Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "D. V." -- Totally "divine"
A day or two after I saw this film, I was still grinning. Diana Vreeland, not unlike Auntie Mame, understood that life really IS a banquet. She was one of those remarkable "People Who Notice"; and through her unquenchable curiosity and enthusiasm she made us notice too. When I was a young person, growing up in Blue Collar USA, I scraped together allowance money to buy...
Published on December 26, 2012 by LKP

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Introduction to Diana Vreeland but Left Me Wanting More Substance.
"Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" is a cinematic complement to the book of the same name, co-authored by Diana Vreeland's granddaughter-in-law Lisa Immordino Vreeland, who co-directed the film as well. It chronicles the life and work of Diana Vreeland (née Dalziel), who was born to affluence in 1903 Belle Époque Paris, moved to the United States a...
Published 24 months ago by mirasreviews


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "D. V." -- Totally "divine", December 26, 2012
By 
LKP (Ancram, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel (DVD)
A day or two after I saw this film, I was still grinning. Diana Vreeland, not unlike Auntie Mame, understood that life really IS a banquet. She was one of those remarkable "People Who Notice"; and through her unquenchable curiosity and enthusiasm she made us notice too. When I was a young person, growing up in Blue Collar USA, I scraped together allowance money to buy Vogue. It widened my horizons, and affirmed my urge to get to the Big City and become part of an urban creative environment. No mere "fashion rag", the exuberance and style of Vogue magazine represented a wider world - a place where anything could happen. Watching this film, we get to eavesdrop on that unique/lavish period in publishing, where boundaries were expanded, ideas flourished, and that giddy sense of "Why NOT?!" was rampant. This film covers her whole life (not just the years at Vogue) and it is a wonderfully-conceived cultural Time Capsule - with crisp, fast-paced editing, and a wealth of captivating images. Best of all, it is a marvelous, rollicking and thoughtful look at a singular Woman Of Influence. I enjoyed this film for dozens of reasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous and fun, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel (DVD)
This is one of those films that makes you feel good. A brilliant woman, and delightfully eccentric, her impact on the fashion world (and beyond) is legendary. The film has several interviews with her and does a wonderful job telling the story of her life and career. The pace dips a little towards the end, but not enough to detract from this wonderful film. Diana is so captivating, full of energy, brilliant, and fun (albeit a tough cookie). Watching this film, there were several times I thought "I need to remember that quote!" Visually, the film is an absolute treat, and I highly recommend the book by the same name if you want a coffee table version of this movie. Bottom line, I would love to have lunch with Diana Vreeland... but since that is not possible this is the next best option.

I was hoping to give it as Christmas gifts, but they are not releasing it until February... which is too bad because this would have made wonderful stocking stuffers (Chanel stockings, of course!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars... celebrating the genius of D.V., January 18, 2013
This review is from: Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel (DVD)
I had been looking forward to seeing this documentary for quite some time and it finally arrived in the theater here in Cincinnati this weekend. You betcha I went to see this right away! In the Fall of 2011, a hardcover book called "Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" was released, to critical acclaim. Now finally comes the documentary.

"Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" (2012 release; 86 min.) starts with a brilliant opening credits/photo-montage as the soundtrack features the Rolling Stones' "She's A Rainbow". After that introduction, we get a chronological look back on Diana's life. The beauty is that Diana herself does most of the talking in the documentary (taken from tapes she recorded for her auto-biography "D.V." in the early 80s). Of course there are a lot of celebrities (both A and B lists) giving their thoughts on how Diana influenced the fashion industry when she was at Harper's Bazaar and later at Vogue. When Diana found a new "face" (such as Cher, or Twiggy, or Barbra Streisand, or Lauren Hutton), "she saw things in people before they saw it in themselves", comments someone. Tellingly, Diana later observes "It's not the dress, it's the life you live in the dress", which to me makes clear that fashion for Diana is not a end to itself, simply a means. Another quote from Diana later on that struck me: "I shall die young. I don't know whether it will be at 70, 80 or 90. But I shall die young!". Diana lived to be 86, and yes, she died young.

Couple of comments: first and foremost, this documentary is a celebration of the genuis in Diana Vreeland, truly a remarkable woman on every level. Second, the movie is mostly a collection of interviews (some of them from vintage footage, check out for example the very young Diana Sawyer as she interviews Vreeland) and photo-montages from old Bazaar and Vogue article lay-outs, so that may sound pretty boring, but in fact it is fascinating to see "the old stuff" and I was surprised how visually appealing and entertaining this documentary is. This will appeal obviously to fahsion enthousiasts but I am quite certain that it will also win over the "average" viewer, if given a chance. Bottom line, "Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Introduction to Diana Vreeland but Left Me Wanting More Substance., March 2, 2013
This review is from: Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel (DVD)
"Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" is a cinematic complement to the book of the same name, co-authored by Diana Vreeland's granddaughter-in-law Lisa Immordino Vreeland, who co-directed the film as well. It chronicles the life and work of Diana Vreeland (née Dalziel), who was born to affluence in 1903 Belle Époque Paris, moved to the United States a decade later, and went on to become the influential fashion editor of "Harper's Bizarre" for 26 years, followed by an even more influential stint as editor-and-chief of "Vogue" for 9 years, topped off by ground-breaking work for the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Costume Institute in the 1970s. Vreeland's story is told through showcases of her work, interviews with family and colleagues, and through a voiceover commentary taken from interviews Vreeland gave her biographer in 1983, which I believe is delivered by an actress in the film.

Diana Vreeland had an important influence on Western culture of the 20th century. She understood style. She invented female glamour. She introduced the bikini bathing suit to America. She presented fashion and fashion photography as art. She made models into personalities. She understood cultural trends and upheavals as they were taking place and knew that people want to express their relationship to their culture in the way they dress. And she showed them how. She was very powerful in her own way. It's unfortunate that fashion is not taken more seriously by historians, unless they are fashion historians, as so much is represented in fashion, especially in times of rapid change: new technologies, changing roles and values. Vreeland also introduced the conspicuously ugly model which is unfortunately still a staple of the fashion industry.

"The Eye Has to Travel" is interesting as far as it goes, and Vreeland was a strong and colorful personality who freely expressed her opinions. She's an ideal subject. The tidbits about her life, the striking magazine spreads, and archival interviews with Vreeland herself whetted my appetite for information about the woman and her work. But I felt let down, because the film is not at all analytical. It doesn't examine the relationship between Vreeland's ideas and the cultures they expressed and, at the same time, shaped. Or where the ideas came from, where they ended up, and what that means. It doesn't examine how her own insecurities influenced what she put on the page -though they obviously did. It doesn't examine the fallout of supermodels and ugly models. And since discussion of her broader impact is scarce, there is no thought given to what among her work is good or bad.

This is a nice introduction to the work of Diana Vreeland, but a documentary needs to do more than just showcase the woman and her work. Subtitles are available for the film in English SDH on the Entertainment One (2013) DVD. Bonus features are additional interview footage (approximately 35 minutes) and a theatrical trailer (2 min).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring! Hilarious! A true once in a lifetime woman, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this film, it is SO full of history, not just fashion history, but a full trip through different eras. I just can't say enough.
Diana Vreeland created "fashion" as we know it today. I've given this to friends....they too have loved it!!!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful character, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fascinating view of a wonderful character who had such an impact on fashion. People like Ms Vreeland are rare - loved her voice and accent - belongs to a time gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana Vreeland, December 24, 2013
By 
I loved this movie! She is a delightful woman. Many people have never heard of her, and yet she dressed Jacqueline Kennedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Film!, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel (DVD)
What a movie, what a life, what an enchanting fashion character!! This is an in-depth account of the life and flamboyant career of Diana Vreeland. You will be entertained from the beginning to the end. Go back to a time when fashion was king and Vogue and Harper's Bazaar were in the hands of this genius editor. Diana Vreeland is a quintessential role model for those who thrive on looking and feeling their best! She stood up to a mother who labeled her as a 'beauty flunkie' to turn into an iconic swan! The documentary is chock-full of film historical clips of DV's life and times, from the early 1900's to the modern days of her exhibitions at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. I consider myself lucky to have seen many of those museum displays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you., September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel (DVD)
The inspiration in this loving and beautiful film is immeasurable. Thank you. I am without words. I need to conjure some, however, as they will not allow me to publish a breathless, wordless review. I love it and will cherish it! What an extraordinary woman. What a rare and glorious creature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was an honor to finally see her in action!, March 25, 2013
This review is from: Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel (DVD)
I have been reading Vogue since I was 16 and now understand why. Between the book DV and this film it was an honor to meet this true original. She has shaped my world view and love of beauty in all forms and the importance of individually making the effort to meet our own standards. What a challenge for her children and colleagues but no one complained for being called to task, to make the effort. I am personally appreciative to go about my work in the hospital and cross paths with anyone who has made the effort to be and look as great as they can. It always brightens my day. And as DV said "and I'm not talking about a lot of clothes." It's not about the money at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel
$24.98 $15.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.