Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dick's Pick Vol. 34 - Rochester, NY 11/5/77
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 21, 2012
This is the first CD released by Real Gone Records,It is a November 5 release of 1977,It was only 28.99 on Amazon with free shipping. The CD has one of those Caveats on it, but the Sound Quality is really pretty good, mastered by Jeffrey Norman. Vocals by Jerry and Bob sound real clear. It has a good amount of studio compression, but it does not effect quality. Show is a very good performance. I was looking forward to Jerry playing the Travis Bean guitar, because I have Dicks Picks 10 which has a long story that says that Jerry pulled out the "Wolf" guitar, for the 1st time since mid seventies, but it has pics of him playing it here. There is a nice picture of Jerry playing the wolf in this show, actually, several pics. There are 2 things I do not like about the show, (Cd set really) The songs were not normalized well during mastering, you have to keep turning the volume up and down. There is no description of the show in the booklet by anyone, just pics, I like to read the knowledge about the show. The pics are nice, The show is in Rochester at the War Memorial. I love the 77 era. The hdcd is used on this CD which helps the sound quality.

The crowd is really into the show, as is the Dead. Real Gone Did a good job of reproducing the CDS and packaging. It is the classic plastic box for a 3 CD show. No cracks or anything on the packaging. For some reason , reel 3 of the show was missing and they used cassettes from the pa master for part of the show, another thing they did was add some songs from the 11/2 into the show in like it was part of the show. Overall, it is a laidback show, but I like it.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
This is a classic show from one of the Dead's best years. The energy is high, great vibe with the audience, and jams are amazing as to be expected. An absolute MUST have for serious Dead-heads.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2012
If you're a Deadhead then you know that 1977 was a good year in which Jerry laid it down mad tight, and his splintered-note style is on display here. The highlights are Dire Wolf (rarely played in the band's last years), a thick, meaty jam to end Big River; proper treatments of Candyman and Jack Straw and a playful Jerry solo on Deal to end the first set.
I'm not a fan of Dick's Picks' practice of splicing in other shows - about half a dozen songs on here are actually from Nov.2, 1977, in Toronto. But this gives us what has to be one of Jerry's heaviest solos on Estimated Prophet - a trip down the rabbit hole courtesy of his Irwin, before St. Stephen-Truckin-and a verrrrrrry long Around and Around.
The repeat of Estimated is because they jump back into the 11-5-77 show, but the third CD has some nice interplay between Jerry and Phil that was typical of the '77 run.
The sound quality is quite good, and the audio even picks up some audience banter ("Samson and Delilah!"). As far as '77 shows, this isn't nearly as good as Dicks Picks 3 (5-22-77) or DP 15 (9-3-77) but if you can get it for around $30, it's worth a listen. The liner notes include some cool photos of the auditorium and crowd, a neat snapshot from an era that some of us are too young to remember.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
This is a great sounding recording of a unique sounding Dead show. This Rochester, NY show is one of the more mellow and spacey shows from the period. The filler material from Seneca College is, by contrast, rather high-energy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
I was at the Rochester show, and the War Memorial was/is known for its difficult accoustics - with echoes, dead spots, muddled sound in some areas. These recordings really cleaned up the sound -or my memory is getting fuzzy - whatever. Sounds really crisp. Yes, the band was sorta laid back that night, but a really nice show. Enjoy!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2009
you better get this one folks if your a dick's picks or any live cd buyer of the grateful dead !! this is one of the best dick's picks that is out there !! the sounf is amazing !! the song selection is very good and jerry's guitar is blazing !! i see someone has it for sale for $10.00. it says it's missing the back art and i would question how good of condition the cd's are in, but still it has to be a good buy !! take my word for it this is rare and hard to find, as dead.net is out of stock on it !! i purchased about a year ago and it is probably my favorite pick !! get this dead fans !!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2015
Vintage '77 Dead, with a little extra pep and a raunchier sou d than a lot of the stuff from this fantastic year. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2014
Estimated prophet-st.stephen-truckin. I have been a phish backer since the late 90s but this made my say.. phish who?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
drove 10 hrs to this great show,next night in binghamton,ny was also great ,dead were in their prime excelent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
I have read that 77 was a year that they really had it together. This CD prooves it to be true
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse