Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning! Like reliving the movie!
If you've seen the movie you'll know how simply Brilliant it is! So the soundtrack is a must MUST have. The songs by Prodigy and Orbital are SHWEET and 'Heaven Knows' is a nice way to end off a GREAT disc. Other favs are 'Cowgirl' and 'Connected.' I got this for my B-day (Which is actually tomorrow) and haven't stopped it long enough to breath since the weekend. It's...
Published on August 24, 1999

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
didn't purchase
Published 2 months ago by Jennifer Barnard


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning! Like reliving the movie!, August 24, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
If you've seen the movie you'll know how simply Brilliant it is! So the soundtrack is a must MUST have. The songs by Prodigy and Orbital are SHWEET and 'Heaven Knows' is a nice way to end off a GREAT disc. Other favs are 'Cowgirl' and 'Connected.' I got this for my B-day (Which is actually tomorrow) and haven't stopped it long enough to breath since the weekend. It's by far the BEST soundtrack I have ever come across and worth every penny. My one complaint however is that there are a few songs left out of the album, but that's what Hackers vol. 2 and 3 are about right? See the movie if you haven't and begin your Hackers CD collection NOW NOW NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best soundtracks of all time...., January 2, 2003
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
When it comes to electronic/dance/techno music collections, it doesn't get any better than this.
Pretty much every song on this CD is amazing - but tracks 2, 3, 5, 9, 10, 13, and 14 are my favorites.
I think when you see the movie and they first start playing the Orbital classic Halcyon and On and On you want to buy the soundtrack. It weighs in at about 9 minutes long, and every minute is enjoyable. The two Prodigy tracks are very danceable, Underworld's Cowgirl is great (get their album Dubnobasswithmyheadman), Stereo MC's puts out a great dance tune as well (this was the song they used in the party scene in Hackers), Richest Junkie Still Alive has a great guitars, and the Squeeze song is a good slow song (played at the end of the movie of course).
A great compilation - whoever was the music supervisor for Hackers was really really good. So good, in fact, they put out two more soundtracks from the movie - altough some of the songs on those aren't in the movie, they are both good collections as well, and good buys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a Must in your Collection, August 9, 1999
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
Hackers was a great movie which is actually pretty hard to get a hold of. The soundtrack was just as hard to find until recently. Great tracks include "Cowgirl" by Underworld and "Voodoo People" by Prodigy. Other great bands on this CD are Leftfield, Orbital, Stereo MC's, Machines of Loving Grace etc. From beginning to end, a great CD that will be enjoyed by any fan of modern soundtracks like the Matrix, the Jackal, Go, Mortal Kombat, the Saint, and others. Get it wherever you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack, January 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
I have only seen bits and pieces of the film "Hackers". From what I saw, it didn't do anything for me. The music on the other hand is a whole 'nother story. Actually a former roommate of mine (back in days when I lived in Milwaukee) had this cd and the second volume of "Hackers". I totally dug what I heard. I didn't get my own copy until a couple years later and when I moved back to the land of 10,000 lakes. It was this cd that I was first exposed to the now defunct Leftfield with the killer cut "Open Up" (featuring ex-Sex Pistols frontman Johnny Rotten, er, Lydon). This cd was also my first exposure to Orbital w/"Halcyon & On & On". As much as I enjoyed Kruder & Dorfmeister's "Original Bedroom Rockers", the song eventually got on my nerves because of its repetitive beats. I didn't understand WTH Squeeze was thrown on this soundtrack. I never did like Squeeze to begin with and "Heaven" sure didn't do anything for me. I thought the best tracks were by Leftfield, Underworld, Prodigy, Plastico, Orbital, Carl Cox, and even Stereo MC's song "Connected". Other than the Kruder & Dorfmeister and Squeeze tracks, "Hackers" is one of my all-time favorite soundtracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT-JUST BRILLIANT, August 22, 2001
By 
Gidz (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
Perhaps the greatest movie soundtrack ever, this compilation of songs from and inspired by Hackers is just great. As an huge fan of the movie when i hear some of my favorite tracks it just takes me back, back to the movie as well as places i've danced to some of these tunes in the past. With such a wide variety of electronic music anyone regardless of musical tastes can appreciate at least some tracks on this album. With songs like the Prodigy's 'voodoo people' and 'Halcyon and On and On' by Orbital, it's hard it's fast and damn it's fine, get it and enjoy it, a fitting introduction to a Trilogy of albums dedicated to a really wicked movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As if the movie weren't enough!, July 6, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
If the outstanding movie wasn't enough to catch your attention, surely this magnificent collection of music has to be. The mix on this soundtrack is spectacular. Stretching from the electronica sounds of Orbital's "Halcyon & on & on", to the pulsating tribal rhythms of Prodigy in "Voodoo people". It ends with a love song ("Heaven Knows") that doesn't fit until you see the movie, but nevertheless...this cd is a must have for all techno/house lovers, and even those of you who just appreciate the movie. One of the best soundtracks on the market...buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best mid-late 90s electronica compilation albums ever..., August 25, 2006
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is great.... it really helped me discover electronic music in general. Growing up in the midwest, no radio stations actually played techno, house, or anything electronic except for the horrible 'pop/dance' stuff on a few sad sad channels. I remember downloading Mp3s using hotline in 1997 or so, and I'd que a few to download, then listen the next day. I knew I liked electronic music, as it as used in movies pretty often, but it was just so hard to find! The internet changed this. This album represents some of the best bands from the time period (Prodigy, Underworld, Orbital, etc) doing tracks that are now CLASSICS of the genre. Aside from perfectly fitting the film's fantasy world of graphical hacking (which is weird), this album is perfect for doing almost any work involving electronics, programming, or anything with computers. Same goes for hte soundtrack to the movie "Pi". Just pop in either of these CDs, and dive into your latest project. ALMOST every track on this disc is just phenominal, 10 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saracen's Choice!, February 24, 2001
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
Peace be upon you...
This CD is by far one of the best techno/electronica cd's you can get. It will also introduce you to many excellent groups that many people hear all the time in the clubs and on the radio etc. However, they do not know who makes them. This is your chance!!! Infact I recommend all 3 of the Hackers CD's that came out after the movie. Besides this CD there is also "Hackers 2", and "Hackers 3". See you on the flipside (saracen@islamicdiscovery.com & mIRC: Saracen)
May God be with you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Techno, November 2, 2000
By 
Eric M. Schmidt "Ezri" (Tucson, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
Of the 3 Cds that emerged from the 1995 film Hackers, this is the one with the most music that was actually in the film. It is a good variety of techno music (unlike a lot of techno CDs where you really don't know where one track starts and the others end). The music was a vital part of the movie itself and this one will remind you of a lot of scenes from the movie. This is a "must have" for Hackers enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., December 24, 2002
By 
Halcyon (Hanover, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Die Moldau (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely wonderful soundtrack to go with a great movie. If you've never been a big electronica fan, this is a great introduction to it... It isn't all the songs from the movie, but that's why there's 2 & 3 to cover the rest of it... But if you liked the movie, in my opinion, the best songs from it are here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Die Moldau
Die Moldau by Smetana (Audio CD)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.