawn into the true love story which is Lady and the Tramp. On top of a great story there is also some great music shared in this movie too which is a hidden gem within the film. With talent such as Peggy Lee you can see that Disney had the pulse on their audience in trying to draw in the younger crowds back in the day. All-in-all though, this is definitely a movie that you should add to your collection or reintroduce your family too, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD contains both Widescreen & Full-Screen Versions, February 21, 2006
Seems to have been missed that this DVD contains transfers of the Widescreen version of this film as well as a full-screen (4:3) version. Lady and the Tramp was made in two versions originally - both Widescreen and Flat for theaters that could not play the Widescreen version. Unfortunately, it is a Pan & Scan of the restored Widescreen version, not the original Flat version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Comedy Goes to the Dogs, June 28, 2006
By 
Joseph Boone (Irvine, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (2008 HOLIDAY TEAM)    (REAL NAME)   
Lady and the Trap has been an enduring Disney classic for 50 years now and it's amazing how well it holds up after all that time. The hand painted animation is beautiful and the story and music are top notch. This film is an example of Disney animation at its classic best.

But calling Lady and the Tramp a great animated film is really selling it short. It's a great MOVIE, period. Lady's idyllic life is shattered and bad boy Tramp comes to her rescue. While he begins his relationship with Lady in the dog house (sorry, couldn't resist), he slowly redeems himself in her eyes and love conquers all in the end. If you've seen any romantic comedies from the last several years and compare it to this movie you'll realize that a story about two dogs is actually more romantic and more funny than virtually any similar film featuring humans. Watch Lady and the Tramp and you'll know why this film is still so loved after 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the Platinum edition, March 7, 2006
As a lover of Disney films I thought I had seen all the classics, but for some reason "The Lady and the Tramp" had passed me by. But now that I have just seen it, it truly deserves to be a "Disney Classic".

There are alot of things about this movie that make it a joy to watch for children and adults alike. First, this is one of the first movies where Disney used someone of noteriety (Peggy Lee).

The plot line in this movie is sweet and very smart. I think that the story does a great job at capturing the point of view of how the animals look at the the people in their lives. The siamese cats were eerily evil, and sing the most memorable song in the whole movie.

I also really enjoyed the side characters especially the dogs. (the scottish terrier and the blood hound)

Disney for whatever reason does not release the movie very often so pick this one up now, because it won't be around for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lady and the Tramp, January 4, 2001
By 
M. Conti (Alice Springs, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After enjoying the classic version of this movie, which I would rate a five star movie in every way, we inadvertantly purchased the messed up "Fully Restored" "Masterpiece" version. Throughout the whole movie my wife and I looked at each other making comments to each other like "there it goes again, the voice changed", and, "I don't remember that", while our daughter, who usually enjoys this movie to no end wandered the room playing with her Barbies. Disney "Fully Restored" this movie as only the current Disney could. They must have assumed right away that it needed alot of improvement (mistake), added scenes (to further explain the story to the audience? another mistake), and added a whole lot of dialog (again, to further explain the story? An incredibly large mistake.) Or maybe this was all done to make it look more like the sequel, and to charge a few more quid. First, the movie needed no improvement, it IS a masterpiece in its original form. It is a classic story, told and illustrated in a very good format. The new scenes are unnecessary, to say the least. Our child loved to follow the story from scene to scene rivetted to the tale, the interaction between the dogs, and the action in the chases. I know that I loved that too. Now with the new scenes and the added dialog it is just too much. The dialog is the most disappointing part of this tape! The original voices are kept from the original scenes, and new sometimes very dissimilar, voices are used in the new scenes. Peggy Lee's voice is there, and then its not. Another voice with some random city accent is added. The same for the other characters. The emphasis is on the dogs and their interaction with the human characters as another creature in their lives in the original version. Now the humans have much more of a part in the movie taking the focus away from the dogs. The original Lady and the Tramp, Aristocats, and others were very well written and directed. Disney took those very good movies and did a ruinous adaptation. On the reverse side of the box it says, in very hard to read script, "This film has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit your TV." How misleading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, lesser work in the Disney cannon., February 28, 2006
By 
Although not nearly as dark as Pinnochio, Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, or many other classic Disney films, Lady and the Tramp is still a wonderful movie. It is exceedingly well paced, has a great cast of characters, and has a simple but lovingly rendered theme of love and committment. What it lacks in complexity it makes up for in sheer charm. The original tag line for the film was "His Happiest Motion Picture!"

It is also a tour-de-force of classic cel animation, rendered for the super-wide Cinemascope frame of the 1950s. The backgrounds are so lovely you just want to walk into the frame and live in them. There is nothing like it to be seen in today's digital animation, or in Miyazaki...anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Disney Movie, March 2, 2006
Lady and the Tramp-its that magical movie that I have loved since I was little (I'm only 13 here). I always thought the movie had everything. Drama, Romance, Comedy, you name it! I absolutly love the orchestra and the music (Peggy Lee is one of my all time favorite singers, so she gives the songs a fresh taste, unlike many Disney flicks). I think the animation of Lady and the Tramp is stunning still to this very day! Yes, aside from how much I love this film, Disney finally released this masterpiece on their Platium Collection line featuring enhanced audio and sound plus the best digital restoration you could possibly have! I very much enjoyed watching the movie in its original widescreen format (since I owned the cruddy VHS with full screen). Watching the whole movie again just overjoyed me so much!

Even though I had a blast watching it, there was one downside.

In Bella Notte, when the choir is singing the song, they took out the beautiful orchestra and made the choir accapella. I thought it kind of ruined the whole scene (heck, it does always make you want to cry!)

Bonus Feature wise, Virtual Puppy didn't work on my sister's computer but it worked on mine (the game is a little addicting). We were a little dissapointed that Peg wasn't put in one of the puppies to adopt! lol. The board game was a little irritating because you HAVE to have seen all of these movies to play. I love all of the behind the scenes rare footage!

This DVD is a must have for anyone! Its a classic! The Greatest Disney movie of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S A DOGS WORLD IN 'THE LADY AND THE TRAMP', October 27, 2006
IN A NUTSHELL:

Beautiful soft animation with incredible detail brings this character driven doggie-tale to life. The songs, like all great animated classics work into the plot and are a great aid in telling the story, making the film entertaining and making children of all ages happy.

BUT THERE IS MORE -- MUCH MORE: DOG'S TELL THEIR OWN TALE!

Dog's tell their own tale in this one. Unlike "101 Dalmations", which Disney also made several years after this film, the humans are basically not substancial characters. The humans' role is simply as a background setting for the tale of the Lady and the Tramp, which is completely appropriate for this kind of tale.

WHAT MAKES "THE LADY AND THE TRAMP SO DARN GOOD"?

1]- The 9 "Old Men" were really at the top of their game when they animated the major characters of the film. In the featurette, in the 50th anniversary edition, we see exactly what these very talented guys were aiming for and some of the interesting stuff they came up with for Walt Disney.

2]- The music and lyrics are well timed, entertaining and really help set up the many varying moods of the individual scenes. The soundtrack also furthers the plot, and helps us to really like who and what we are seeing on the screen. In short, the tunes help to humanize the doggies, and in that way assist in telling a multi-level tale that means something to kids, something to adults, and something collectively to everyone. "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" and "The Incredibles" also clearly illustrate that multi-level trait.

3]- The story itself is well constructed with clever while appropriate dialogue, and a very eclectic blend of characters with dogs and humans both being from a very broad and diverse background.

The small town, on the verge of the modern age, still is a special and desirable place to be in this film. Things like telephones and early automobiles are just barely hinted at in a few scenes.

4]- Cinemascope was used, for one of the first times in this film, and simply put it makes for a larger, broader world with a lot more background animation. Disney actually filmed two completely drawn versions of this film, Cinemascope [widescreen], and Full-Screen, because many theatres were not equipped to play cinemascope films in 1956.

DVD FEATURES: THIS 50TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION HAS ALL THE FEATURES & IS THE ONE TO GET!

BOTTOM LINE:

Get the 50th Anniversary Edition if you want features and a remastered Cinemascope picture. We did and we are delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 372 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.