Customer Reviews


286 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (72)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


272 of 294 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arthouse Exploitation That's More 'Art' Than 'Ex'...
This tale, based on a best-selling book by Spanish novelist Valerie Tasso, centers on a woman who, since her first sexual encounter, has had a strong desire to explore the heightened sense of arousal and euphoria she experiences each time she has sex. Her appetite is almost unquenchable, her lovers many and varied. She lives by the credo her grandmother (Geraldine...
Published on August 7, 2010 by 4-Legged Defender

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't waste your time
Not an enjoyable film, felt it was time wasted. Not sexy, not redeeming, can't understand why they felt the need to even make this film.
Published 13 months ago by Jim Moore


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

272 of 294 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arthouse Exploitation That's More 'Art' Than 'Ex'..., August 7, 2010
This review is from: Diary of a Nymphomaniac (DVD)
This tale, based on a best-selling book by Spanish novelist Valerie Tasso, centers on a woman who, since her first sexual encounter, has had a strong desire to explore the heightened sense of arousal and euphoria she experiences each time she has sex. Her appetite is almost unquenchable, her lovers many and varied. She lives by the credo her grandmother (Geraldine Chaplin) instilled in her, not to deny herself the pleasures of life, whatever they be.

When she thinks she's finally found true love and all that comes with the Cinderella complex, the dream dissolves, becoming a dark nightmare as she discovers the man of her dreams is insanely jealous, petty, paranoid, violent and abusive. So much for attempting to live out a 'normal' life, she then returns to the barrage of sexual escapades of an insatiable appetite by taking a job at a high class brothel.

The movie is anything but sleazy or exploitive, contrary to what I've written, and there are no moral judgments handed down in a holy high court of decency, no punishments enforced for living this lifestyle, no answers served up, no justifications or repercussions, etc., etc. It's not about 'good' or 'bad' people or decisions, we're more concerned here with the drama of the internal conflict as an evolutionary mechanism than the erotic aspects of the story, though they are frequent and prolific throughout the film. Nudity flows like water from a spigot, but it's handled expertly, artistically and erotically.

The underlining idea here is the double-standard that the word and concept of "nymphomania" is mans creation, utilized when a woman has sexual appetites similar or in excess to his own. (Another way to look at it is "It ain't easy being pretty, it ain't pretty being easy", but I'm being facetious). This notion frightens most men more than they'd care to admit.

The main character, excellently portrayed by Belen Fabra, carries the entire film on her shoulders, trapped by her need to experiment and lose herself in an unflinching quest for fulfillment, without guilt, conscience or remorse, determined to live her life without denial or regret. She's a triple-threat to our religious-based society, and the world's better off because of it. A well-crafted slice of exploitive arthouse drama that's worthy of watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXQUISITE MOVIE!!!, March 25, 2011
This review is from: Diary of a Nymphomaniac (DVD)
I absolutely loved this movie. With time it'll become a masterpiece of female empowerment. A taboo subject treated tastefully, the execution of the movie is excellent, the script, the settings, the photography, the art, the music, the direction, everything is done very well. But, I must say Belén's performance is flawless, she mainly had all the responsibility of the movie on her shoulders, and she delivers a brilliant performance. As Valeria Tasso said: "The most difficult and wonderful dress a woman wears is the nudity and Belen wears it with dignity, honor and attitude". This film is absolutely thought and action provoking, I'm very glad films like this are being presented, specially in Spanish, where in name of the "religion and decency" the nymphomaniac is still something that is valid. This movie presents a portrait of a woman who looks for love in all the wrong places, she wants intimacy and she looks for it through sex, she ends up in toxic relationships that put even her life in danger. And, until she finds herself and learns to love and accept herself, she finds peace with who she is, and from that moment she doesn't care if she's called a nymphomaniac. I think this concept of "nymphomaniac" is vanishing, is pointless, the sexual pleasure of a woman is a birth right, of course we have to enjoy this right with responsibility, and with love and respect to ourselves and demand that from our partners.

I think this movie is a must see for every woman, may be we don't agree with everything, and of course you have to see it with an open mind, sadly, it's easier to judge than to understand, but it's an excellent movie, and it has become one of my favorities. I highly recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not a smut film, but a smart film that......., September 30, 2010
This review is from: Diary of a Nymphomaniac (DVD)
...tackles the life of a single woman who seems to have an overwhelming sex desire until it ruins her. She find love, finally, but she finds out too late that not only love makes your world wonderful, too much love kills too. I had to admit that I thought this would be those kind of films where you only cares about the undressing scenes and how many times copulations take place in the name of art or some avant-garde erotica nonsense, but this movie is more than skin deep.
Interesting perspective regarding the subject of love and desire. Great storyline and a taboo issue done with careful respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are they talking to me?, December 21, 2011
By 
C McGhee (Hutchinson, Ks.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diary of a Nymphomaniac (DVD)
*******SPOILERS*******

Diary of a Nymphomaniac is a story framed around the sexual journeys of a woman yet, that is not the message of the movie. I do admit it appears that way for a very large portion of the story. It is a very graphic telling of the life of a woman that is easily intoxicated by the tactile & sensual just as the title would indicate. There's a lot of nudity & lots of sexual activity so much of it in fact that it would be easy to see this as simply an exploitation movie. It certainly isn't that however.

Directed by Christina Molina & made in Spain with Spanish & French language tracks & English subtitles the movie Stars Belen Fabra as Valerie the nymphomaniac & Geraldine Chaplin as her Grandmother / counselor. At the start of the story we are shown Valerie's obsession with the tactile, the sensual & see her exploration of that part of her personality. She moves through various relationships from casual to professional while always having the small voice inside her mind questioning about normality. She knows she is abnormal sexually & wonders if love is possible.

Enter, a man she comes to love & is willing to give up all her sexual freedom for. He's rich, successful, handsome & romantic, her dream lover. Committing herself to him she discovers that he is also not a great lover. That does not deter her in the least. She wishes he was different but will accept him as he is. That is when she learns he is also insanely jealous & of course when the jealousy strikes he is vile & abusive. Her only escape is to leave him even though as she says, "I still love him"

This brings her full circle back into having only herself to deal with & she returns to her former life in order to rid herself of these memories that beset her from her `love gone bad'. Yet she is morose & searches her memory for her Grandmother's advice which has always been to not let any pleasure in life pass her by. Her grandmother, who has passed away, was a woman married to one man for many years that enjoyed home life & needlecraft. It's here at the end that Valerie understands that her grandmother's advice was to accept herself as she is & enjoy being Valerie. She has not escaped her love of the tactile & sensual but she has escaped the self doubts about who she is. Now she finally has a chance of getting a grasp on her sensual nature.

It really is a mental health workers movie as the theme could be applied to any situation one is confronted with inside yourself that you just can't seem to change. The movie could have been made about a person that just can't quit smoking but then who would watch that. The degree of sexuality in this movie is high but it is also tastefully done & central to the storyline. The drawback is that lots of people will watch for the sex scenes only & then the message goes a' glimmering. I believe that's the viewer's problem, not the directors. I did enjoy Geraldine Chaplin's part in this show even though it's small. The quite, self-assured advice given without explanation played well at the end of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars complex portrait of a woman who explores her relationship to her own sexuality, August 21, 2013
By 
Hernan Cortes (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
While the film offers relatively little in terms of cinematography, the story and the psychological portrait of the protagonist makes up for the lack of directional imagination. It makes me what to read the novel upon which the film is based. This film is for people who like strong character development and enjoy subtle treatments but less so for those who enjoy the aspects proper to film making. I happen to like both kinds of films and would recommend this to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Movie, July 13, 2013
I watched this movie on a whim - I was interested to see how a foreign film would treat this subject matter as a movie. I expected it to be better done than an American movie would be, since foreign films typically spend less focus on the salacious aspects. I was correct. This was quite a well done character exploration of the main character as she explored herself across time in her own life. I found the sexual elements of the topic content to be tastefully done, not overdone, and germaine to the development of the character and her self exploration.

It was a surprisingly interesting and well done movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like lots of sex and drama, January 20, 2014
By 
J Mann (CENTENNIAL, CO) - See all my reviews
Blew my mind. There was more screwing in this movie than I thought, but the storyline is decent apart from all that. It isn't a matter of glorifying sexual promiscuity but pointing out a woman with a very real problem. A little too heady for me, but if you're into erotic drama, this is your movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from Becky, December 20, 2013
Refreshingly non-judgmental and expressive. The lush photography, wonderful soundtrack and the storyline are worth putting up with the subtitles for. Ignore the cheesy trailer bit offered here. It's taken out of context and doesn't hint at the depth of the main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, December 17, 2013
I really liked this. I didn't think it was overly graphic. It's really about a woman learning to love herself. I liked the sounds of the people speaking Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't waste your time, August 31, 2013
By 
Not an enjoyable film, felt it was time wasted. Not sexy, not redeeming, can't understand why they felt the need to even make this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Diary of a Nymphomaniac
Diary of a Nymphomaniac by Christian Molina (DVD - 2010)
$24.98 $12.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.