Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Differentiation and the Brain: How Neuroscience Supports the Learner-Friendly Classroom
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 26, 2011
The text produced by Tomlinson and Sousa provides a fast read. Differentiation and the Brain is a great introduction into how research in neuroscience supports the use of differentiated learning opportnities for all classrooms. The text itself is not bogged down with statistical data but rather is explained in user-friendly terms. With the relatively recent convergence of neuroscience and education, this is a read sure to encourage more strategic planning on the part of educators.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
I love this book. It was a perfect resource for my paper on diversity and differentiation in the classroom. It has an exceptional amount of useful information that can be easily used, plus it is brain-based research.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
yep! a winner! very usable as a middle school science teacher with a HUGE range of student abilities. I guess a gem in a crowded field of pretty useless books. definitely recommended. approaches differentiation from 4 angles--super relevant and applicable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2011
This is an awesome resource that every teacher should have on their shelf as a go-to. It helps explain what differentiation is and gives examples of how to implement those changes in your classroom.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2012
Differentiation and the Brain offers simple, easy to understand explanations of how to create a "brain friendly" classroom for diverse students. The authors also include some practical checklists, questions and techniques. However, I found that there was a lot more depth about the topics that I wanted to know that was not present in the book. Nevertheless, it's a great place to start learning about differentiated instruction.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
The pairing up of these two "giants" in the field of education, also brings valid resons as to how neuroscience is a major influence on leraning and why differnetion is necessary. Finally some data to support the idea of differentiation. A good book for teachers of any grade to have as a resource for understanding students
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2015
The authors are amazing. I have attended more than a few of Tomlinson's workshops back in the day. This book is a wonderful update and enhanced understanding of some very tried and true approached to classroom instruction and planning. It is worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
The book titled Differentiation and the brain was very informative. I loved the wayin which the book was outlined and the fact that the chaspters were not too long. In my opinion, the information was relevant to the subject of study and it kept your attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
I would strongly recommend this book to any educator who is interested in improving student learning. This is an easy read, and you will be able to think critically about your instructional practice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
I needed this textbook for the class, the book has some great information that could be useful in the classroom. Great examples helped put the information together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse