Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute little MP3 player
It is just as cute as it looks. It is a lot smaller than I was expecting (2 5/8in long, 5/8in deep), and it has the capability to stack LEGOs on top and underneath it, which is neat and nostalgic. I like fidgeting with the LEGOs while I listen to it on longer subway rides. The package even comes with 2 matching LEGOs to get you started, and a pair of cheap little white...
Published on November 16, 2009 by ChiJD

versus
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a good mp3 player for younger kids
This mp3 player is cool-looking, has a good sound, and is more fun than your average mp3 player (how many mp3 players can you actually build on?!). So why 3 stars instead of 4 or 5? Because it is not suitable for children under about 9 or 10. I have a 6-year-old who loves Lego and loves his music. I thought this player would be a perfect fit. How wrong I was! To listen to...
Published on December 28, 2009 by Olive


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute little MP3 player, November 16, 2009
By 
ChiJD (NY, NY USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
It is just as cute as it looks. It is a lot smaller than I was expecting (2 5/8in long, 5/8in deep), and it has the capability to stack LEGOs on top and underneath it, which is neat and nostalgic. I like fidgeting with the LEGOs while I listen to it on longer subway rides. The package even comes with 2 matching LEGOs to get you started, and a pair of cheap little white earbuds (which are just about as good as you would expect, no better or worse).

Now, let's get down to what the player can do. It has a very tiny little LCD screen, and a small nubbie type control button that you push to move around the menus with. It is intuitive to use but comes with easy instructions as well. It might be hard to use if you have really large clumsy fingers or have a tough time seeing small font. There are 3 menus, the music menu, the pictures, and the options. Music is sorted in terms of albums and artists, and is simple to navigate. As the music plays, it displays the album title and track title, along with cover art (if you put that on the player as well). As far as music goes, it plays music fine. It does add a delay to the beginning of songs, and it has a "fadeout" time when you pause a song. It plays about 1-2seconds longer than you would like and fades a bit. It doesn't bother me much though. What has begun to bother me is the fact that you can't look around the other menus and play a song. Any time you stray from the song playing menu, the song stops. Therefore, you can't line up the next song while the current one is playing.

In the photo menu, I can't figure out how to do anything but display the pictures. You can't set any of them as wallpaper or anything, all you can do is view them, and the screen is way too small and pixelated for it to be a useful feature. It seems like a slightly useless menu option. In the options menu, you can alter the brightness, the backlight, mess with the equalizer, change the language, and set a sleep timer. I was surprised because it doesn't have any sort of clock built into it. I liked being able to check the time on my old MP3 player. It doesn't have any program that you need to install for it, you just plug it in to the computer and load your music on. No need for any outside program or anything. It has an optional LEGO skin for your windows media player, but it is just an optional perk.

As far as battery life goes, I have not had it long but it seems to be playing strong. The package boasts 7-8hrs, and I will edit the review if I find any discrepancies. If what you are looking for is an attractive pocket-size little MP3 player, this should fit the bill.

Advantages:
Nostalgic and cute.
Stackable with LEGO bricks.
Small and portable.
No installation needed.
Simple to use with good instruction manual.

Disadvantages
Only 2gb
LCD screen is tiny and harder to see than most screens
Songs "fade" when you pause and restart songs
Can't look through menus while songs are playing.
No clock feature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid first MP3 player and information on firmware update..., December 30, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
This is a very good first MP3 player . I bought it for my 5 year old and it is easy to use and operate. The screen is a bit hard to read due in large part that the names of artists and songs are too long to fit in the small screen , but it does scroll so it can be read with patience.

I would also recommend upgrading the headphones, the earbuds it comes with are your standard generic cheapo earbuds. They sound fine, but for younger children they don't stay in their ears very well , especially if they are active. I like these Kidz Gear Wired Headphones For Kids

This is not an iPod or Zune, it is not even a third tier MP3 player(Creative , Archos), it is a really cute first MP3 player , that seems to be durable and easy to use and operate.

There are a few complaints that the "All Songs" feature is not available and further comments that a firmware update is needed but no further information anywhere online. I contacted Digiblue support and they provided this link to the firmware upgrade which does resolve this critical issue.

Hi,
An updated version of the LEGO MP3 Player firmware has been developed to create the All Songs selection. Please follow the steps below to download and install the updated LEGO MP3 firmware:

1. Click on the download link: [...]
NOTE: if you receive a message asking for a username/password, please click on the Anonymous checkbox.
2. Save the download (LegoMP3.zip) to your Desktop.
3. Right-click on LegoMP3.zip and select 'Extract All'
4. Select 'Next' when the Extracting Window appears
5. Navigate to your Desktop in the 'Select a Destination'
6. Once you have extracted the files, open the LegoMP3 folder on your Desktop.
7. Open the LEGO MP3 - Flash Instructions PDF file for detailed instructions on how to proceed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a good mp3 player for younger kids, December 28, 2009
By 
Olive (Brandon, MS USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
This mp3 player is cool-looking, has a good sound, and is more fun than your average mp3 player (how many mp3 players can you actually build on?!). So why 3 stars instead of 4 or 5? Because it is not suitable for children under about 9 or 10. I have a 6-year-old who loves Lego and loves his music. I thought this player would be a perfect fit. How wrong I was! To listen to your music, you have a choice of 2 menus: Artist or Album. My 6-year-old doesn't know who the artists are who sing his favorite songs! There's no shuffle feature (that I could find) that shuffles all songs on the player. Plus, the toggle switch that you use to navigate through menus and find your songs was a bit frustrating for me to use, much less for him.
I am surprised at this mp3 player. Lego products are always top-notch products, in my opinion. To put out a player that only an older kid can use, when younger kids are the ones who really use your products, makes absolutely no sense.
Bottom line, good mp3 player for older kids or adults with a fun side only!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the Kiddies, December 29, 2009
By 
Whytea (Corona, CA United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
This is not a bad unit. Fairly durable and for the lego fans, a fun addition. 2GB holds a lot of music for my 6 year old, and the battery life is fairly long.

The complaint about the "All Songs" Play option missing is true, but there is an easy fix. Why this is not on their website escapes all logic, but in any case, here's the details.

If the All Songs option is not listed, there is a firmware update that Digital Blue will send you for free that solves the issue.

An updated version of the LEGO MP3 Player firmware has been developed to create the All Songs selection. Please follow the steps below to download and install the updated LEGO MP3 firmware:

Click on the download link: [...]
NOTE: if you receive a message asking for a username/password, please click on the Anonymous checkbox.
Save the download (LegoMP3.zip) to your Desktop.
Right-click on LegoMP3.zip and select 'Extract All'
Select 'Next' when the Extracting Window appears
Navigate to your Desktop in the 'Select a Destination'
Once you have extracted the files, open the LegoMP3 folder on your Desktop.
Open the LEGO MP3 - Flash Instructions PDF file for detailed instructions on how to proceed.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little dissapointed, December 28, 2009
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
I bought this for my four year old. He is experienced with computers and is always listening to my ipod so I figured he was ready for an MP3 player. I downloaded some of his favorite songs and put them on the MP3 player. I was surprised to find that it does not have an option to play songs from different artists continually. As he generally likes only one or two songs from each artist, he must go back to the main menu after each song ends and choose another song. As any cheapo MP3 player has the option to sort by songs, the fact that this one does not was very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not fantastic, October 11, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
First off, to change the volume, press and hold the joystick up and down depending on your volume preference.

Now to the review...

Obviously the reason people buy this is for the novelty of having a "Lego MP3 Player". I got this for $30 bucks plus tax at a retail store.

I bought this with the full intention and need for a super basic mp3 player that doesn't hold that many songs because I didn't want to get distracted from my school work. I just wanted something really really absolutely basic to bring to the gym and occasionally listen to some music. The fact that it has a built in Lithium Ion battery was the little extra feature that convinced me to buy this.

You absolutely need to use different headphones (do not even bother with the included pair of headphones). Some people complained about the sound quality... well duh the included headphones are AWFUL. Also make sure you use decent quality MP3's.

As for firmware, it is not available on the manufacturer's website, nor is it available from a google search. You can only browse songs by artist and album. That is it. No browse by titles, no "play all", and no playlists... wtf kind of joke is this? Also it comes preloaded with some strange horribly pixelated photos. Don't bother with the photo viewer option on this.
You need to email the company and ask for the new firmware. That is a definite negative in my book that you have to email them for new firmware instead of finding it yourself but at least they replied quickly. The new firmware fixes the browsing options for the songs which is nice, and you can make playlists.

The screen is pretty bad quality (but at least it's color), the features are lacking, and the original firmware is awful so that is why it gets 3 stars... If they addressed the firmware issue then it wouldn't be so bad.

but hey, it's a LEGO MP3 PLAYER and that is why you want to buy this in the first place. Don't expect anything more than a "lego mp3 player" and just fix the problems it has out of the box and you'll be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good product for the price, May 14, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
Sound quality is poor. Song slection is hard to distinguish and it constantly freezes and I have to reset it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great birthday gift for our 6 year old!, May 15, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
So far, so good. After reading some of the reviews, I was a little concerned about how the player would read files and folders, but it didn't matter if I created individual folders for each album and even sorted by artist, the player still keeps the files organized by artist/album/genre/etc without a problem. These are .wma files I ripped from our personal CD's using RCA EasyRip that came with my own MP3 player.

After figuring out how to use it without the instructions, I gave it to my daughter on her 6th birthday. After explaining to her how to go back to the menus (have to pause the song, tap the power button to go back to the 'music' setting, then hit the play/pause button to go to the selection screen.) she loves it and now is asking me to put some of her pictures on it as well.

Can't complain, fun little MP3 Player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not all that, June 22, 2013
A Kid's Review
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
It was ok at first but then it kept saying "format error" it first i thought it was the songs but it was the mp3 player i have no idea how to fix it so if you wanna buy this i hope you know how to fix a format error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, August 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO 2GB MP3 Player (Toy)
Didn't realize it was so tiny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LEGO 2GB MP3 Player
LEGO 2GB MP3 Player by Digital Blue
Used & New from: $65.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.