Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book however
Like another reviewer, I found that this was a well written book however, I agree that a little too much was referenced in another book for its price. I am happy to look up the many websites which are referenced...I expect that these days. It is probably time for a new integrated book that has it all. The cameras discussed were a bit old now Nikon D70 etc.
Published on March 5, 2011 by Barrti

versus
76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sort of a disappointment
After reading Michael's previous works I was prepared for a good and thorough treatise on astrophotography with digital SLR's. Unfortunately this book doesn't do that. $37 gets you a modest 234 page, soft bound book that could be described as more of a draft outline than a valuable reference work.

Images Plus, possibly the most powerful and economical...
Published on January 16, 2008 by Pulpit Pounding Political Pundit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sort of a disappointment, January 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Paperback)
After reading Michael's previous works I was prepared for a good and thorough treatise on astrophotography with digital SLR's. Unfortunately this book doesn't do that. $37 gets you a modest 234 page, soft bound book that could be described as more of a draft outline than a valuable reference work.

Images Plus, possibly the most powerful and economical commercial astrophotographic image processing and camera control program available today only gets briefly mentioned in passing twice in this book.

And there is nothing whatsoever on imaging the sun, h-alpha image processing techniques or solar eclipse techniques and equipment.

Many other subjects are treated rather too lightly to justify the price of this book too.

I believe that Jerry Lodriguss's book "A Guide To Astrophotography with Digital SLR's" is a much more useful work however it isn't exactly worth it's $40 price tag either.

There is more useful and thorough information available on the Internet for free. Start with the Digital Astro Yahoo discussion group and then supplement with Jerry Lodriguss and Paul Hyndman's web sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING..., March 10, 2008
By 
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Paperback)
In first place, I bought this book because of it was recommended from Sky and Telescope.
But, when having it on my hands and after reading it I found:
1- Author is making constant references to his other two books, with no further explanations (if you want to know more, BUY my other books).
2- Book is soft cover and pictures are black and white.
3- Has many formulas. Amateurs want a "hands-on" style, not making calculations that show the author as "how much I know", that's not practical.
4- Many parts are really useful, and some others don't.
5- Some parts look like a handful of advices that you can find everywhere on the net.
6- He explains methods, that end up with author saying like "despite of this method I prefer..." and then he mentions another one. A waste of time!
7- Add the book cost, and this is not a deal.
Hope my review can be helpful to other people that as me, thought this book was a real good one (before purchase).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book however, March 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Paperback)
Like another reviewer, I found that this was a well written book however, I agree that a little too much was referenced in another book for its price. I am happy to look up the many websites which are referenced...I expect that these days. It is probably time for a new integrated book that has it all. The cameras discussed were a bit old now Nikon D70 etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, lousy Kindle edition., March 11, 2013
I've found the book useful and comprehensive. A great introduction to the matter for basic astrophotographers (as myselfg) or newbies. Its structure is OK,and is clearly written using tech jargon just when needed. The only thing I will complain about is that in many parts of the book, the author uses to "see Astrophotography for the Amateur for further details about....". So, in some aspect, the book turns into a valuable appendix to the other books written by Mr Covington, and not a standalone material. If you are looking to have a comprehensive guide you would probably need the other astrophotography book by Mr Covington as well as this one to cover the gaps regarding DSLRs... Once I read "the other book" I will be able to give a better picture (pardon the pun!) about both... sadly it is not edited for Kindle!

What really pissed me off was the lousy approach to the Kindle edition. The books has many references in the "see page xxx" format, but Kindle does not have pages!. Image captions are in a minute font... that in bigger illustration does not have zoom at all (hence remain unreadable!). Also images appear within their respective chapters but many pages before the reference (and there is no way of going back and forth to check the image and keep on reading without having to bookmark. And to finish up, all footnotes appear at the end of the book, but without any indication of which chapter they belong to... so you have pages full of "1: xxxxxxx" but you cannot check on the footnote while reading or correlate the footnote later with the chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated but somewhat helpful, September 24, 2013
By 
Wm L. Birch (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Paperback)
I would have preferred to give this book a 2.5 star rating. It is truly unfortunate for this book, being 7 years 'old.' The last seven years in digital astrophotography is a bit like the difference between the Dark Ages and the Technical Revolution. So much has changed in the 7 years since this book was written that much of the book is obsolete. I say 'unfortunate' because Michael Covington writes very well, in non-technical and easy to understand terms.

Probably worth mentioning that any book written and published before 2011 would likely have outdated information or parts. Still, this book is worth 2.5 stars because it has some easy to understand fundamental information and guidance. It should probably not be read by the pre-beginner. Worthwhile for beginners or new intermediates with some knowledge of DSLR astrophotography so that the reader will have some idea of the parts to skim over.

As an example, the latest Canon camera models discussed in the book is their 400D and the 20Da. Although this isn't a major issue, it does come into play when considering other recommendations. For instance, the author recommends an ISO setting of 400, but the general setting of 800 is more common now with the newer Canon models. In addition, the author talks about modifications, but today there are many types of modifications, some which include a cooling chamber for the DSLR camera sensor. Some DSLR sensors are even being debayered to create a DSLR mono camera!

Get the book used or borrow it from a friend. It is worth a read for the beginner and new intermediate who wants to understand more about the function and value of DSLRs in astrophotography. Maybe Mr. Covington would write a new book on the subject. He is an excellent writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated and overpriced, buy from some other author, October 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is outdated and overpriced. While naturally the field of astrophotography is like all electronics advancing in leaps and bounds (it seems like no sooner do you order and receive a new piece of equipment and it has already been replaced), the book is written with the then current technology without any awareness of how technology will improve. Case and point in the end of the book when it touches on non-SLR cameras the opening line comes across as dismissive outlining the flaws with using non-SLR with no hint of how non-SLR cameras could improve.
Oddly enough a lot of the things that one could find interesting to read and learn about are brushed over with 'covered in my previous book'. The author flat out assumes that the reader owns, has read, and has available at hand the other book to just be able to open to the specific page and continue learning what they want to know. The impression left is one of a pompous a** who is more interested in just selling his product that actually teaching or explaining.
The one part of the book that probably excels is the one part that most people are likely to not care about: technical DETAILED calculations. The author is obviously a student of photography from the film era when it was often necessary to perform detailed calculations to ensure the absolute correct exposure as the cost of trial and error often proves exceedingly great in time (shooting and then developing) and money (film). Chances are most people looking for this book or one similar to it are just starting out and are a child of the digital age. With digital cameras you learn more by the trial and error method of playing around with the settings and seeing the difference. I am one with a pretty good mathematical ability and I often found myself just glazing over the text. I can easily see someone who cringes at the word math wanting to throw the book across the room (something that could proof catastrophic reading on a kindle).
Worst of all the author offers no guidance over the choice of equipment beyond the basic EQ good AZ bad. There is no touch on the different levels of equipment that one can get or even a detailed explanation of what he uses and the good and bad of his setup. Who knows maybe he covered equipment in his first book...
Overall one is left with a feeling that they spent a considerably amount of money (25$ for kindle book) and got practically nothing to show for it. I thought for sure that for 25$ I would certainly find a lot of valuable information but in the end I learned and enjoyed less material from this book then I did from similar books which I purchased for 10$.
Final words, DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK. I am not endorsing a particular author but there are better books out there with more useful information and cost less money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Starting Place, January 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Paperback)
If you have a DSLR and want to try astrophotography this is the prefect place to start. Covington's previous books on the subject were classics and the basic information in this book is superb. Since cameras and equipment change very rapidly you will need to do some additional research online to get more insight on your particular setup. Covington will give you the fundamentals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great investment and great book, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Paperback)
This is a great book, it provided me with very useful information on the subject of Astrophotography. In just two weeks time I have managed to take some breath taking shots of Orion Nebula, the Double Cluster and moon plus Jupiter as well. For my first time in over ten years I was able to take pictures with my new Canon T3i DSLR and I did great, this book is a must have if you are lookin in to taking or getting in too Astrophotography pictures-A+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good aquisition, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Paperback)
This book is excellent for those like me who are beginning on astrophotography. I love the explanation, examples and figures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DSLR Book review, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) (Paperback)
I was hoping for a little more in depth coverage of Digital processing of deep sky images taken with a DSLR.
The book is a great introduction for the beginner level, but leaves a little to be desired for the intermediate and advanced users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy)
Digital SLR Astrophotography (Practical Amateur Astronomy) by Michael A. Covington (Paperback - December 10, 2007)
$50.00 $47.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.