Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book
This is an American based book but covers every imaginable insurance term, in every sector of the finance/insurance industry. It not only provides definitions of terms but broadley defines the cover provided under different types of insurance. This is a must for any professional in the financial services/insurance industry as a great reference.
Published on August 31, 2000 by H Craig

versus
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly incomplete
For general knowledge of insurance terms I guess this is an adequate dictionary and nevertheless needed for understanding insurance terms. I find however that being IN the insurance business as a newcomer and needing to have all my insurance words defined, this dictionary lacks many terms used, at least on the Life insurance side of it, so leaves me grasping for other...
Published on August 14, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly incomplete, August 14, 2001
By A Customer
For general knowledge of insurance terms I guess this is an adequate dictionary and nevertheless needed for understanding insurance terms. I find however that being IN the insurance business as a newcomer and needing to have all my insurance words defined, this dictionary lacks many terms used, at least on the Life insurance side of it, so leaves me grasping for other sources and references to find these words which should be defined in this dictionary in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thick Junk, October 23, 2001
I have been in the insurance industry 15 years and just decided to buy this as an addition for my work desk. I rarely open the book, however, anytime I go to look up a coverage definition it is not listed. This book is of NO use to me. Not really sure who would use this.............a person who hands out maps at the Auto Club who may need to look up a word or two?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, August 31, 2000
By 
This is an American based book but covers every imaginable insurance term, in every sector of the finance/insurance industry. It not only provides definitions of terms but broadley defines the cover provided under different types of insurance. This is a must for any professional in the financial services/insurance industry as a great reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful little reference, November 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of Insurance Terms (Barron's Business Guides) (Vinyl Bound)
As someone who works with property and casualty insurance a lot, this has been a great reference. It appears more focused on that than life or health insurance, but certainly has some terms from all areas.

Occasionally some definitions get bogged down in legalese or finance-speak, but if you read them carefully it's pretty easy to get a good idea. One thing I also love is the dictionary covers a lot of tangentially related teams that can frequently come up in an insurance context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Tool!!, October 24, 2007
By 
P. London (Palm Beach, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This book is a great tool for the insurance studies, the concepts are very clear and help you to have a better knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful for the Insurance Professional Newbie, June 1, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I find this a pretty complete reference book for someone new to the insurance side such as a young or new risk manager. The definitions are fairly indepth but still short and to the point. To critique the book severly, as some other reviewers have, I suggest reccommending another reference source, within your review, that is considered better. I would be most anxious to take a look at it since it would allow a fair comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money; filled with non-insurance-related terms, May 23, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A better name for this product would be the Long-Winded Financial Terms Dictionary. Its pages are filled with non-insurance-related definitions for accounting, legal, and other financial-service terms. Worse yet, several key insurance-related terms that have come into existence in, say, the past century are not included. The only thing I have ever used this book for is to cite the author's claim that U.S. citizens spend more money on insurance than any other type of expenditure - but that occurs in the preface. The terms themselves are unhelpful and incomplete, and the book's pages are stuffed with filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful handbook, May 8, 2000
Useful dictionary for people working for a insurance company or other financial institution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful!, January 30, 2006
By 
hweather (washington, dc) - See all my reviews
The insurance industry has its own language. I have yet to come across a term that is not in this dictionary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Agent's bible!, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All agent's in training and studying need this support tool to use with with study materials, on Kindle it is more than convenient to have with you...always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dictionary of Insurance Terms (Barron's Business Guides)
Dictionary of Insurance Terms (Barron's Business Guides) by Harvey W. Rubin (Vinyl Bound - July 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.