Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't begin to tell a story
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:57 Mins
To quote Bernadette: "You can't begin to tell a story without understanding why that story should matter to the people you want to serve."

It's not the Mad Men telling people the story they should share ... it's listening for the story the clients are telling themselves before looking for how you want to matter.

It's not...
Published 12 months ago by Patricia L. Ferdinandi

versus
52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Framework, Needs More Exploration
I found this book to be an OK rehash of material covered in many of Seth Godin's books. If you've read Purple Cow, then you already know what's being presented. The marketing framework that the author develops is interesting, but is only the beginning and the ideas are not fully explored. So overall, the framework is useful, but the book doesn't add a whole lot in terms...
Published 12 months ago by B. Urban


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Framework, Needs More Exploration, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Paperback)
I found this book to be an OK rehash of material covered in many of Seth Godin's books. If you've read Purple Cow, then you already know what's being presented. The marketing framework that the author develops is interesting, but is only the beginning and the ideas are not fully explored. So overall, the framework is useful, but the book doesn't add a whole lot in terms of practical applications.

On the plus side - the author shows what some new and successful companies are doing to disrupt their industries. The examples do not go into much depth - they simply apply the framework. And most companies were born out of these successful strategies. It would be much better to see how struggling companies have used this approach to reimagine or recreate their business to become great.

The book ends abruptly after the framework and examples are presented. I was eagerly looking for some suggestions or applications of 'next steps' to address after filling out the worksheet. So, if you're familiar with Seth Godin's material, you will probably get most of the value directly from the author's blog and website. Either way, it's a quick read, and good reinforcement of smart business principles that we often forget about.

Surprisingly - I got more than my money's worth learning about a couple of great new companies, products, and services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't begin to tell a story, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Paperback)
Length:: 1:57 Mins

To quote Bernadette: "You can't begin to tell a story without understanding why that story should matter to the people you want to serve."

It's not the Mad Men telling people the story they should share ... it's listening for the story the clients are telling themselves before looking for how you want to matter.

It's not the facts, figures, or features ... it's the empathetic "why".

All that is great information ... but now, how do you determine what matters? That is the beauty of this book. Read the book before doing the exercise. You'll be on the right track. Her storytelling ability is superb. You'll understand the why you must adjust your thinking from Mad Men to really connecting to what your buyers care about. It's how to find the story to tell about what really matters.

Still undecided? Watch the video I made providing an overview to her wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make what people want? What to EXPECT, March 6, 2014
The Book: I personally felt the book was more orientated to 'create something with everyone in mind'. I believe this to be the main theme and we derive from understanding what is needed, understanding the people and consequently creating an idea. This is opposed to create an idea, simply try it out and test it. I do however believe that most amazing ideas start out that way - they start from someone having a problem somewhere and solve it on their own.

1. You are introduced to some examples of a 'difference' thinker
2. You are then given some stories (which aren't supported strongly I believe) and this gives Jiwa a pathway to demonstrate what she means. A great quote she mentions is: “Whats’ working now is doing the exact opposite: figuring out what people want and finding ways to delight one person at a time, one person who is thrilled to talk about you to her friends, essentially turning the funnel on its head.”
3. You are given the difference model and how to use it
4. Finally you are given the difference model of a few companies such as Airbnb and Moo.

Some strong points:
1. The overall theme is to step back, and look at what everyone wants and how you plan to deliver it to them in a way THEY want it. Or even look back and what your company/business is doing now.
2. Build your brand one person at a time.
3.“Creating difference is to make something that changes how people feel and makes them fall just a little more in love, not with what we sell but with themselves”.
4. Advertising interrupts our lives, and we decrease our 'value' by spending more on advertising - not on the product.

What to EXPECT:

1. It's not a strongly supported book, that is - there's a framework but little depth and minimal exploration
2. A lot of Seth Godin's overall theme can be found within this book, as well as his quotes.
3. The difference model is a model that simply steps you back and allows you to determine what your idea and business aim to do.

Some of the weaker points and why I couldn't give it top stars:

1. The model itself does NOT tell you how companies became who they are, in my honest opinion. For example, you will look into how Airbnb does what it does now, sort of in hindsight - but you will NOT know that Airbnb started as two people who needed to have extra money to pay for their loft in San Fran. For me, the latter was sort of what I was expecting - but their 'difference' was created because they realised people needed accommodation for big events etc.
2. It starts off strong but then becomes less and less supported as the book unfolds.
3. The examples which supports the framework itself are examples in her life or observations of companies which have risen up.

Overall the book was an interesting read, but more a reinforcement of things we forget about when creating something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all types of organisations - all aspects of business., February 5, 2014
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Paperback)
I read this book cover to cover in two nights.. That's longer than I have taken with previous Bernadette Jiwa books, and it's a sign of two things. One - her writing is so beautifully compelling that you want to finish it (unlike the stack of other related books that grow dusty on the bookshelves). Secondly - it took longer because I kept going back, rereading whole pages; reflecting, considering, applying, almost luxuriating in the writing and the thinking behind it.

This is a book that has application in so many different aspects of business life - small business, start ups, the "marketing department" of bigger organisations, not for profit.. you name it.

The real genius in this book though, is that Bernadette shows us how to apply her thinking. She has created a series of difference maps to show the application from big to small, not for profit to artisan business. It's clever because she emphasises that all organisations should do this irrespective of size or sector - but equally important, she shows us how it can be done. Once you've seen a number of different examples, it makes the thinking around your own personal circumstances all the easier to work out.

This book has prompted action from me.. Again, unlike a number of books that you mean to get back to and do something with, but just don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urgent, simple and powerful, February 7, 2014
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Paperback)
Bernadette has presented each of us with a gift. In this short and incisive book, she blows up your perceptions about what's possible and redefines the future of the way many will do marketing.

It's harder than ever to find writing that's fresh, useful and generous. Here's some. Grab it. Use it. Share it.

Full disclosure: I read this book when it was in galleys. I liked it then just as much as I like it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A one page idea stretched to a book, March 14, 2014
By 
John Warrant (westport, CT USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really.? This is one old (and good) idea without anything new added since it was first identified in the 60s. A product needs 'meaningful' differentiation. A 'difference' Nothing was really added. A bunch of ' newer' examples were used. The support material was just a bunch of web links. Nothing deeper. I expected more based on the gushing reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic and Naive, October 16, 2014
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Paperback)
The idea behind the book is great. It's not original. If you read for example, "Only the Paranoid Survice", Andy Grove proposes that every companies must seek to 'differentiate with difference'. I was particularly interested to dig deeper into this concept which is why I bought this book.

But Bernadette's advice is far too simplistic and absolute. She lost me with her criticism of doing anything other than understanding 'why' people buy. For sure, it's important to tap into emotional drivers of a buyer. But that alone won't make a great business, and to discount all other tools in marketing is irresponsible advice. You can't discount the relevance of other areas of marketing - even if there are too many out there doing it wrong. That aside, the brevity of the book means she really only touches superficially on the concept of 'why'. She really needs to go deeper and be more convincing about why the why matters most.

This book didn't live up to the hype. It actually reads more like a hack job to promote her consultancy. What I don't understand is why Seth Godin gave it such a generous review.

For any readers interested in this topic, I recomment the following books. The On Purpose business by Kevin McCarthy (to help understand how to build a value driven business), Positioning by Ries and Trout (how to categorise and pitch to unmet needs), and Influence by Cialdini (understanding social psychology and persuasive triggers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Ingredient in Most Businesses and Marketing, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Do you want your business to be more than just another business? Do you want it to truly matter to people? Difference will show you how, not just by using theory, but by showing specific examples of how some of the best names out there are doing it right now.

And don't think the subtitle is just hype. Bernadette really does deliver on giving you a one-page template for building your business around what she calls the "Difference Model."

What does the "Difference Model" do? As she says, "Products developed using the old model of the industrial age were built to sell. Ideas developed using the Difference Model are made to matter.”

If you really want to reframe the way you're thinking about your business, you should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite authors strikes again!, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Paperback)
Bernadette doesn't just encourage you, she compels you. She doesn't just suggest, she implores. She doesn't say 'that's nice' she says 'and why should I care?'. This book allows us to break free from all the microscopic obsessions about whether or not we're doing the right thing in our businesses to get ahead. It makes us very simply pin point why we're in it in the first place, who we want to matter to and how we make, and want to make, a difference in the world. When you come at the world with your brand in that playing field, then you're connecting with emotion. In the noisy world of today as Bernadette says, this is crucial to your success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you a "Difference Thinker"?, April 5, 2014
This review is from: Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing (Paperback)
Upon completion of "Difference" it was refreshing to read a strategy that focused on the most important factor in business - the people. Jiwa emphasizes that businesses have gone away from caring about what people truly need to only the needs of the business. Living in a globalized world, consistently bombarded with information, successful businesses are the ones that develop a strategy that starts with people instead of an idea. Apple and Spanx are two brands who re-imagined what the needs were then created a product or service that solved the problem for their customers. Jiwa's "Difference Model" is a framework that will provide businesses the ability to develop a product or service that will attract and stimulate their target markets to choose their brand over the competition.
I would highly recommend to read this book first before constructing any strategies or business plans - it is an ideal framework to use as a foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Difference: The one-page method for reimagining your business and reinventing your marketing
$8.99 $7.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.