Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an extremely informative and important read..
For those who want to learn about how diet and one's digestive tract can impact one's overall health then this book is an absolute must. 'Digestive Wellness' does an excellent job explaining all the intricacies of the digestive tract in a very understandable way. We learn about how certain areas can go wrong and lead to a cascade of problems, even chronic illness. The...
Published on January 22, 2012 by lazza

versus
77 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful - Mindless repetition of in vogue naturopathy with near no justification
I bought this book expecting a scientifically justified discussion on the digestive system and its common ailments. Instead I got something that reads more like a vitamin store catalogue.

The author trots out page after page of the latest naturopathic theories that you have heard over and over, for example: leaky gut, food insensitivities, and intestinal...
Published 19 months ago by AvidHealthBookReader


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an extremely informative and important read.., January 22, 2012
By 
lazza (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
For those who want to learn about how diet and one's digestive tract can impact one's overall health then this book is an absolute must. 'Digestive Wellness' does an excellent job explaining all the intricacies of the digestive tract in a very understandable way. We learn about how certain areas can go wrong and lead to a cascade of problems, even chronic illness. The author then recommends a course of action for those suffering from these illnesses. Although the author strongly promotes natural treatments she is not against conventional medications at all. She thinks the two can work together. This book enables one to speak intelligently with one's doctor about potential natural treatments, either on their own or complementary to conventional treatments.

Bottom line: I really cannot recommend this book highly enough. It is well worth paying full price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the book you need for any digestive issues, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
I am a nurse practitioner and I found this book extremely helpful. I tried the suggested peppermint oil, and enzymes and my digestive disturbances have completely resolved already. It is user-friendly, informative and comprehensive. I will use this book a lot in my practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One the the best resources for digestive health and optimum wellness!, December 25, 2011
By 
Dr. Sandra Scheinbaum (Highland Park, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
This easy to read guidebook is a wonderful resource that provides everything you need to know to "heal the gut.". Dr. Lipski's advice works, as it's based on scientific research as well as wellness teachings that have been around for hundreds of years. As a functional medicine practitioner, I keep a copy of this book in my office and recommend it to all my patients who suffer not only from digestive disturbances, but from inflammation, chronic pain or emotional issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is so informative and so true. I am a nurse and I studied from a book almost like this one. Very detailed and explains everything. Having had trouble with my liver and digestive system, someone suggested I get this book and read, follow the instructions and I could see results real soon. It has been very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, December 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
very informational. well explained about the digestive system and how food effects the body. easily understand how health issues begin and what the causes are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful - Mindless repetition of in vogue naturopathy with near no justification, April 12, 2013
This review is from: Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book expecting a scientifically justified discussion on the digestive system and its common ailments. Instead I got something that reads more like a vitamin store catalogue.

The author trots out page after page of the latest naturopathic theories that you have heard over and over, for example: leaky gut, food insensitivities, and intestinal dysbiosis. Treatments involving literally hundreds of different supplements are suggested. Little justification is provided for any of the proposed treatments, it appears the author is asking us to rely on her own observations. In fact reading through the bullet lists of instructions to try various natural medicines, I could not help feeling I was being commanded like a child.

Here is an example of the disregard for scientific justification on display in this book. On page 48 in the 4th edition:

"Seacure: Seacure is a supplement made from deep-ocean white fish that has been broken down into peptides and amino acids. I don't know why, but the product is soothing and healing to the gut."

As an avid health book reader, one other thing which caught my attention is many of the supplement brands being flogged in this book seem to pop up often in other functional medicine books, for example Optimal Digestive Health, by Nichols and Faass, which is selling seacure even harder than Lipski. These brands are mentioned a little too often in Lipski and other texts in my opinion and make me suspicious of vested commercial interests.

In summary, a sloppy, slung together list of naturopathic cliches, with dubious commercial interests, that all amounts to contempt for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
I bought this at the suggestion of my Functional Medicine Doctor. It is full of amazing information, and its really easy to read. This would be good for anyone who has any type of intestinal issues, as the book goes through every step of digestion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Mom, June 15, 2013
By 
Cindy V. (Rochester, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
Mom has an avid interest in health due to battling her own issues. She reads & refers to it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to have., June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
Very informative book. I leave it laying out and friends pick it up and start reading. I would recommend this book to friends. It's good to keep on hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a student it was very easy reading. Packed full of information, and will make a great resource book in the future. I'm keeping this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Digestive Wellness: Strengthen the Immune System and Prevent Disease Through Healthy Digestion, Fourth Edition
$22.00 $18.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.