Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 14, 2001
For general knowledge of insurance terms I guess this is an adequate dictionary and nevertheless needed for understanding insurance terms. I find however that being IN the insurance business as a newcomer and needing to have all my insurance words defined, this dictionary lacks many terms used, at least on the Life insurance side of it, so leaves me grasping for other sources and references to find these words which should be defined in this dictionary in the first place.
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2001
I have been in the insurance industry 15 years and just decided to buy this as an addition for my work desk. I rarely open the book, however, anytime I go to look up a coverage definition it is not listed. This book is of NO use to me. Not really sure who would use this.............a person who hands out maps at the Auto Club who may need to look up a word or two?
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2000
This is an American based book but covers every imaginable insurance term, in every sector of the finance/insurance industry. It not only provides definitions of terms but broadley defines the cover provided under different types of insurance. This is a must for any professional in the financial services/insurance industry as a great reference.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2015
This book I have the updated paper back but the kindle version suited me better. It is underestimated how important this information is to know for everyone's livelihood. Why would you trust the person trying to sell you an insurance product to have your best interest and to know your life goals. The answer is you shouldn't. Buy this book bone up on your knowledge take a class and get your life goals straight then make a great informed decision about your financial future without relying on someone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2010
As someone who works with property and casualty insurance a lot, this has been a great reference. It appears more focused on that than life or health insurance, but certainly has some terms from all areas.

Occasionally some definitions get bogged down in legalese or finance-speak, but if you read them carefully it's pretty easy to get a good idea. One thing I also love is the dictionary covers a lot of tangentially related teams that can frequently come up in an insurance context.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 1, 2007
I find this a pretty complete reference book for someone new to the insurance side such as a young or new risk manager. The definitions are fairly indepth but still short and to the point. To critique the book severly, as some other reviewers have, I suggest reccommending another reference source, within your review, that is considered better. I would be most anxious to take a look at it since it would allow a fair comparison.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2007
This book is a great tool for the insurance studies, the concepts are very clear and help you to have a better knowledge.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 23, 2007
A better name for this product would be the Long-Winded Financial Terms Dictionary. Its pages are filled with non-insurance-related definitions for accounting, legal, and other financial-service terms. Worse yet, several key insurance-related terms that have come into existence in, say, the past century are not included. The only thing I have ever used this book for is to cite the author's claim that U.S. citizens spend more money on insurance than any other type of expenditure - but that occurs in the preface. The terms themselves are unhelpful and incomplete, and the book's pages are stuffed with filler.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
What more can you say. A very useful book for anyone in the insurance or legal industry. Get it, keep it near by and use it whenever the need arises, kind of like a Swiss Army knife.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2013
I didn't give you the top rating because the book was a little older--2008. Some of the common insurance terms that I was looking for a definition of, weren't even in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.