Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Format: Leather BoundChange
Price:$22.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 4, 2008
Excellent and informative reference for those who need to study and understand the holy QUR'AN . I was able to find the defenitions of all the words I needed to understand and found them to be very accurate .
I would recommend this book for all .
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2005
This book is an absolute must-have for any student of Classical and Koranic Arabic. (It's also worth owning John Penrice's Dictionary and Glossary of the Koran alsong with this book)

It , I believe , is unique in its 2-step to word finding by listing the 'anglicised/phonetic' version of a word in the first part then giving a page reference to the second section which homes straight into the main root word - Fabulous!! Its like pulling a white rabbit out of a hat!

Makes life blissfully easy for the English Speaking student.

This is above all a dictionary ( not a guide to the Koran or Islam as such ) and at that task it excels any expectations.

I would suggest you put this book at the top of your wish list if you like Classical and Koranic Arabic. ( together with say, Dr Surty's 'Quranic Arabic' or the MELS 'Access to Quranic Arabic' with CD's as goodcourse books)
0Comment12 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2006
This dictionary has been developed with great deal of effort and is of immense benefit to anyone who wishes to learn the meaning of holy Quran. I strongly recommend it to all novices.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2009
I am very new to reading arabic and this dictionary explains things very clear. It was a very good bargain and I'm glad I got it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2011
This book is unique, at least among the Arabic dictionaries of which I am aware. It allows you to look up Arabic words alphabetically, as you would using Al-Mawrid: A Modern Arabic-English Dictionary but also refers you to the three consonant stem to which each word corresponds. In fact, this book provides the equivalent of one to several paragraphs outlining the variants of each three consonant stem. In this way it sort of bridges the gap between a dictionary like Arabic-English Dictionary: The Hans Wehr Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic in which the words are organized by the three consonant stem and a strictly alphabetical dictionary such as Al-Mawid.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2008
This book is very good for study of The Quran. It is excellent value for money too.
For each root, and words: it basically gives you a meanings from Classical Arabic dictionaries, the word forms used with their grammar information. This is very handy in any study of The Quran. Has an index, making it easier.
Slight downside is the meanings are not detailed as I would have liked, and it has no concordance which is essential for a study of The Quran. These are only small drawbacks though, concordances are available online now for free. I recommend this book to Study Quran, used along with other study tools.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2007
Its one of the best dictionary that i every had, a must buy for a new learner.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
For non-Arabic, English-speaking people, this dictionary is okay. What makes it difficult to use is how it is alphabetized, for it follow the Arabic alphabet. Moreover, some of the Arabic words are not spelled quite like other Arabic writers write, so finding a word can become a bit unwieldy and time-consuming. But, it's okay. Nothing special. Nothing terrible. Just, okay.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2010
This is a selection of words a certain group wish for you to use when translating the Qur'an. I recommend you use a more comprehensive set of lexicons and do your own work when selecting the words. This book was a waste of money for me.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2012
The book is a good book if they had all the pages. The pages 353 - 385 is missing. This would bring the price of the book way high to ship back and wait for return of another book. The dictionary itself is good if get from a reputable source.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse