Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space Ninjas with Guns.
EDIT: This review has been updated as of April 19th, Update 13, with 260 hours played.

This will be a relatively in depth review of the game of it's current status, as of the game's Update 11, and November 25th, 2013. I have over 150 Hours played.

As a person that has played Warframe since it's closed beta launch. I absolutely love this game. To see...
Published 14 months ago by Eric S.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was a good buy, much cheaper than on the actual website, and I love the game.
Cons- It never gave me the mods pack, unless you have to do something else to unlock them. I was really disappointed that I didn't get something that I paid for and was in the description of the package.
Published 12 months ago by nate.konkel


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space Ninjas with Guns., November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warframe [Download] (Software Download)
EDIT: This review has been updated as of April 19th, Update 13, with 260 hours played.

This will be a relatively in depth review of the game of it's current status, as of the game's Update 11, and November 25th, 2013. I have over 150 Hours played.

As a person that has played Warframe since it's closed beta launch. I absolutely love this game. To see it evolve so much has been truly awesome and I really like where it is and where its headed. If you didn't know already, it's a cooperative 3rd person shooter, where you take the role of a Tenno, a Warframe, also this game, like many other online coop/multiplayer games, does not have any true ending or story mode as of yet, you go through level after randomized level of different mission types (Capture the target, kill all enemies, steal sensitive data, etc) and the occasional boss. Update 13 also introduced Dark Sectors, which are Solar Rails built by clans of players, whom can attack or defend other clan's rails. It's not PVP, but a cool feature is the Clan's leaders and other members show up as spectre type enemies in those missions to attack you and your squad. Other than that I guess you could say your goal is just to build weapons and warframes, the devs like to call it Space Ninjas with Guns. That's pretty accurate, but they forget to mention one of the coolest things, the Space Ninjas? There's a lot of them to choose from, with different abilities and stats compared to others. Some of them have a broad spectrum of their powers, others are more specialized and they really change they way you play the game. There are tons of guns to use. Unfortunately not all of them are really worth recommending. They also revamped the melee system in update 13, called Melee 2.0, which makes melee a ton of fun, and almost every melee weapon worth playing. Before the update, it was near impossible to do levels only using melee, now, not only is it more fun, but it's totally doable. The updates are released in a way that remind me of the Minecraft days, where every other week or month, there would be a huge content update of sorts, including new weapons, warframes and levels and of course bug fixes.

Moving on to bug fixes, Warframe is currently in Beta, and I secretly think the developers love that, because they push out updates all the time, that break a lot of things for people that usually get fixed in some hotfixes in the hours or days after an update, it's also nice to see the developers taking feedback and making the necessary adjustments. If this game was fully released, I think all the bugs they create whenever they release a new patch (currently) would be unacceptable. I hope once the game fully releases, they take more time to release updates so that everything goes well. My only other issue with this game is the events. So far, most special events have been fun and extremely rewarding, but often, the reward they give you is only possible to get from the event, even if you buy their premium currency, you cannot obtain theses rewards. I understand the point of wanting to make these rewards rare, so that more people are enticed to play in the events, but some of the items they give out are just flat out better than existing items. It's a double-edged sword, If you took part, you now have this awesome item, but if you missed out, you can never get it again. I feel like for some of these events, they should redo them a fixed date from the original event, for those that could not take part.

Finally, we get to the Free To Play/Is it pay to win? type stuff. First off, the game is 99% coop, there are a few areas for PVP, but there is currently no point in doing PVP, it's purely recreational. No rewards or true ranking system of any kind, so it's difficult to say it's Pay to Win, Maybe just Pay to Get Stuff Faster Than Your Teammate? With the premium currency, known as Platinum, or Plat, You can buy Warframes, Weapons, and various in game items, that you can also buy without the premium currency. But even with that, the game has a trading system that allows you to trade tons of things for Platinum, meaning you can earn plat in game and never spend a dime, all the while purchasing things that can only be bought with Platinum. There's a few things you cannot obtain at all, without Platinum:

Color Packs, Alternate helmets, that give you more colors to work with while customized weapons or Warframes.
Warframe Skins, that change the skin/design of your Warframe.
Crafting, when you build a Warframe or weapon or some items, they take a certain amount of time to complete, if you want, you can pay Platinum to fast forward the building process.
Boosts, you can buy XP (in game known as Mastery) and Credits (non-premium currency) boosters, that double the amount of either you earn for 3 or 7 days.
Here's the big one: Warframe and Weapon Slots. In game, you have a limited amount of slots for each type of item, 2 Warframes for the start and decent amount of weapon slots.
Once you fill these up, there are no ways of keeping your old weapons if you want to get new ones, unless you buy slots. Luckily, slots are some of the cheapest priced things platinum can buy. The game also gives you 50 Platinum to start, which you could use for 4 more weapon slots and one more Warframe slot. There's another 2 items that are only obtainable 24/7 with Platinum but they have a more rare way of obtaining them that's completely up to chance, and that's items that supercharge your weapons or Warframes, often referred to as Potatoes (don't ask). Rarely in game there are "Alerts" which are basically missions that can only be accessed for small amounts of time, usually 30 minutes to an hour. After you complete them, you cannot do them again or receive the reward again even if you get invited. Very rarely these can have hard to get items, including the items to supercharge your Warframe or weapons. But it's so rare that if you never buy these superchargers, which are pretty essential to high-powered weapons, and even more so for Warframes, that you won't have enough and your weapons or Warframes will be held back. The developers have weekly livestreams where sometimes after they end, the release a special alert that lasts for 24 hours, that usually contains a supercharger for your weapon.

Even with this, I think Warframe is extremely fair compared to most Free to Play games, often can you earn a login reward the gives you 25%-75% off any Platinum bundles. Most of the stuff that can only be bought are cosmetic and have no effect on the gameplay itself, but even then, trading allows you to earn plat from other players, so if you want it, you can work for it. Personally, I've dropped over $100 into this game, because I wanted to, and I love it. I would happily pay more, too. I would say if you enjoy Warframe, but find yourself reluctant to spend a lot of time or money on it, wait for a chance to earn a Platinum discount on the login reward, and throw $10-20 into the game. It really will make a difference to how you feel when you play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warframe, or "Who doesn't like Hammerhead Space Ninjas?", October 31, 2013
Warframe is a third-person shooter with a style and flair all its own. You play the part of a Tenno, essentially a space ninja. You get different "Warframes" which have specific abilties & attributes which you can modify to suit your own playstyle. You may equip a primary weapon, a secondary weapon, and a melee weapon. It's easy to switch between the three on the fly and are easy to use.

Controls are responsive and easy to learn and master. Acrobatic moves like wall runs (whilst shooting!), power slides (again, whilst shooting!), dives for cover, forward-somersaults, all behave equally well and will quickly become part of your repertoire in your mission to throw down the oppressors, monsters, and what-have-you that seek to stop you.

Missions are varied, though the map tilesets aren't very varied yet. Some missions will have you kidnap an enemy, some will have you rescue an ally, some will have you face down powerful bosses, some are simple extermination missions to kill all enemies, and still others will have you locate data cores which you must carry (limiting you to secondary & melee weapons) to your next objectives. Sometimes your objectives will change during the mission. This can be refreshing or annoying, depending on your mood and the changed goals.

There is a huge variety of weaponry to be found and crafted in-game. Shotguns, hammers, dual swords, knives, throwing stars, staves, sniper rifles, assault rifles, revolvers, sawed-off shotguns, bow & arrow, and more. Each can be modified to suit the current mission or even just your mood. Many melee weapons even have special attacks and properties unique to them.

Warframe is a very good Free-to-play title if mayhem is on your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ninjas, nuff said., November 7, 2013
This review is from: Warframe [Download] (Software Download)
Fantastic third person shooter/ ninja parkour hybrid. Constant updates from the devs, respectful community of players, and FREE. Great to see it is coming to PS4 too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well made, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warframe [Download] (Software Download)
I had hard time with the shooting since i really suck at it. Wish it was easier but I think i keep trying to see if i can get it. Really nice game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun mechanics, constant updates, Dev's interact with player base on a regular basis., November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The games pretty fast paced with fun parkour and shooting mechanics. The frames act as classes with some decent variety from frame to frame, each one with 4 unique powers. A little over a hundred weapons are in game at the moment between melee, secondary, and primary. The levels are split via systems and tile sets, tiles are randomly placed for each mission. There is a definate grind to it but the gameplay makes it enjoyable.

The Devs do 6 live streams a month (4 community livestreams and 2 developer interview livestreams), the game is currently in beta and receives a title update every 4 to 6 weeks along with smaller updates every wednesday. The Dev's have been pretty good with listening to the community and taking that feedback and implementing it in game. The Design council has designed two frames, a sentinel, and voted priority re balancing on several weapons and prioritized the release of several more weapons. Currently the combat system in regards to damage/armor/resistances are getting a complete rewrite due to community demand and the melee system is getting reworked into something more complex after that, again due to community demand.

There are definitely some bugs (rag dolls sometimes acting funny, netcode needs some work) but the game is definitely playable and the graphics are rather nice albeit a bit over the top when it comes to powers. If you're looking for a game with some solid base mechanics and want to help shape it's future while this is for you, but realize that it's still in active development so things such as endgame aren't implemented yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insanely addictive!, November 3, 2014
This review is from: Warframe [Download] (Software Download)
I've played the game since it came in a couple years back, it's changed a lot and continues to get better and better. With fantastic fast paced action, great lore, friendly community, and updated frequently, Warframe is my all time favorite game to kill some time. I can't stop playing it! Teaming up with your friends to take down alien factions has never been so much fun.

If you like games similar to mass effect, dead space, and left for dead, then you'll enjoy this game. I mean, You're a flipping space ninja. need I say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free game, Addictive, Co-op, Fun, December 25, 2013
This review is from: Warframe [Download] (Software Download)
This is a great game. I've always been a big FPS guy, but I love this game. Endlessly customizable, tons of weapons, powers and perks. Easy to learn, and plenty of incentive to keep playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good value vs buying all things in this package in game. It was a ridiculously good deal when it was 50% off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Money, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great game, great platinum and item packs. Definitely puts you ahead in the long run for a cheap price. Would recommend to others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm finally giving Digital Extremes the money they deserve. I've been playing this game since release w/out really spending any significant amount of money on it -- here ya' go DE, keep up the good work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Warframe [Download]
Warframe [Download] by Digital Extremes Ltd.
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.