Qty:1
  • List Price: $85.00
  • Save: $32.72 (38%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: We flipped through the book and did NOT see any highlighting, underlining, etc.... Get it fast with Amazon Prime! Ships directly from an Amazon Warehouse! OVERNIGHT AND 2-DAY SHIPPING AVAILABLE!
Add to Cart
Trade in your item
Get a $14.28
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert Hardcover – October 21, 2008


Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$52.28
$42.49 $27.39

Frequently Bought Together

Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert + The Complete Calvin and Hobbes
Price for both: $150.94

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 576 pages
  • Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing; Har/DVD edition (October 21, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0740777351
  • ISBN-13: 978-0740777356
  • Product Dimensions: 2 x 10.4 x 13.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (83 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #207,078 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Book Description
Scott Adams "is a VERY tough act to follow." --Suzanne Tobin, Washington Post

In the tradition of The Complete Far Side and The Complete Calvin and Hobbes, Dilbert 2.0 celebrates the 20th anniversary of Scott Adams's Dilbert, the touchstone of office humor.

This special slipcased collection--weighing in at more than ten pounds with 600 pages and featuring almost 4,000 strips--takes readers behind the scenes and into the early days of Scott Adams's life pre-Dilbert and on to the success that followed when Dilbert became an internationally syndicated sensation.

Divided into five different epochs, Dilbert 2.0 gives readers a glance at some of Adams's earliest strips, like those created for Playboy, and a peek at an abundance of special content ranging from numerous rejection letters to Adams's first cartooning check, and more.

Adams personally selected the material for this collection and offers original comments and humorous asides throughout. Also included is a disc that contains every Dilbert comic strip to April 2008.

Amazon.com Exclusive: "How to Read a Book in One Minute"

Dilbert 2.0


About the Author

Scott Adams was born in Windham, NY, and moved to the San Francisco Bay Area in 1979. Scott has won multiple National Cartoonists Society Awards, and the Dilbert strip has received a Harvey Award and won the Max and Moritz Prize as best international comic strip.

More About the Author

What started as a doodle has turned Scott Adams into a superstar of the cartoon world. Dilbert debuted on the comics page in 1989 while Adams was in the tech department at Pacific Bell. Adams continued to work at Pacific Bell until he was voluntarily downsized in 1995. He has lived in the San Francisco Bay area since 1979.

Related Media


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
60
4 star
20
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 83 customer reviews
Beware, though, it is very heavy!
Denise D. Simon
Best of all, the back of the book has a CD with a collection of all the Dilbert cartoons!
W. A. Carpenter
This is a huge book, almost 2 inches thick (~600 pages) and very heavy.
manbearpig

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

130 of 147 people found the following review helpful By E. Meadows on December 27, 2008
Format: Hardcover
While I've loved Dilbert for years, I'm generally disappointed in this collection. While it was modeled after the excellent Far Side and Calvin & Hobbes complete collections, Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert is not a complete dead-tree edition by any means. Note the description: "Adams personally selected..."
Entire weeks of strips are excluded from the pages, and storylines are often missing strips, making them harder to follow and leaving out punchlines. The missing strips detract greatly from the collection.
I simply don't see why Dilbert 2.0 wasn't done as a two-volume collection with every strip for $150.
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
74 of 82 people found the following review helpful By W. A. Carpenter VINE VOICE on October 29, 2008
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Dilbert 2.0 is a wonderful selection of Dilbert comics with annotations by the author, Scott Adams. I enjoyed both his selections and his comments. The introduction to the book is well written and interesting - I particularly liked the "pre-history" Dilbert cartoons.

Best of all, the back of the book has a CD with a collection of all the Dilbert cartoons! I had no idea that I couldn't live without a Dilbert CD, but now that I've tried it, I can't!

I should mention that the book, in a classy slip case, weighs about 9 pounds and is, therefore, a poor candidate for reading in bed - unless your bed happens to have a desk attachment suitable for holding large, heavy books. Although I was, for my own political reasons, sorry to see that the book was printed in China, I must say that the production values are very high and that the packaging is very attractive.

All in all, a book you'll be happy to have on your coffee table with a CD that you'll be happy to keep by your PC.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful By Jeez-O-Pete on February 17, 2009
Format: Hardcover
Scott Adams has put together an almost ultimate collection of Dilbert for the twentieth anniversary of his workplace cartoon. The set contains a large hardcover book and a DVD. The book contains a history of Scott Adams' cartooning career from his earliest doodlings to early Dilbert cartoons to current panels. It includes feedback he received from publishers along with some personal notes he received early in his cartooning career. His history is interesting and touching. The stips are laid out logically from beginning to present. Along with the strips, the book contains commentaries detailing why Adams found the subject funny or what inspired him to draw/say what he did. (Adams did a similar take in the book "Seven Years Of Highly Defective People." It is a good companion to this, so don't toss it thinking you have the information in Dilbert 2.0.)

Why I say "an almost ultimate collection" is because the *book* does not contain all the published strips. There are entire weeks missing and several of the series are missing strips either making the story incomplete or cutting off part that makes that series funny. Though you'd have to read from beginning to end to notice this, it does detract from a collection that could--and should--have contained all the strips.

What will allow me to toss most of my old paperbacks is the included DVD containing all the strips to present day ("present day" being May 2008). They're sorted by date and in yearly folders. (A simple searchable database by business subject would have been helpful for quickly finding relevant items, but beggars can't be choosers.)

This is a good collection for all who like Dilbert and a great gift for any fan. It is well worth the (discounted) price I paid.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Girish Manghani on November 3, 2008
Format: Hardcover
It's the best in class. The material inside is very well complemented by quality print. The icing on this baby is the update-able disc. This brings Dilbert right in the class of comic greats like Calvin and Hobbes and The Far Side. It's a must have. Go ahead, buy it, you will not regret this masterpiece.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Nick Brett VINE VOICE on November 17, 2008
Format: Hardcover
Given the treatment you would expect of the collected volumes of Shakespeare, this is a large slip-cased collection of Scott Adams' genius.

While you do need to check the dimensions and weight, this should be a must have for any Dilbert fan. The cartoons and the background provided by Scott Adams are interesting enough, but to also get a disc with every cartoon published to date is incredible value, I would honestly have paid this just for the disc!

This really is the ultimate collection and gives both Scott Adams and Dilbert the recognition they deserve.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Stephen M. Lerch TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on July 7, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Having been a fan of Dilbert since entering cubicle life some 10+ years ago, I was pretty excited when I saw that Scott Adams was giving us a collection of Dilbert all in one large volume, as opposed to the smaller volumes that had been published. I was thinking it would be awesome to have every Dilbert comic in print form.

Then I saw what this collection actually was; for those thinking this is a complete collection, it is but only with a caveat. Included with this book, which is a collection of Scott Adams' personal favorites and highly acclaimed strips, is a DVD that includes every strip ever produced at the point of the publication of the book. Every strip afterward they point you to the Dilbert website to view. So you get a complete collection of Dilbert strips, just not in print format.

The extra information Adams provides in the margins in regards to some of the strips is the equivalent of audio commentary on a DVD. It's nice to get some of the insider info on the thinking behind the strips. It's also fun to see some of the strips that had to be edited for newspapers in completely unedited format. So you see the censored comic and the uncensored original which is a treat.

I would have liked a little more information on the process of making the strips within the book itself, but what Adams includes, a brief history of the birth of Dilbert, is informative without being overwhelming.

A great collection, but perhaps not worth MSRP.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search