Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 27, 2012
Ross, Diana - Paris 1968

This is not the complete original show ... but I guess its better to have something than nothing. However for fans like me who have seen the original concert in bootleg form ... several questions come up immediately:

1) Why is there a 1970's Mahogany photo of a solo Ross on the cover?
2) What happened to the interview when the girls tell the host their ages (only 23 years old, believe it or not)and Ross speaks to him in French and talks about Tamla Motown?
3) What's up with the choppy "MTV" video editing at the end of each song?

And the biggest question of all... what's really the point of releasing historical archival footage if it's going to be altered?

All in all, its quite disappointing but the remastered sound and visual quality still makes it a keepsake.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2012
This is a compilation of the incredibly successful European tour in 1968 of Diana Ross and The Supremes that produced the Top Ten (#6) ranked "Live at London's Talk of the Town" album. That album was remastered in 1994 to superb results. Along with their Stockholm date that produced an iconic television special, the ladies astounded The Olympia audiences in Paris as well. So London, Paris and Stockholm stood out as hugely successful dates on this tour. The ladies also taped a television special for France's M6 that was solely for the French audiences. Highlights include a rocking medley of their hits that opened the show, rising above your usually rushed medleys. The Funk Brothers were in their usual top form. Their Broadway leading ladies medley was also superb and different from the "G.I.T." television special.

As was customary for the time, the show was a lightning fast 30 minutes that wowed fans and colleagues like Paul McCartney, Mick Jagger along with French luminaries Johnny Hollyday, Claude Francois and None other than Charlie Chaplin!

The DVD also includes a few rare French television appearances.
55 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
If you pay less than a dollar for this, you got your money's worth.
The description states that it's in color - it's not. It's a copy of an old TV appearance in Europe, and a very low copy. On DVD, all low quality aspects are very apparent.
This is not a "live concert" as stated. It's a staged TV show with a studio audience.
All "live" aspects are edited out, such as conversations between songs. Mostly because the host only speaks in French. He even comes out at the end and sings "Reach Out and I'll be there"...in French! He is disturbing! For the humor and historical value of backup dancers in white go-go boots, it's worth the dollar! You have the Supremes in beaded gowns, and then these go-go dancers show up behind them. Just tasteless French TV!

Even for die-hard fans (like me), this is disappointing. Mostly because the description is misleading.
- It's not a concert performance
- It's not in color
- Video quality can't get much lower
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2012
Diana is in great form here.So are Mary and Cindy,unfortunately the sound mix is such that M&C can barely be heard.The full verson of Michele is rare as it was often presented as a medley wth Yesturday.Other DVD's feature almost all of these numbers and more from concerts around the same time at other venues.The other videos have better sound,and give better balance of the background parts ,in my opinion.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
I'm a HUGE Diana Ross fan an expected so much more from this dvd. First of all it's way to short. It's advertised more as a Diana Ross concert dvd not the Supremes which it really is. Also the footage is of very bad grainy black and white quality and is edited poorly. I was very disappointed, you will be too... don't waste your money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
Wow! not one of the reviews on this dvd are from someone who actually bought it.
I received mine today and liked it. It was just released on Tuesday so how can there be any real reviews but mine. Cindy and Mary are on it so it is the Supremes but Ross sings the lead on all songs. I do wish it was longer.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2012
To the last reviewer stage7, I don't know if I would go so far as to say that without the Supremes there would have never been a DIANA ROSS. I actually think that without DIANA ROSS there would have 'NEVER' been the Supremes. Miss ROSS defined the sound of Motown and took the Supremes straight to number #1 on twelve different occassions. Ross was the only reason the Supremes became as successful as they did. I sometimes wish that Berry Gordy had just pulled Diana from the group before they started in 1960 and just made her a solo act from the start and just let Mary and Florence find a replacement and go do their own thing as the Surpemes so that Ross can stop taking all the blame for everything, because she never really needed them in the first place if you want to know the honest truth. This woman was DESTINED to become a star no matter what. She had the right sound, the right stage presence & charisma that was so captivating to hear and see, and I'm sure she would have made a much better solo act from 1960-1970 long before she actually went solo in 1970.

But with that said I do believe that this DVD should have been titled "Diana Ross and the Supremes" because of the year in which it takes place. Who knows, maybe these are actual never before seen performances of Miss Ross doing something alone as she was preparing for her exit as a solo artist just 2 years after. Nonetheless its hard to make any speculation about this DVD when none of us have actually seen the footage contained within at this point and time. ROSS is definitely a *S.T.A.R* in her own right, but lets not forget that 1968 is during the time of Diana Ross "AND" the Supremes and if they are featured on this DVD as well then I do believe they should also be given the credit. If this is a DVD containing concert footage and interviews of The Supremes as well, then they should also be acknowledged as a group on this DVD for their contributions to the music industry and changing the face of music history during the year of 1968.

One Side Note: The Supremes are honored in the ROCK n ROLL HALL of FAME as a group, and Diana Ross has yet to be honored as a solo artist. Ross was recently awarded a LifeTime Achievement Grammy for her work as a solo artist, but the Supremes as a whole were not. So its really hard to understand why their honors or credits are sometimes listed together and/or seperate. Thats show biz I guess.
review image
1212 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
We should all be ashamed. We fell in love with 3 little girls from Detroit. All the bad things that happened in the group was because of their age... they were just 20 when sucsess overtook them. They were babies, and not equiped with the maturity to handle the attention bestowed upon them. Yes, egos were running rampart, but it was the magic of the 3 of them together that enthralled me and everyone else. Yes, its a shame that their story has so many bad chapters, ...I wish that the Cinderella story had better endings...but I will always envision the 3 girls together, making magic, music, style and beauty,...all 3 of them. Why it has turned out to be such ugliness and division is truly a shame. Diana, Mary & Florence, thank you for sharing your dream,.. entertaining me for many years. I love all 3 of you.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2012
This is not a Diana Ross concert but undoubtedly a Supremes show. The picture quality is not good - the distant shots are bit foggy but the close-ups are ok. The cover is misleading - one would imagine that it'd be a Diana Ross concert (the cover shot is from her solo career) - it ain't. The show is about 20+ minutes long - definitely not worth the price. I gave it two stars only because Diana Ross is in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
I'm very disapointed whit this video for two reasons. The quality of the image is very bad and the show is very short (less than 25 Minutes). The show has been cut. The french show in not complete.
I'cant understand why the image is so bad. I own the french version registered on french tv and the image is very good! So what?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.