Customer Reviews


383 Reviews
5 star:
 (277)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, Entertaining and Sweet
I went to see this movie the first weekend that it came out, and I wasn't disappointed at all; I saw the original play, and wasn't greatly impressed with it, but seeing the movie, I enjoyed it very well. Kimberly Elise and Shemar Moore gave great performances; Of course, Tyler Perry playing three roles simultaneously was just as good and I applaud him; Cicely Tyson, of...
Published on May 13, 2005 by thesavvybamalady

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bi-Polar movie
(I give the movie 2 1/2 stars) The movie starts off as a relationship drama, then switches to slapstick humor, then family drama, then to romance, then black revenge comedy, then slapstick, and to inspirational drama. If only Tyler Perry had found a way to one down certian parts, and found a way to tie the humor and drama together more smoothly. Intead it feels like a...
Published on September 9, 2005 by Jesse Hart


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, Entertaining and Sweet, May 13, 2005
I went to see this movie the first weekend that it came out, and I wasn't disappointed at all; I saw the original play, and wasn't greatly impressed with it, but seeing the movie, I enjoyed it very well. Kimberly Elise and Shemar Moore gave great performances; Of course, Tyler Perry playing three roles simultaneously was just as good and I applaud him; Cicely Tyson, of course, gave a gem of a performance helping her daughter become more stronger even though she herself has been wronged; I have heard the good and the bad about this movie; I have heard that Madea is just another stereotypical role model that we need to get away from; But let's be honest, how many of us can attest to a Madea in our family? or at least pieces of such a woman? This was one movie that sex and profanity wasn't splashed forward and yet, the critics bashed it; Yet, I found it a good movie, and can all of us who supported Mr Perry opening weekend be wrong? I don't think so; Look forward to the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie from start to end !!!, April 27, 2005
By 
I applaud the earlier reviewer, Ramsess Gray from Fayetteville, NC. Thank you for standing up to all the other so-called critics who trashed this movie. I thought this was an excellent movie from beginning to end. In his big-screen debut, Tyler Perry delivered big-time, no questions asked. Darren Grant, Mr. Perry, Kimberly Elise, Shemar Moore and the rest of the cast were second-to-none in my opinion. I loved each of the characters Mr. Perry played himself, especially gun-toting Grandma. She was funny & very entertaining throughout. As far as best picture and/or any awards are concerned, I think Mr. Perry should have as good a chance as anyone to win an award in some category(ies). Also, in my opinion, Kimberly Elise should win something for her role. And for that matter so should Darren Grant & Shemar Moore. But that's only my opinion. The movie was very entertaining and it had all the qualities you could ask for in a movie. It made you laugh. It made you cry. It made you happy. It made you sad & it made you proud, all in about 2 hours time. I'm sure this movie is not and will not be for everyone. We all have different tastes. All I can really say is "watch the movie for what it is", and that's entertainment at it's best.

Larry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a unique, wildly entertaining flick that will have you..........., July 1, 2005
By 
literally rolling in the aisles at time! i had no intention of renting or buying this dvd until my neighbors were raving about it, plus all these grest customer reviews here at amazon.com! finally i said ok, let's have a look. was i ever glad i did too!yhe cast is impeccable, the script hilarious, everything about this film worked out just fine! the film is a complete head trip from start to great finish! all the acting is superb, the dvd transfer is gorgeous, and the gospel score sounded magnificent as well! do treat yourself to this one as it will blow you away. happy 4th to all, and happier 'diary of a mad black woman' viewing pleasure to everyone out there! it really is one fine film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest African-American "dramedy's" ever released, June 23, 2005
Diary of a Mad Black Woman introduced Tyler Perry and his popular character Madea to the masses. Tyler Perry had long been an icon in the African-American community with his popular stage plays. The film version of Diary of a Mad Black Woman is one of the greatest African-American "dramedy's" ever released.

First of all, Madea does steal the show in her handful of scenes, but she is not the star of the movie. Kimberly Elise stars as a woman who has been married for 18 years. She loves her lawyer husband Charles who is impressively portrayed by Steve Harris. On the outside it looks like they have the perfect life, but their marriage is horrible. They have money and a huge estate but he abuses his wife Helen emotionally, verbally-and physically. The scene in which he drags her out of the house on their 18th wedding anniversary is heartbreaking.

When Charles leaves Helen with nothing she finds herself at her grandmother Madea's house. Madea is so hilarious. She makes Helen realize that she is entitled to money and property. When Madea and Helen go back to Helen's house the adventures ensue.

Shemar Moore stars in the movie a different kind of role. He normally plays the "pretty boy" type but in this movie he is an unshaven, corn row and doo rag wearing blue collar worker named Orlando. He and Helen get off on the wrong foot but they eventually warm to each other. Tyler Perry who stars as Madea, also appears in the movie as Helen's cousin Brian. Brian is a lawyer and he is having marital problems. His estranged wife and the mother of his two children is strung out on drugs. Tyler Perry also appears in the film as the outspoken brother of Madea, Joe. Those two are hilarious on screen together as they trade barbs back and forth. Madea is always one step from pulling out her pistol on him. Cicely Tyson appears in the movie as Helen's mother. Cicely and Kimberly actually look like they could be related. With help from her family and her new friend Orlando, Helen comes out of her shell and starts to enjoy life. When she suffers a set back in her self discovery it appears she might return to the abusive relationship that almost destroyed her.

This is such a great movie. You will laugh and you might cry. Rarely, does a movie tackle serious drama with the perfect blend of comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seeing the movie first didn't ruin it, December 17, 2005
i saw the movie version first & so was pleasantly surprised to discover that the two versions were handled SO differently -- so much so that they are BOTH worth seeing & (in my opinion) owning. there are some different characters in each & some of the situations are handled differently, but the overall story remains the same &, of course, madea is HYSTERICAL no matter where she goes! :D i also enjoyed the father character in the play version a lot better than the movie version's joe (joe was a little too real-life disgusting for me -- i was having flashbacks to someone i know in real life! =:O) & i LOVED the strong-in-the-Lord singing mom, ESPECIALLY when she sings that song about rebuking the devil -- you GO girl! i also enjoyed the fact that there seemed to be a little more Jesus in the play version -- the movie version seemed to have more of that "sanitized" hollywood feel? i.e. cleansed of explicit references to God, Jesus & the Bible -- which i don't blame mr. perry for & i praise God that he's getting his plays made into movies & reaching a wider audience with the Message \o/ -- you GO dude!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whether you saw the movie or not, you need to see this play., May 2, 2005
By 
LEE (Goldsboro,North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
I saw the movie before I got this play. If you have seen the movie you need to see this as well. Other than the songs being too long, it was great. Please don't go in with the mind set of it being like the movie because it is not. Some of the characters are different. So of course the outcome is different. Daddy Charles was a good character choice addition to the play. You will laugh. This play if definitely funny.And it gives you something to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bi-Polar movie, September 9, 2005
(I give the movie 2 1/2 stars) The movie starts off as a relationship drama, then switches to slapstick humor, then family drama, then to romance, then black revenge comedy, then slapstick, and to inspirational drama. If only Tyler Perry had found a way to one down certian parts, and found a way to tie the humor and drama together more smoothly. Intead it feels like a confused mess, not sure at what it what's to be at the moment, a serious drama or a dark comedy.
It's a shame it doesn't work better, because Kimberly Elise is mezmerizing as Helen, and Tyler Perry as Madea is hilarious. With just smoothing out the script so everything flows together better, and the movie could've been great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real close to a 5 star!!, June 28, 2005
By 
Christopher Berry (Hale, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was expecting this movie to be sooo hilarious, it would be what I would call "stupid funny"...but what I got instead was a really good movie, with a really great message. I have never heard of Tyler Perry before this movie, or his character Madea for that matter, but this movie made me want to see more of her!! Colorful characters, that you end up caring about, really funny, and really touching as well. For those that are looking for something that has a great balance of fun and feeling, this movie is for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving storyline, but absolutely hilarious, November 13, 2005
By 
Dr. Holly (USA - Southerner) - See all my reviews
There really aren't enough good words to describe how much I love this movie. Tyler Perry is a mastermind, and this movie is no excepetion to his talent.

Diary of a Mad Black Woman is so well rounded. Not only does it deal with the issue of spousal abuse, but it reveals the importance of forgiveness and love. Whether or not you can relate to the issues they face in this movie, you'll still be able to laugh until you cry and enjoy the characters. Madea as always is an absolute riot and is stirring up trouble as usual. I won't give away what happens...you'll have to see that for yourself. I will say though that if you're ready to laugh, cry, and thank God for His goodness -- buy this movie! You won't regret it! As with this movie and the rest of Tyler Perry's collection -- they're the best films/plays I've seen to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Black Film since "Waiting to Exhale", July 18, 2005
'Diary of a Mad Black Woman' may be the best African-American film since 'Waiting to Exhale'. You will love the script that is very well written by Tyler Perry.

You have this woman (Helen) who is abused physically and mentally by a Black Attorney of the Year in Atlanta. He is rich. You will love the mansion. What a mansion! Helen is kicked out for a white woman who he is secretly courting with his kids. In the process, the Uhaul driver is Shemar Moore's character who also works at a steel mill.

Ironically, Helen is very forgiving and lets him have his way in the divorce proceedings. But she really has not moved on. Shemar Moore loves her, woos her, and proposes to her. He like her has been left by another person in a marriage (a NFL football star). You will like how she finds out she is engaged. I can't spoil it, so you must watch and find out: Very unconventional but sweet.

And then the un-expected happens to the Attorney character. His demons catches up with him in the form of an old Afro-American male friend. And the Attorney is left in a coma.

Christine, his new love of his life, wants him to be allowed to die for obvious reasons. But Helen comes to the hospital as the wife to fight for his life, after being interrupted in the midst of a proposal by a news report of the attorney on tv. This leaves the proposal in limbo because she decides to be a good christian and help his get back on his feet. And comes a lot of anger and it is psycho-tic like, scary, but he asked for it from Helen.

In the midst, he changes his life 360 degrees and see who his real friends are and who really loves him, beyond just the marriage/affair situation. He gives his life to Christ. Repents for all the things he has done. Helen repents also for her mini-rage. So at the end you cannot really tell who Helen will marry. Trust me, unless someone has already told you the ending, you will not know who she will be with. And so I leave you with this clift hanger to watch the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Diary of a Mad Black Woman: The Movie [Blu-ray]
Diary of a Mad Black Woman: The Movie [Blu-ray] by Darren Grant (Blu-ray - 2010)
$14.99 $12.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.