Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: LEGO 3MP Digital Camera
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 30, 2011
Very colorful, holds 60 pictures. It would be nice to be able to delete the ones you want instead the camera goes back to the beginning and you have to forward the pictures to delete the ones you do not want. Also I would have preferred batteries instead of having to plug into the computer every time it needs to be charged. The charge doesn't last long enough. Better directions with the camera with more descriptions as with the errors, the camera has an exclamation mark in red, don't know what it means. It has a red SDHC card with a circle and line through it, don't know what it means. Pictures are dark and grainy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2010
I purchased this camera for my 7 year old son. He is into sports and games, but has taken an affinity to photography as well. He was thrilled to receive this gift for Christmas and hasn't left it alone since! He takes the camera everywhere and takes pictures of everything and everyone. The quality of the pictures is obviously not the best, but adequate and suitable for a child. The only thing I dislike about this camera is that it does not take batteries, and instead must be charged by USB. I think rechargeable batteries would have been more desirable. Children don't really understand the concept of power, so if he leaves the camera on for an hour and comes back to it totally dead he is devastated. That's when having the option to pop in a spare set of batteries would come in really helpful. The camera doesn't have a zoom, which some people may cite as a negative, but I actually have come to appreciate that. I think a zoom option would make the camera more fragile. Overall, besides the lack of battery options, I LOVE this camera for our 7 year old and would recommend it!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2010
We had two grandsons that wanted a camera this Christmas -- when I saw the Lego camera I didn't need to look further. Both boys (one age 8, one age 6) were very happy and took pictures all Christmas day. It is durable, arrived safely and timely.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2011
Bought this to give to my son for his 7th birthday. He plays with his sister's V-tech kidizoom camera all of the time. I am returning the camera (which is a difficult and expensive process!) because the LCD screen is miniscule and the camera doesn't have any of the fun functions that the V-tech camera has. Most of the fun the kids have is taking videos or editing pictures on the camera itself and with a one and a half inch screen that would be hard to do. If the Lego camera even has all of those fun functions. Not happy. Most disturbing is that if you decide to return it, it's at your expense AND the seller slaps you with a hefty 15% "restocking fee". My advice ...shop elsewhere. And if you are looking for a camera, the V-tech Kidizoom or Fisherprice camera for kids are the way to go. Good quality and HOURS of fun.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2011
Hi,

While some of you might think its worth getting this camera just because it is durable, consider what the purchase of a camera really is supposed to mean.

The owner is supposed to be able to take pictures that they can look at it with fondness and memories. For kids, they are using it because its fun to capture these things.

My son was afraid of the pictures he took.

Because of how terrible the internals of this camera are, pictures come out blurred with the slightest movement. The flash absolutely white washes out anything closer than about 3-4 feet and everything further than that is too dark. The only place this camera is ok is outside.

Battery life is terrible. For such a small screen and for such little quality, there is no reason the battery power has to be so terrible. The fact that you can't put a card in it and you HAVE to use a USB cable to transfer AND charge is also terrible.

That said, for $50 you can get a real camera. Not a great one, but one way better than this. You can also pay square trade to put an accidental warranty on it for probably like $10 for a $50 camera (with no claim charge). Believe it or not, my 3 year old son puts the string on his wrist with every camera he uses that has it. He's done this since he's 2. Kids are more careful than you think if you take the chance to explain something to them and watch them.

I completely regret getting this for my son. He's used it a few times and the pictures are actually really something he doesn't like to look at.

STAY AWAY
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2011
First, if you thought if this camera would be disassemble, you are wrong.
This camera is not disassembled. This is just one unit with 3 small lego blocks.

My kids love to play with it but not always. They sometimes pick this up and take some shots. That's it. After a few das, they played with it again.

Control is so easy. Just turn it on and push the shot button.

Regarding to the picture quality;
It is ok without flash.
It is not good with flash. The flash light is so strong, almost pictures with flash light are white.
So I don't recommend taking picture with this camera at night.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2011
My son received this as a present. The flash is too bright. The picture quality is terrible. The camera does not hold a charge. So, about the only redeeming quality is that it is cute and the kids like it. Basically it is a really poor quality camera with a Lego label.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
I bought two for two grandchildren age 3 and 5. Both kids have taken pictures with their parents' iPhones and know how to frame a picture, hold the camera still and snap the picture. I should have bought them real cameras.

The camera is advertised to hold 80 pictures; it does not hold anything close to that. One holds 12 and no more and the other 50. Worse yet, when you delete a photo on the camera, it does not free up disk space; you need to delete the photos (even the "deleted" ones) when connected to a computer to create space for additional photos. In addition the camera takes terrible pictures. One of the cameras was used; there were at least 10 pictures of another family on the camera and my grandson was only able to take two additional pictures before the camera was out of memory for additional pictures.

Finally, most toddlers know how to use their parents' smart phones and iPads. The controls on the camera are primitive, non-intuitive and hard to use. Whoever designed them doesn't understand how kids manipulate electronic devices.

I have nothing good to say about the cameras. I am returning both to Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2011
The pros: Colourful, cute, USB port for transferring pictures, great for little hands, functioning camera, unique design.

The cons: Picture quality poor; will trigger fights among the kids unless they all have one!

I purchased one each for my godson and niece, for their third birthday, and both enjoy theirs tremendously. Their fathers are almost as enthusiastic over these cameras as they were; daddy got to play with them first! Their mothers are compiling online albums of the pictures they took. Something for them to look back on; it is so lovely to see what catches a child's eye. There was a wedding picture of my sister and brother in law taken by their 3 year old (from a great distance down because she was so short!) and for some reason that brought a tear to my eye. You could also find hidden spots of talent, and gain a window into your child's mind; his likes and dislikes and what interests him.

I would highly recommend these cameras for function, beauty & its unique qualities. Even though the picture quality wasn't great, you really can't expect too much out of what is essentially a toy for a toddler. The pictures were acceptable if you are not expecting DSLR quality. Buy this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
My six year old nephew absolutely loved this camera. He is very into all the Lego toys and this was a perfect little starter camera for him...he was able to start taking pictures with ease once it charged. He also likes he can "add" some legos to the top of the camera! Excellent buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.