Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Addition to Volume 1
After years of skimming through issues of ImagineFX and other "digital painting and illustration" books, it is hard to find sources of information that will provide both original and thoughtful material. The reviews were strong for the first volume so I gave it a chance, and wow what an amazing book. Picking this volume up was a no brainer. These books are clearly geared...
Published on March 16, 2011 by James A. Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fantasy reference book
This is a good reference book but not much of a detailed set of tutorials. I would recommend Ballistic's Digital Painting Volume One over this book.
Published 24 months ago by Walter Rabitt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Addition to Volume 1, March 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
After years of skimming through issues of ImagineFX and other "digital painting and illustration" books, it is hard to find sources of information that will provide both original and thoughtful material. The reviews were strong for the first volume so I gave it a chance, and wow what an amazing book. Picking this volume up was a no brainer. These books are clearly geared for the entertainment designer, breaking sections into subjects like vehicles, matte paintings, character designs etc, but what this book does that others don't is provide extra little details that really help demonstrate how the artist achieved the final product. One complaint I have, as do many of my fellow friends at school, as well as other reviewers online, is that many digital painting help books skim over many crucial details and use generic blanketing statements that assume that the reader has a strong foundation in photoshop knowledge. Digital Painting Techniques, both volume 1 and 2 aren't completely guiltless here, but each artist does make a nice effort within there 4-5 page tutorial to either describe little details or show it. It is important that the reader look closely at the provided images to look at things like brush settings (opacity and flow) as well as blend mode, layer controls and brush type etc.

I don't subscribe to online magazine that this book is a reprint of because I love holding a book and being able to reference it when ever I want. This book doesn't just do Dragons, swords and spaceships that other less- than successful books do, it covers things like portrait painting, a little figure drawing and one of the most important sections- custom brushes.

At a discounted price of around $30, this is impossible to pass up, new learners might find some missing details that might frustrate, but read and read again, and it is important to get on Photoshop and play yourself to work out some key ideas to creating interesting art. Pick this one up along with Volume 1, because they don't repeat, this volume is a terrific continuation to what looks to be a very promising series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Volume levels up the bar!, January 25, 2011
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Building on from Volume 1, Volume 2 is bigger and better with all new tutorials and stunning artworks!

From the beginning of this book you are treated to some of the most mesmerising, elegant, intricate & down right beautiful artworks i've seen for some time. The first 4 sections of the book are split into characters, science fiction, fantasy and vehicles, these pages are crammed full of tips, tricks and tutorials aswell as stunning artworks. The remaining 4 sections are dedicated to full tutorials, split into speed painting, the use of custom brushes, painting from a 3D base mesh & finally complete projects.

But what you get here is so much more than just a set of pretty pictures on glossy pages.
You get techniques, expertise, suggestions and advice from the best artists in this field of digital imagery.

Throughout this book there's just about every style known to man created and then explained in great detail with step by step full colour images to accompany the easy to follow tutorials.

Whether you are new to digital painting or a seasoned pro looking for inspiration or new tip and tricks, this book has it.

Buy this book and you'll have a wealth of Digital Painting knowledge at your fingertips to keep forever, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
LOVE IT! This is the best book to use for learning now techniques in PS! I have been using the program for.... well a long time.. and even experienced as I am I am learning new things... allot of new things from these books. They are the most informative and easy to learn from then some of these other books I have bought in the past. I have recommended these to many of my friends and co-workers and they all seem to love it as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, May 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
I love it , a lot of projects , with tips and ideas from different artists, Vol 1 and Vol 2. teaches a lot!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Digital Painting Book, April 11, 2012
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
After getting the first volume of the series, I've decided to buy the second volume and I can say it totally worth any single euro/penny/dollar. Like the previous volume, the book is a collection of Digital Painting Tutorials, organized in chapters with different themes; each tutorial is wrote by a different author. They are all professional digital artists and each one has his/her own style. This leads to a discontinuity of the tutorials style in the book, which is a strong feature of this series: since there's no a unique way of painting something, it is great to have different point of view. The working process of the tutorial is step-by-step with colorful images and final thoughts of the author. There are also bonus free content download like brushes!

Digital Painting Techniques 2 is great like Volume 1, if not better. You still need the basis of drawing and painting because it will not teach you how to old a pencil (or a brush) nor how to start using digital art software. It will explain you amazing techniques to achieve different effects in your painting, it introduces you to the vehicles and characters design and deepen many of their aspects under different lights. It expands your knowing of environments painting introducing the use of a 3D base to achieve complex structures and perspectives. And it deepen some of the themes of Volume 1 like Fantasy or Custom Brushes with new, stimulating tutorials and tips. If I could come back in time, I would buy it again.

I truly suggest you this book if you are a digital painter, of whatever level because it can be useful both for beginners, amateur or pro, for the different styles inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, July 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
A second great volume from 3d Total! I enjoy the heavy page graphics that show clearly what the artists are doing, the concepts and directions they look at, and a good step by step on their technique. I can't wait for volume 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, July 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Digital Painting Techniques:Volume 2 had a few interesting pages that was not just about painting and drawing, but about the artists' thought process. The book was organized into different chapters specific to certain techniques, ie. creating brushes, painting on a 3d model, drawing spaceships, using photo references etc.

The con of this book was there were some tutorials that were not as detailed and thorough as the others. Unfortunately, some of the great artwork that was shown on the last few pages were not included for tutorials. Minor nitpicks were layout problems. The reader would have to keep turning the page to read what the artist was referring to on the previous page or vice versa. I preferred finished illustrations on one page rather than two pages in a book due to the fold in the middle of the illustration. It destroys it for me, but it's personal preference of course.

Overall, it was a somewhat informative book, but wish it was more indepth with the digital painting techniques, including a cd with brushes and videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Artist Guide to Balance Digiatl Art, March 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Many of the artist in this book I have seen their work on forums and always wanted to know exactly their thought process to creating beautiful digital art. Now I feel like I'm sitting next to them watching their creation. Not only was I satisfied with the quality of the book, but I have already solved many of the "speed-bumps" while creating my own digital art. Excellent publication and will be buying Digita Painting Techinques Volume 1. My hope is to be able to have one of my own in the next volume. By far one of the best purchases that I have made on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
I really liked this book. Just skimming through it inspires you and the references and the guidance provided is nice if you know your stuff. I wouldn't recommend this book to a novice but its an excellent source for inspiration for a driven individual! Ought to have some basic understanding for learning through this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bellissimo, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Questo libro è molto interessante, pieno di spunti ed esempi ben fatti. I tutorial sono notevoli e danno delle linee molto facili da seguire, il vostro lavoro, risulterà più semplice con risultati migliori!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2
Digital Painting Techniques, Vol. 2 by 3DTotal (Paperback - January 11, 2011)
$49.99 $35.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.