Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Courageous and Bold Film - Like Nothing You Have Ever Seen
How great that Criterion is releasing this masterpiece! It's really impossible to describe this film. I saw it back in the eighties and since then have tried to explain to friends the techniques that Chantal Ackerman uses to tell her tale. Most shake their heads and wonder why someone would want to watch repetitive static shots of real-time, full-length, unedited actions...
Published on June 17, 2009 by Grayzer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm conflicted...
I can't decide whether I've just sat through an historically significant film or a historically significant mistake. And the film I rented had NO commentary or extras, so I've had to read past reviews just to try to get a bit of the perspectives of others. Boy, is it ever LONG! And boy, was the event at the end surprising! In between, the hours dragged and opinions...
Published on September 18, 2009 by Mary M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Courageous and Bold Film - Like Nothing You Have Ever Seen, June 17, 2009
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
How great that Criterion is releasing this masterpiece! It's really impossible to describe this film. I saw it back in the eighties and since then have tried to explain to friends the techniques that Chantal Ackerman uses to tell her tale. Most shake their heads and wonder why someone would want to watch repetitive static shots of real-time, full-length, unedited actions of the main characters doing things like peeling and boiling potatoes, making coffee, making meatloaf, etc. The film has the pace of a Tarkovsky film (but without the pretentiousness), and it sounds as if it would be incredibly boring. At 200 minutes it will test you (especially if you aren't used to "art-house cinema"), but it works so well that you will be riveted by the smallest details and gestures. The action comes together (hint: or comes apart) perfectly, and it all makes sense in the (infamous) end. Throughout, you will find yourself joyously perplexed. There's humor and drama and perfectly scaled lulls and crescendos.

This is courageous and bold film making.

I saw the film again several months ago at SF MoMA, and the pure genius of it is undiminished. It is not dated, nor is it pretentious or overly artsy in its approach. I managed to drag along one of those friends who hadn't seen the film back in the eighties, and he was blown away. When the film ended, he turned to me and said, "Incredible" .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, July 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
As others have mentioned, this is a film unlike any ever made. Not only is it utterly original and distinctive, it took chances that filmmakers just don't take anymore - and it succeeded. The audience for Jeanne Dielman is certainly small. Most viewers would find this film slow and impenetrable, yet those are its strengths. Only through experiencing nearly every moment of Jeanne's life over several days does the viewer absorb the full impact of the film and appreciate its climax. I've never seen such a pure, personal vision of film created so successfully and I have no doubt that when people discuss 20th century filmmaking in several hundred years, this film will be a part of that discussion. If you sit through all 3 hours and follow it closely, you'll never forget this film, even if you think you don't like it. For me, it's one of the high points in cinema history and more than any other film ever made, it stands alone, sui generis - one of a kind. And, everyone who loves the movies is better off because of it.
And, for those who don't "get" this film, fear not: the next Adam Sandler movie and Saw IX will be coming to a multiplex near you, soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant film from a unique voice, January 30, 2010
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
In the unnerving silence of a sparsely furnished kitchen in Brussels, a poised, anonymous middle-aged woman (Delphine Seyrig) - identified only through the title of the film as Jeanne Dielman - completes her food preparation, places the contents into a large cooking pot on the stove, reaches for a match, lights the burner, and with chronological precision, finishes replacing the matchbox from its original location as the doorbell rings, switching the lights off as she leaves the room. The scene then cuts to an unusually framed shot of a truncated Jeanne at the entrance of the apartment as she accepts a hat and coat from an unidentified guest (Henri Storck) before retreating, out of view, into a bedroom at the end of the hallway. Moments later, the obscured image is reconnected to a familiar referential framing of the darkened hallway as the unknown guest re-emerges from the room and prepares to leave, handing Jeanne a pre-arranged sum of money before confirming their next appointment for the following week. She deposits the money in a soup tureen in the dining room, then returns to the kitchen to attend to the boiling pot, before tidying the bedroom and meticulously bathing and changing clothes after the encounter. And so Jeanne's monotonous daily ritual unfolds through the tedium of household chores, impersonal sexual transactions, trivial errands, and alienated conversations with her son, Sylvain (Jan Decorte), revealing the silent anguish of disconnection and systematic erosion of the human soul.

Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles is a visually rigorous, uncompromising, and understatedly harrowing portrait of alienation, repression, and marginalization. Using primarily long take, medium shots from the repeated perspective of a stationary camera, Chantal Akerman creates an innately disquieting atmosphere of stasis and monotony. From the opening image of Jeanne facing away from the camera, to her visually decapitated shot as she politely receives clients by the entrance hallway of the apartment, Akerman uses extended, isolated framing that inhibits personal identification of the title character and reinforces a pervasive sense of unconscious, mechanical activity. The repeated filmic cued scene transitions associated with the actuation of light switches throughout the apartment further underscore the fragmented nature and dehumanized automation of her domestic tasks. By presenting the controlled and deliberate gestures inherent in Jeanne's ritualistic actions that betray an implicit violence beneath the veneer of structure and order - as she bathes (note the similar imagery of cleansing in Michael Haneke's The Seventh Continent), knits, shines shoes (a familiar episode from Akerman's short film, Saute ma ville), and peels potatoes - the film provocatively captures the unarticulated tragedy of estrangement, loneliness, and disconnection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeanne Dielman, June 15, 2009
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I saw this film at the Film Forum in NYC in ~ 1982. IT BLEW ME AWAY. It was a mesmerising experience that I will never forget, and I am so glad that it is being released by The Criterion Collection.
The movie is long, and seems to move slowly, as some scenes are filmed in real time. The payoff comes at the end, when in a startling ending everything makes sense. A riveting film that you will think about for the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Day in France, October 1, 2009
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I was curious about this film based on the reviews here and wanted to find out what is so different about it. And yes, it is different. It's not revolutionary, however. German filmmakers like Wim Wenders R.W. Fassbinder and many, if not most important Japanese film directors have felt at ease with a slower in-the-course-of-time pace. And if you're not familiar with this film, that's what most are talking about.

When the protagonist makes dinner, we watch her make dinner, start to finish. When she washes the dishes, we see every plate and cup washed and put in the rack. Her elevator rides are pretty much in real time too. So if it takes a minute or two to get from point a to point b, the viewer experiences that with the protagonist. The camera doesn't cut away from these mundane actions, and they are observed silently; no inner monologue or narrative. And most of the time the action is static, with a single camera angle. No close ups of hands or dishes or pieces of meat. There are no tight shots that overtly call out objects as symbolic symbols. It's all distantly observed.

For the bulk of this film, her sexual liaisons are not shown. Whereas most films (including foreign and art films) present story as a series of events that form a meaning out of the "big events" that occur in life, and saying "this is what life is like," this film seems to be saying that this, with all its mundane aspects, is what life is like too. We just choose to dismiss the uneventful parts of our lives as not pertinent to the whole of our lives.

And while this film is not Groundhog Day, it perhaps succeeds at underscoring the fact that, for many, life is pretty much the same day repeated again and again. But there is a growing sense of desperation. You feel it more in the last part of the film. And the film is not devoid of "story." There are scenes of interaction between the woman and her son that reveal much and are interesting to watch.

I'd be hard-pressed to recommend this film, however, and I'm not exactly championing it here, but I did watch from beginning to end, and with interest. I feel like I should get a t-shirt or or something for sitting through it, however. It's an unusual film and takes some effort to watch. So, while I'm still on the fence about this one, I do think it succeeds in what I think it's attempting to evoke. But ... what do I know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm conflicted..., September 18, 2009
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I can't decide whether I've just sat through an historically significant film or a historically significant mistake. And the film I rented had NO commentary or extras, so I've had to read past reviews just to try to get a bit of the perspectives of others. Boy, is it ever LONG! And boy, was the event at the end surprising! In between, the hours dragged and opinions and questions about the non-existent plot became much more interesting than being caught up in the (non) action. Wish I could decide whether it deals with feminism or with nihilism of some sort. I hadn't known of the actress before, but she was RIGHT for the part, and so was the actor who did the son, and, indeed, the others too.
Believe I'll never be able to eat meatloaf again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stretches time in the most beautiful way...., November 22, 2009
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I saw this film about 12 years ago in San Francisco at the Castro Theater I don't believe the entire payoff of the film is in its ending. The detail and excruciating time experienced in this film follows you outside of your experience of watching it - I have never experienced a film that you had to completely surrender to and then leave feeling still so completely in its grasp and shape of time. The experience on DVD is different - as you can break away at any time, wander in and out, but I suggest the first time you watch this film turn off the lights, and just surrender to living Jeanne's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly an Artistic Film for those with Patience and Time!, May 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
My only criticism is that this film is about 3 hours long. Yes, the film is very detailed, specific, and a work of art. You pay attention to Jeanne Dielman's life on 23 Quai Du Commerce in Brussels, Belgium. Her life is mundane, ritualistic, and almost empty in feeling. The actress, Del Syringe, does a fantastic job in bringing this woman to life. We watch her in her most intimate moments like taking a bath, in the kitchen, having dinner in the dining room, or turning the usual trick for money but one doesn't get to know her as we think we do.

Jeanne Dielman is a widow with a teenage son, Sylvain. Their relationship is quite distant. Sylvain appears to lack much emotion for his mother. It's like their strangers. Anyway, Jeanne turns three tricks for money and not much else. You don't think it's anymore than a business transaction and part of her routine. You don't see her interact much with friends and even her relationship with her son appears cold like two people living in the same apartment.

Jeanne is an attractive widow who prefers her freedom to marriage. You wonder what she is thinking most of the time. Sometimes, she makes a comment but not much more. You wonder if she is fulfilled with her life. She appears to be depressed or I am after watching her. She says a lot more with silence.

This film was first introduced to me by film professor in college. I missed the viewing. I had too. Still, this film makes you think about life in general. Aren't we all like Jeanne Dielman in our lives? Shouldn't we be looking for something too.

The two disc set has several features like the film director, Chantal Ackerman, to provide an explanation and the history of the film as well as understanding the film itself. The first disc is solely the original film. The second disc has the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A unique, challenging modern classic art film, May 31, 2010
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Fascinating, powerful, hyper-controlled study of woman slowly coming unglued. Uses its 3 hour+ running time to put you inside the stultifying boredom and ennui of her life, and lets you see the tiny changes in her repetitive days that are powerful and meaningful barometers of the titanic emotions going on behind her blank masque. Not easy or `fun' to watch. By definition (and intention?) it gets slow to the point of boredom at times. (Indeed NY Times critic Vincent Canby, who loved the film, jokingly warned that watching it 'could be fatal' if one was in the wrong mood.) But everything interconnects in an amazingly thought-out way. Every bit of dialogue (of which there's almost none) leaves a clue, or at least a trace. Fascinating camerawork; almost always static images. with every cut at 90 degree angles. And again, when that rule is broken there are specific thematic and storytelling reasons. A challenging, 'difficult' film, but one not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Watch If You're Restless, November 5, 2011
This review is from: Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
This is a long movie so you gotta be in an easygoing, calm mood. Don't watch this if you feel restless. I like Brussels so I am partial to the movie. Also, the 70s setting can be a plus for those who suffer from 70s nostalgia. Few movies devote so much time to the mundane day-to-day chores/errands in a woman's life. Found the interviews on the bonus CD to be enjoyable. My faves are the interview with Akerman and the interview with Akerman and her mom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (The Criterion Collection)
$39.95 $26.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.