Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$62.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 15, 2011
Several books about Braun Design and Dieter Rams have appeared in recent years. To my knowledge, this Phaidon volume is the most comprehensive and detailed. The books I have purchased in the past were mostly comprised of black and white photographs accompanied by texts in German and English. This book, written entirely in English extensively chronicles Dieter Rams
history and his involvement with Braun AG. With a forward written by Jonathan Ive, probably the designer most indebted to the mid century design of Braun AG, this book shows how
the industrial designs of Dieter Rams and Braun AG have come to influence industrial designers in the time of the 2000s. The first Jo Klatt book, Braun+Design Collection has extensively pictured virtually every Braun product made, but the text is German. Less but Better, also by Klatt is written in German and English, and it recounts the rich history of Dieter Rams and Braun. However, after acquiring and reading it, I wished to know more and see more. The Phaidon book is satisfying. There are many photographs of the quintessential Rams designs, and many are in color. Also included are surprising photographs of shelves in storage rooms at Braun AG stacked with successive versions of various product. The book is beautifully designed and printed. The cover is cleverly embossed with a texture reminiscent of a Braun razor. Should one want a single book about this important desingner, Dieter Rams: As Little Design as Possible is the book to have.
33 comments32 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2011
Dieter Rams has been a strong influence on modern industrial design. He worked many years for Braun. Jonathan Ive at Apple, and many others have acknowledged Ram's influence. Rams wrote a book in German and coauthored others.

This is a valuable visual catalog of all his work in context. It covers the individual works and their chronology, too brief writings by Rams himself, and short notes by designers who have been influenced by Rams. There is a useful exploration of Rams in the context of German philosophy and culture by Klaus Kemp.

Early versions of Rams' 10 principles are presented, along with thoughts on designing detail. Those 10 principles should be prominently on the tackboard or in a mobile phone app of every designer, including customer experience designers. I must disagree with the publisher's review, the book could have been better with more of Rams' original design drawings, conference presentations or writings.

The book is great for visual inspiration, and to explain concepts to clients if you work in Rams' style, which in my opinion is needed more than ever.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2013
Apple is the #1 brand in the world.

Bigger than Coke, which has held the title since forever.

Bigger than IBM, Microsoft, GE, McDonald's, Samsung, Intel and Toyota.

$98.3 billion big.

One big reason for Apple's dominance: its design. Steve Jobs was a maniac about the look and feel of his products, and when his design team got it right, he was wild with joy: "You gotta see this in person. This is beyond the doubt, the most precise thing, and one of the most beautiful we've ever made. Glass on the front and back, and steel around the sides. It's like a beautiful old Leica camera."

Steve Jobs didn't design Apple products. That was the province of Apple's senior vice president of industrial design, Sir Jonathan Ive. (Yes, Ive, a Brit, has been knighted.) But Jony Ive didn't work alone -- he stood on the shoulders of a giant.

The good news is that there is finally a picture-and-text book that chronicles the career of Dieter Rams, the German designer whose work for Braun is clearly the inspiration for Apple's products.

If you are an engineer, designer or architect, you want this book. If you need to buy a present for an engineer, designer or architect, expect deep gratitude if you give this book. The rest of you? If you want to meet a genius and survey his work, here's the coffee table book for you. And, okay, this is a book that will make your friends think you are just as smart as you are.

Who is Dieter Rams?

In 1955, when he was hired at Braun, the 23-year-old Rams sketched a design for the company's office. For the back wall he had drawn a modular, wall-mounted storage system. He thought that might be useful to market. Erwin Braun's response: "Yes. It will help the market for our radios."

Coffee grinders, toasters, pocket calculators, radios and hi-fi equipment came next, all designed on the same principle: "Weniger, aber besser" (translation: "Less, but better"). And more than half a century later, that shelving system is still selling.

Rams designed almost 500 products. They are exceptional in their beauty, functionality and design. And did I say there were 500 of them? That number stops me cold. It's like a golfer shooting hole in one after hole in one.

Rams' ten design principles belong on the wall of every designer. No way are they ten commandments -- designers violate them often. That's why Rams says that only one company consistently delights him:

"I am always fascinated when I see the latest Apple products. Apple has managed to achieve what I never achieved: using the power of their products to persuade people to queue to buy them. For me, I had to queue to receive food at the end of World War II. That's quite a change."

Johny Ive, for his part, could not praise Rams more highly:

"He remains utterly alone in producing a body of work so consistently beautiful, so right and so accessible."
11 comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2012
Good overview of Rams' work and photo quality is good. I also saw the "Less and More" exhibit at a museum, and that really adds to the experience that you can't get from the book alone. For example, you can walk around and see objects from behind and see the details, which you can't do with the photos in the book. So if you can, read the book, but also try to see the real thing. The dust cover is cleverly made with stippled pattern like some of Rams' work
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
Provides a good written and pictorial history of Mr. Rams' time with Braun. It's a big, heavy book with high quality printing and binding. If you are a designer, architect, engineer, or are studying to be one, this book should be in your personal library.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2015
It has his history, it has detailed descriptions about the work, it has full and detail shots of the products, it has his codified design philosophy... It's a big, thick, beautifully designed book. Fellow designers, don't you just love books that are well bound, have beautiful layouts, artful typography and big, beautiful color photos? Yeah, me too. This has all of that.

Frankly, I wish all my art books were this good and cost this little. This is a $150 art book. I don't know how they're selling it for less.

Could not be happier.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
If you are into minimalist industrial design this book is for you. Lots of great information on Dieter Rams and wonderful sections showing his designs. This book also does a great job discussing the others on the various teams that do not get as much credit.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
Very cool book. Lot's of photos and information regarding this famous designer.If you are seeking a decent book about Dieter Rams, this is a GREAT starting point. The cover texture is also a nice touch. Solid book, Got a great weight to it. Love it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
I really like it. It is truly worth to spend money on it. Definitely I will recommend this book to others.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
Timeless design advices and stories.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.